BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inkdeath (Inkheart Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 529 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(367)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great series! Will not disappoint!

Inkdeath is a fabulous conclusion to the Inkheart book series. It follows the adventures of a father and daughter with the gift to allow characters to come in and out of books and their wife/mother. The Folchart's world is set in 21st century England. There are many des...
Inkdeath is a fabulous conclusion to the Inkheart book series. It follows the adventures of a father and daughter with the gift to allow characters to come in and out of books and their wife/mother. The Folchart's world is set in 21st century England. There are many descriptions of the Inkworld, so it is easy to picture what it looks like. I picture it like medieval England, although it isn't. Cornelia Funke described the character's emotions so well that I could feel what they were feeling. For example, when Mo got trapped in Ombra castle, I felt that same worry that Meggie and Resa had. I thought he might never come out! People who loved Inkheart and/or Inkspell would definitely love Inkdeath. Like the other two, it lets you escape from the real world to the one of fantasy. All in all, Inkdeath is a captivating book. It has ups and downs, twists and turns. It is like a short roller coaster that you never want to stop riding. There were no faults that I could find with it. I will read it again someday!

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

AHHHHHHHHHHHH

Ok, I'm am very angry!!!! The author spent basically the whole of Inkspell building up Meggie's and Farid's relationship, just to snap her fingers and move on all of the sudden! If this wasn't a public review I'd say a few other things, but WHY! I became so in love with...
Ok, I'm am very angry!!!! The author spent basically the whole of Inkspell building up Meggie's and Farid's relationship, just to snap her fingers and move on all of the sudden! If this wasn't a public review I'd say a few other things, but WHY! I became so in love with the couple in the second book, so enthused that she was throwing in something extra for us readers, but then, I sped through Inkdeath, disappointed more than I've ever been. Poor Farid!

posted by Writer_forever on October 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 529 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great series! Will not disappoint!

    Inkdeath is a fabulous conclusion to the Inkheart book series. It follows the adventures of a father and daughter with the gift to allow characters to come in and out of books and their wife/mother. The Folchart's world is set in 21st century England. There are many descriptions of the Inkworld, so it is easy to picture what it looks like. I picture it like medieval England, although it isn't. Cornelia Funke described the character's emotions so well that I could feel what they were feeling. For example, when Mo got trapped in Ombra castle, I felt that same worry that Meggie and Resa had. I thought he might never come out! People who loved Inkheart and/or Inkspell would definitely love Inkdeath. Like the other two, it lets you escape from the real world to the one of fantasy. All in all, Inkdeath is a captivating book. It has ups and downs, twists and turns. It is like a short roller coaster that you never want to stop riding. There were no faults that I could find with it. I will read it again someday!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    :(

    NO MORE MEGGIE AND FARID!?!?!? THATS JUST WRONG!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Terrible

    I think that inkheart was really unneccissary. It is just repeating what the second book had with only just a little bit more different things.

    DONT READ BEYOND THIS POINT IF U HAVE NOT READ BOOK!!!!!


    I think that Meggies mom really shouldnt have had that baby it was just too much and just something i didnt really lile or thought was nessiccary.I hated that Cornelia made Meggie choose thar other guy instead of Farid. I just really wish Meggie went out with Farid especially after everything theve been through..My favorite character is Dustfinger but without his scars and his powers..... he just seems so different.


    MAY READ AGAIN!!!!

    A book i really didnt like and a terrible letdown. I loved all the other books with all my heart, and was suprised that this wasnt as good.....sorry i no this is not what u want to hear, but i think u r better off without this book.

    -Kira C.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS THE BESTEST BOOK IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This book deserves a million bazillion stars!!!!! If Len Goodman from "Dancing With the Stars" was as excited as I am, he would be jumping on the judges desk waving his arms and doing the cha-cha (you would SOOO not expect that!). This is the amazing, unexpected climax of the "Inkheart" trilogy. I REALLY think you should read this book! But if you have not read the first two books, you have to read them first or you will be totally lost.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Interesting but Disappointing at the same time.

    Really after eagerly awaiting the arrival of the final book to the Inkheart Trilogy I was amazed with this story. The characters are good, the descriptions were detailed, and the content was truly astonishing. I give Cornelia the deserved credit that she deserves... But I can't shake off the feeling of disappointment with the final installment. So many suggested ideas through out the story are half done or abandoned completely when she abruptly changes the point of views. Not to mention the characters were twisted various was; for example I noticed there was very little information as to what Meggie was experiencing other than stating how much emotional turmoil she was being thrown into as well as she suddenly went from being a courageous young woman into a depressed daughter. Mortimer was being tortured verbally and physically through out the entire novel and not only that but the entire story was heart wrenching. There was no sense of hope as seen in the very first and second stories. I must say all and all the story is for older readers seeing as the story is a bit more down cast and...how do I say heartbreaking. Even with her talent I believe Cornelia could have applied herself to Inkdeath a bit more than the book suggests.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great, amazing book.

    I read this book cover to cover, and to tell you the truth, this book is awesome. I highly reccomend this book. Remember, FANTASTIC book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I love the Ink series!

    Im not going to give to much away because that would be kind of rude so im going strait to the point. Im 11 years old and the Ink series is the best series I have ever read! I have not finished inkdeath yet but it is already super awesome! I feel like im the character that is being focused on ( meggie most of all). I totaly recommend the Ink books to long book readers that like to be swept away into another world!

    A.S.J.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    One of the best books I've read. Great description, it really draws you into the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book three is the perfect ending to the Inkheart Trilogy.

    This is the last installment of the Inkheart series.

    In the first one, Inkheart, Meggie's father Mo has been hiding from town to town for nine years. So much that their van is more of a house than their present abode.

    One night, a strange character by the name of Dustfinger comes to their house to warn Mo about Capricorn. They all escape to a castle owned by Meggie's aunt, Elinor, a spinster that has spent all her life collecting books. Here they are captured by Capricorn's men, as Dustfinger gives them way. The bad men steal a strange book from Mo.

    Unbeknown to Meggie, Mo has an interesting talent: when he reads aloud, things, and sometimes people, come out of their stories and into the real world! (Silvertongue) Unfortunately things from the outside world may also go back inside the stories.

    Even though Mo works at restoring books and owns a large amount of then, he stopped reading aloud nine years ago when Meggie's mother disappeared as he created Capricorn and Dustfinger. They were characters in a book titled Inkheart, the book that was stolen that night.

    The evil Capricorn wants to use Mo's talents to bring himself great wealth and power. He destroys the last known copy of the book, so Mo searches the author of the book, Fenoglio, who is also captured by Capricorn's men

    After escaping from Capricorn's village, they all go separate ways and Meggie discovers that Mo isn't the only one who can read things to life. So can she.<

    This is an enchanting story full of adventure, suspense, and magic. The characters are vivid and delightful. Unlike many books for younger readers there is a distinct emphasis on the importance of family as seen in the close relationship between Meggie and her father. Lightly magical, humorous, and fun, Inkheart will appeal to those who like adventure and fantasy, and to anyone who ever wished a story could come to life.

    Inkspell - second installment

    It is one year after the first book (Inkheart). Capricorn is dead, and Meggie, and her father, Mortimer (Mo), have settled at aunt Elinor's castle, after rescuing Meggie's mother, Resa, Dustfinger - the fire talker, was sent back to the Inkheart book (at the end of book one) and Farid (who was read out of a book by Mo) was very attached to him. Farid convinces Meggie to read them back to the book, since Meggie wants to see the world inside the infamous book and Farid wants to save Dustfinger, who is supposed to die in the original story. She is successful.

    Meanwhile, Orpheus, another Silvertongue is brought to Elinor's castle with two evil characters from the frirst book, Basta one of Capricorn's men, and Mortola, Capricorn's mother. Orpheus reads Resa, Mo, Basta and Mortola back into Inkheart.

    The action happens in the book of Inkheart, where its author, Fenoglio, was left in the first part of the series.

    It is now Meggie's task to read Fenoglios changes to the original "Inkheart" to prevent Dustfinger's death and at the same time save her family from the new misfortunes created by this editing.

    Inkdeath

    Starts where Inkspell left off. Dustfinger is death--he died saving Farid, his apprentice. Orpheus reads Mo and Resa back into Inkheart. Mo had tricked the evil Adderhead by binding a book for his immortality to save himself and his family. The book is deteriorating and the Adderhead is slowly rotting. He wishes revenge from the Songbird. Help by Orpheus, he tries to capture the Bluejay

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    Very disapointed yet glad about some things.

    There is no part in Inkspell especially that Farid was too obsessed with Dustfinger why was he now? I guess its because he blames himself for the way things ended up with Dustfinger but it wasn't necessary for him to be so crazed about it.<BR/>I am upset with Meggie's love choice that was just ridiculous Cornelia did not have to include Doria, I almost chucked the book at the wall at the chapter where Fenoglio told Meggie about what he wrote about Doria.<BR/>I do love Mo in this book so much he kept me reading I wanted to see how it would play out and how he resolved things. I felt for him throughout the entire book for his devotion to Meggie and his desire to eliminate the enemy.<BR/>Dustfinger was just purely amazing I could find no fault with him along with Mo.<BR/>I do think that Meggie's part was incomplete and in some ways to bland. I think Cornelia built her up so much and let her part die at the end I thought she was going to have Meggie do something grand but it just died at the end.<BR/>And all the darkness was not totally unappealing, for not many books divulge into the sinister and gloomy, I just think that she wrote something against the normal and it's refreshing. However, the book did seam long but in good and bad ways. All I'm saying is that reading it would be a good decision because I don't know what you like but if you are anything like me it would not be wise.<BR/>The first two are AMAZING no doubt you should read them. As for Inkdeath you may like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC READ!

    After eagerly awaiting this books arrival, Firstly, I finished this book in 3 days! I was not dissapointed!<BR/>Like the previous books, this one sucked you right back in, wondering the fates of your favourite characters, and at certain points there were so many bad things happening all at once that you just couldn't help but worry how or if your characters were going to emerge alive! <BR/>I simply adored this book and was perfectly happy with all the different twists and turns in the book - a few predictable, but most were totally unforseen (at least to me anyway). And what I loved most, was the fact that at the end it hinted at the possibility of yet another book or maybe even trilogy... <BR/>Great Read, and I would highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    Her Best of the series

    I loved the first 2, but this one was the best of them all. I thought that the English versions were translated, but if that is true, whoever translated it, writes very well. I love the covers of this series too. These books are fun for young adults and adults alike. I am sad the trilogy has ended, but feel rewarded for taking the journey.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    HELLO

    I HATE ANYONE WHO DOESN'T LIKE INK-

    INK ME

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Suzie Barthle

    At the begining of the book is interesting. When you get cvloser to the middle it is like a adventure around every corner. The end settles the story down and gives the reader suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Thrilling

    This very thrilling and conclusive ending to the ink series is by far the best yet! Cornielia Funke really knows just how to pull the reader in and love to read this book. What with all of the excitement and ups and downs this book really is one of the most thrilling books I've read so far. (But if I think about it all the books I've read so far are very good but this will be one of my all time favorites.) I espescially like that little twist at the end. I also really enjoy the authors writing style it's fun to read and always keeps the reader guessing and interested in the story you'll love this book I guarantee it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    OMG

    This is the best book ive ever read!!! Ot is sutch a page turner!!!!!! TOTALY WORTH THE PAY!!!! I never wanted it to end!!!"!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awsome!

    It's an awsome book for eveyone 8 and up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Wow

    This is an awsome book the discription and evreything is realy amazing i would say good book d would recamnd people to read this'it is a good distritive book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A book lovers book!

    Cornelia Funke can do no wrong in my eyes, I've loved every book she's written and, now, we finally have the conclusion to her Inkheart trilogy. Meggie and her dad Mo, who can "read" characters out of books and into the real world, are wonderful. Unfortunately, Mo inadvertently "reads" some very bad guys into our world; he & Meggie have to put them back into their stories before they do permanent damage.I can't wait to see the Inkheart movie in Jan 2009

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Iffy....

    This book seemed so promising, following the other two Inks. I eagerly grabbed it and dove into it. I was loving, straight up to about the middle. Then, in my opinion, it started to drag. I ignored it, thinking it would be over quickly. But it continued, to the point where I just put it down. I did try it again, but the same thing happened. Otherwise it is a great book! (Even though I didn't reach the end. I will try.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 529 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27