Customer Reviews for

Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(921)

4 Star

(219)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Unusual, but addicting!

I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold ...
I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold in such a way you feel opted to answer the character's questions (the many there are!) All in all, it's difficult to explain. But I loved it! This book was recomended for ages 12... both my friend and I read it (we're 16) and fell in love for it! I am not sure why this book received bashing from the previous reader, but it is so imaginitave. Something very fantasy-oriented, and that's what makes it so much fun!

posted by shhhDinaisreading on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Bummer!

Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adv...
Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adventure I was hoping for. It was also difficult for me to relate to any of the characters because they were pretty much one-note. Even though a lot of people seem to like it, I believe Inkheart is best suited towards younger readers.

If you want a great book for both adults and children, check out the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

posted by BluHawk on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Unusual, but addicting!

    I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold in such a way you feel opted to answer the character's questions (the many there are!) All in all, it's difficult to explain. But I loved it! This book was recomended for ages 12... both my friend and I read it (we're 16) and fell in love for it! I am not sure why this book received bashing from the previous reader, but it is so imaginitave. Something very fantasy-oriented, and that's what makes it so much fun!

    62 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    there is no question about it Inkheart is the best book.It should be more famous than Twilight and Harry Potter. The characters are fun and enjoyable.It is just a FANTASTIC READ!!!!!!!!!!!!! i recommend this book to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    27 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bummer!

    Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adventure I was hoping for. It was also difficult for me to relate to any of the characters because they were pretty much one-note. Even though a lot of people seem to like it, I believe Inkheart is best suited towards younger readers.<BR/><BR/>If you want a great book for both adults and children, check out the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

    24 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book

    I'm seeing a few bad reviews for this book. I don't intend everyone to like it, but some opinions are just rude and should be kept to self. I personally liked this book a lot. It's a little slow at first, but give it time, it's get great. Inkspell, the second in the trilogy, is even better, so PLEASE just give it a chance!

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Absolute Favorite Book in the World!

    Ever since I first read this book several years ago, I've been completely in love with it, and everyone I've introduced it to has loved it as well. The plot is engaging, the characters believable, and the real-world elements were believable as well. I can't say enough about the characters- they seem as real as anyone I've ever met- when I was reading I could almost hear them in my ear. This book has so much wonderful imagery, dialogue, and scenes that paint pictures in your mind. It's listed as a children's book, but I'm a teenager, and I love it! (My mother's reading it, and she likes it too- there's really no age limit)

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Inkhearted

    The sweet main character is a little girl who loves two things most in the world, her father and books. Suddenly a man from her father's past appears and takes them both into a great and terrifying adventure. Moe(Her father) was always a good man who could read a story so well that it would literally leak off the pages and fill the room. Yet she was always denied an audience for these sessions, because the last time he had tried her mother got sucked into the book in place of a trickser of stories and fire. Now she must rescue everyone and most importantly her father.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ..

    I loved this. Fun and smart. Everyone will love this.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Five star

    Creative and interesting book I have ever read . Highly recommend

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    InkHeart

    Come, Come, Come one in all and enter the magical world of Inkheart. Come and meet all the goblins, gools and witches that live in this mystical novel. If you dare to read it out loud, there may be very dire consequences! In this thrilling adventure, Meggie is a nice girl traveling with her father, Mo, who is a bookbinder, or as his daughter calls him, ¿a book doctor¿. Meggie says he can ¿paint pictures in the air with his voice¿, because he and his daughter could read story book characters to life. Dustyfinger, Capricorn, and Basta were read out of their stories and Meggie became completely fascinated by the world from which they came. Mo became very troubled and had to be more cautious than ever with this rare magical ability. Dustyfinger is a fire eater whom Mo accidentally read out of the pages of Inkheart. He has lived in our world for ten years and would risk anything to go back home to the Ink world. Capricorn, the brutal leader of a gang of mercenary fire-raisers, was read out of the pages of Inkheart as well but, unlike Dustyfinger, Capricorn enjoyed his time in this world and made it his business to burn every copy of Inkheart in an attempt to avoid ever returning to the story. Read the book and find out the troubles that Mo encounters in trying to return these characters back to their mystical worlds, set everything back to normal, and avoid his daughter Maggie from becoming more involved in the magic of Inkheart.<BR/>I have never read a story like Inkheart, it is truly one of a kind. It allows you to escape to a world of fantasy and draws you into its pages not allowing you to put it down. I would recommend this book to people of all ages who love fantasy, drama and many surprises in between. <BR/>The talented author of this novel, Cornelia Funke, does a great job involving you in the story and making you feel like you¿re living it. She is also the author of Inkspell and Inkdeath, sequels to Inkheart. With her novels, this Germany born writer has become a best seller and now enjoys her life with her children in Los Angeles, California. <BR/>DARE TO READ ALOUD!<BR/>,

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Silvertounge

    I love the movie

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It was OK. (I know I'll get bashed for this)

    This story feels very long and wasn't quite what I was expecting from the description and what I'd heard about it. I figured it would have a little more action, but the pacing was almost plodding. However, Funke can write emotions and make them feel tangible. The love between father and daughter is a palpable thing which was surprising to me. It's unusual to find that strength of emotion in a book; usually it is just understood or inferred from behavior or dialogue but Funke makes it REAL. The story itself runs very slowly and does not begin with Mo (the father) making book characters come alive. That has already happened and this story is about dealing with the consequences. I probably won't read the rest of the series, but overall it was OK.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Amazing!

    This was one of the most enchanting and engrossing novels that I have heard thus far! Meggie, Mo, Dustfinger, and even Capricorn lept of the pages and invited me into their own story. This is an amazing adventure that you won't be able to put down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    My favorite

    I absolutly love this book and the movie. You need to watch and read this book. My friend said it was a good book and let me read it after her. After that the whole school started reading the book... then the trilogy. Read the book you will be addicted and not want to put the book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Swim Girl

    Inkheart is a very enjoyable book. I would recommend it to people who enjoy acrion and long books! It really is a adicting book tha sucks you into the charectees world. I love the book because of the discription of the setting! Hopefully you will all get a chance to read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!!!!!!!

    This was a good book. I didnt think that writers could write a book about books. But trust me Cornelia Funke did it and did it well! This was the best and only book about books I've read and I reccommend it to you to read it. It's action packed, thrilling book. Makes you want to read more of it and guess what? The 2nd and 3rd book is out already so im getting them to read and you wouldnt blame me if you read them too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    spectacular fantasy

    Funke does it again, but this time with a fantasy that will keep you enthralled and hoping it will not end. What if characters could be 'read out of' books and come to life? I am sure there are some you wouldn't want to meet in real life and that will give you a hint at some of the story line in this fascinating book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    On Facebook

    I think I'll settle for liking it... since they don't have a "LOVE"button.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    So sad!!!

    How could you, Tink? The book was GREAT! I JUST LOVE HOW THEY MENTIONED LORD OF THE RINGS!!! IM CRAZY FOR LORD OF THE RINGS! Okay, sorry for that outburst. Just wish Ms. Funke would cool it with the language... Thats why i gave this review only four stars. So yeah, my fav character is 100% MEG!!! Capricorn sucks! Also another reason why i gave this book four stars is because Ms.Funke made Capricorn havr his lair be a Church that was disfigured. I HATE HOW CAPRICORN RUINED A STUTUE OF AN ANGEL AND HOW HE RUINED A CHURCH!!! When I was reading about Capricorn's Villaige it gave me the creeps!!! I hate Basta, too. Funny how I dont own any white shirts anymore. :)
    SECOND FAVORITE: THE SHADOW!!! I LOVE THE SHADOW!!!! Dont ask why.
    If you love The Lord of the Rings as much as I do, raise your hand! I looooooooovvvvveee Frodo!! *Fangirl Squeal* AHHHHHHHH! Wish I was Meg so I could read a part from Lord of the Rings so he could come into the room! *meep* I have a total crush on him! :/ dont tell nobody! Lolz, i used bad grammar. :)
    If you want to reply to my review, please do!
    ~Paws~
    €===[]::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Me

    I LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOO MUCH!!" I JUST CANT WAIT TILL I READ THE NEXT 2! (inkspell, and inkdeath)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Best book in the world

    This is my favorite book even over the hunger games. If u have not read it u need to

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 67