Customer Reviews for

Ink Exchange (Wicked Lovely Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 1013 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(447)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

Torn up inside after her drug-dealer brother betrays her in the most horrible way, Leslie puts on a brave front with her friends, pretending her drunken dad isn't letting the bills pile up and hiding all her pain. Hoping to take back control over her body, she decides t...
Torn up inside after her drug-dealer brother betrays her in the most horrible way, Leslie puts on a brave front with her friends, pretending her drunken dad isn't letting the bills pile up and hiding all her pain. Hoping to take back control over her body, she decides to get a tattoo, and picks out a special design at the tattoo parlor she often hangs out at. Unbeknownst to Leslie, that tattoo is the symbol of Irial, the king of the faerie Dark Court, designed to allow him to filter the unpleasant emotions that feed his court through her into him and his people.

As Leslie finds her vision changing and her feelings shifting in unpredictable ways, Niall, a faerie of the Summer Court who has always admired her, steps in, hoping to help her and keep Irial away. He has his own tangled feelings about Irial, whom he once counted as a friend. But as Leslie sinks further under Irial's thrall, enjoying the escape from the hurt and fear she'd been living with, only she can decide when to pull away--or whether she would rather stay with him, after all.

INK EXCHANGE is a darkly imaginative novel set in the same world as Marr's first novel, WICKED LOVELY. Readers will enjoy exploring the lives of some of that novel's minor characters and seeing more of the shadowy side of the faerie courts. They may find Leslie, Niall, and Irial less engaging than the spirited and perhaps more sympathetic narrators of WICKED LOVELY, but the trio still make for a fascinating "love" triangle as each deals with conflicting emotions and tries to decide what is right both for him or herself and for those who are counting on them.

The imagery is striking and evocative, and the politics of the different faerie courts is intriguing to explore. A great book for dark fantasy fans.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing

This book was definitely not as well written as the first in the series. I had alot of trouble getting into the story and when I did, it seemed like the author was trying too hard to make this book edgier than the first. The characters are not as vivid and the overall s...
This book was definitely not as well written as the first in the series. I had alot of trouble getting into the story and when I did, it seemed like the author was trying too hard to make this book edgier than the first. The characters are not as vivid and the overall story was disappointing.

posted by veddergirl187 on March 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Bit Disappointing.

    This is the second book in Melissa Marr's series that starts with "Wicked Lovely" and it is not nearly as captivating as the first book. In fact, the connection between the two books is very narrow and many of the characters that are so likable in the first book are literally just part of the background in this book. While the story is interesting, it is lacking because the characters and plot from "Wicked Lovely" are not transitioned or placed well within this book. This book could almost be its own entity apart from "Wicked Lovely" if references hadn't been made to the first book. I am hoping that the third book in the series "Fragile Eternity" will do better at tying everything, both characters and plot, together. The first book is intriguing enough that I will read the third book even though the second, "Ink Exchange",is disappointing. The third book, "Fragile Eternity" is not scheduled to be out until May of 2009. Hopefully, it will be a better story and bring all the pieces together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Unique

    A twist on the fairy tail world that keeps you wondering what is going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    This book was okay. The writing itself wasn't too bad, but I fel

    This book was okay. The writing itself wasn't too bad, but I felt like it dragged at parts.
    Overall, I would say it had a really strong beginning, I got super bored in the middle and forced myself to finish it, and the ending kinda just...fizzled out. The plot was quite trite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Okay

    The characters didn't have the same vibe as her first. Lesley wasn't likable and I found myself being turned off because of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I liked it

    This was not my favorite book of the series but I did like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Read to save you life

    You know those books where the author gets lazy so the last few chapters the main character is all drugged up or unconciouse so they have an excuse for bad writing yeah well this is one of those books and i love melissa marz and the first book wicked lovely was amazing but this book let me down. the last few chapters were terrible and it made me sad and just because i am reading the third book i can tell you that it doesnt get any better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars

    Pretty good read. I liked this book better than the 1st in the series (Wicked Lovely) because it was not as predictable. Entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Not the best in the Wicked Lovely series, but still a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Ink exchange

    Not a big fan of the series but once i start reading i have to finish it. Both wicked lovely and ink exchange took me a while to read. I wouldnt recommend the book but i would discuss it with someone who has read it. My favorite parts in both the books were the ending. Marr is very descriptive but can be confusing at times with all her fey names and courts. I like how she tells different characters story but it takes some getting use to. Im going to start the third one i just hope it doesnt take as long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Mehh

    Sometimes i find myself reading a book i dont really like and only reading it to read. That happened with this book. Im not even too sure why i dont like it because i read this a long time ago and forgot to write a review. All i do know is that i wasnt interested enough to keep reading the series. I know i found it interesting, it just bored me at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    want to read

    just not for the price. As the first book only cost me 99? and I read it in a day I can not see spending nine dollars on this book. perhaps I will change my mind...or catch a sale?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So...

    Even though the world is neat, and the ideas behind the story are cool, I found this book lacking. The writing seemed to be a bit disjointed. If the author had just taken more time to portray her thoughts clearly, this could have been a much better read. If you like this type of book, "Wings" by Aprilynne Pike and "City of Bones" by Cassandra Clare might also spark your interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and raw.

    Where Book 1 - Wicked Lovely was dark this book is darker still and Raw. The concept of what Asilinn's friend, Leslie, becomes is horrifying. The fact that she survives it is commendable and inspiring. Most people would not and could not choose to get out of such bondage. I found this book a little more difficult I suppose because I cannot believe there would ever be a "purpose" for such horror on anyone. Here the purpose is to sustain the life of the dark Fae. I believe that evil upon others or any being fo any sort is not "purposeful" or inevitable. I think love is the key and the driving force for all our lives, either in it's pursuit or in it's having. So I find it satisfying that Leslie chooses to take the pain to remove herself from the process that allows the dark Fae to be sustained by evil and wickedness, but she doesn't choose love instead. She leaves Niall and claims she needs to step out of the Fae world in order to survive. It isn't like she can suddenly unsee their existence, so I don't identify with her choice to choose nothing instead of the love she already has with Niall. Marr claims it makes her stronger, but people who walk away from love aren't stronger, their just hardened. I hated how in the end Niall is made King of the Dark Fae against his will. Sure he had all the qualities of a good King but his hate for what the Dark Fae survive, how they treated and tortured not only him but Leslie....I just don't think he would survive being the ruler of all that was done to him and her. I have mixed emotions about this book. In the end it was sad and painful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You can either take it or leave it

    I love Irial! what a perfect character. He just oozed sexiness and charm. I really do like the idea of the Dark Court and it makes perfect sense how Irial can lead it - he absolutely fits the role like a well worn comfortable shirt. The characters that make up the Dark Court were fascinating and well done. Leslie was also well written. Living in a horrible home environment, an extremely horrible brother, and a father who's hardly there, it's no wonder she's so filled with negative emotions and thoughts. I like her though. I think she's a much better character than Aislinn (I still don't like her don't think I ever will unless she undergoes a complete personality makeover in the next books).

    What bothered me a lot about Aislinn is her reluctance to tell Leslie (who happens to be a good friend) about the faerie world and she had a hunch on what was going on..so why the reluctance? it wasn't just her though, it was Seth too. Why didn't they at least warn her or tell her about the faerie world?. These two were just so frustrating to read. I never liked Aislinn in the first place, and I used to like Seth but now, I'm not so sure.

    The plot was all right, although I found it a little dry. (Yet I also found Wicked Lovely rather dry too) I'm not sure why, perhaps it's the writing style or perhaps I'm just not really that interested in faeries. I'm sure fans of this series would enjoy this book. The little twist in the end got me good and because of that I will probably read the rest of this series. Although it's not the best I've read, it's certainly not the worst.

    Overall, it's a great companion book to Wicked Lovely and the little twist at the end will have fans wanting more. In my opinion, you could either take it or leave it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it

    I was kinda sad that it wasn't the same main character of the first one, which I loved. It was still a good read, written well, but it made feel depressed for the Leslie. It was probably supposed to make you feel sad, but I wasn't expecting it. I am debating on reading the next too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr Review

    In the second book in the Wicked Lovely series readers will get a closer and more in-depth look at the supporting characters from Wicked Lovely. Leslie, Niall and Irial take center stage in this companion novel and readers will get some of their questions answered regarding these characters. While I loved Aislinn, Keenan and Seth from Wicked Lovely, they have not completely gone away; they still remain as supporting background characters throughout this novel.

    The world Melissa Marr created in Wicked Lovely still blows my mind, the creativity that goes into her work despite this being a genre that has been done and re-done so many times impressed me with each turn of the page. I felt that Marr took Ink Exchange and went beyond just the superficial to delve deeper into larger issues, real issues and fae issues as you would have it. Leslie is a girl with a clouded past.readers are never given the full picture up front as to what lies in her past or what spurs her to make the choices she does throughout the novel. And although I'd love Marr to answer every question that pops into my head as I'm reading her work, I enjoy and appreciate the intrigue and reasoning behind her careful planning as to when she reveals her information. When all was said and done I appreciated her character and the struggles she went through because Marr helped readers feel as if they experienced some of those struggles with her character.

    The triangle between Leslie, Niall and Irial took me a few minutes to adjust to. I will say I came into this novel doubting that it would rank up there with Wicked Lovely and the love triangle that was present because all three main characters in Ink Exchange were not given much of a spotlight in the series' first novel; however I was proven to be a little short-sighted. Niall was not just nother male hunk with a tortured past, as I first thought he would be. Marr went deeper than that. I found myself aching for him for all the difficulties he dealt with on a daily basis, and was hoping someone would come to understand his pain and only love him more for it.

    Irial was nother tough sell for me because for starters, I usually always root for the good guy. And let's face it, if you're the king of the dark faery court that pretty much puts you in my "bad" guy column. Again Marr proved that I needed to exercise a little more patience. I'm not saying that I'm on "team Irial" but after finishing the book I will say that I enjoyed his character and what he brought to the table. He frustrated me to no end because he refused to stay in my "good vs. bad" column. In my mind he was constantly switching sides.

    I'm looking forward to continue reading the Wicked Lovely series and to see what Fragile Eternity, the third novel in the series delivers. On a side note I'm hoping to see more of the character Gabriel in future novels, because he is yet another character who was put into the background but yet still fought to come to life on the pages he was given. He fascinates me and stirs up my curiosity, so I'm crossing my fingers to see more of him in novels to come.

    All in all I truly do enjoy Marr's work. The world and characters she creates and brings to life never fail to impress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Ink Exchange

    The 2nd series is way boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What i thought (SPOILERS!!)

    I thought this book was going to be through Aislinn's & Kennans point of veiw like in Wicked Lovely, i was even excited to read this one. And i was so eager to hear how the changes affected Aislinn. If she liked being queen, if she liked ruleing beside Keenan, how she managed to keep Seth, if she still feels the same way about Seth, if she loves Keenan now or wants something more other than friendship. I could go on and on. Im not trying to sound negitive, i hate how in alot of reviews people bash on the authors and how much they didn like their books. It was just disapointing to find the story about her friend. Though i liked hearing about Niall and Irail, the love triangle, but Aislinn and Keenan wasnt in the book much, only a handful of times. I have yet to read the third one. I hope I enjoy it like i did with Wicked Lovely....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    I wanted more

    I was a little disappointed by this book.The story was great,but being to the huge romantic that i am i was upset about the lack of romance in this one.I personally feel Wicked Lovely was much better,but this book is good in its own way and still worth the read.I'm still hoping to see more work from Marr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Less than expected

    the main story was great but the ending was kind of anticlimactic. There were a lot of things that happened really quickly at the end. I have to say that wicked lovely was better but its still worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10