Customer Reviews for

Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(928)

4 Star

(221)

3 Star

(95)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

66 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Unusual, but addicting!

I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold ...
I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold in such a way you feel opted to answer the character's questions (the many there are!) All in all, it's difficult to explain. But I loved it! This book was recomended for ages 12... both my friend and I read it (we're 16) and fell in love for it! I am not sure why this book received bashing from the previous reader, but it is so imaginitave. Something very fantasy-oriented, and that's what makes it so much fun!

posted by shhhDinaisreading on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Bummer!

Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adv...
Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adventure I was hoping for. It was also difficult for me to relate to any of the characters because they were pretty much one-note. Even though a lot of people seem to like it, I believe Inkheart is best suited towards younger readers.

If you want a great book for both adults and children, check out the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

posted by BluHawk on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bummer!

    Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adventure I was hoping for. It was also difficult for me to relate to any of the characters because they were pretty much one-note. Even though a lot of people seem to like it, I believe Inkheart is best suited towards younger readers.<BR/><BR/>If you want a great book for both adults and children, check out the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

    25 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Sorry, I really wanted to have great things to say about a novel

    Sorry, I really wanted to have great things to say about a novel that clearly tries to pay homage to books, libraries, authors, and readers. There were moments of inspiration &amp; imagination, and an effective mood of suspenseful foreboding (thus, 2 stars rather than only 1;) but in 400+ pages, much of the suspense unfortunately had more to do with &quot;how is this promising story with untapped potential going to disappoint me next?'' Sad commentary, when the most compelling thing about each (welcomly brief) chapter was it's opening, with a well-chosen quote from some truly great piece of literature...
    Too many thinly sketched characters simply were propelled along by a poorly controlled plot -- that kept getting my hopes up, but at times felt random -- without much sense of growth or change. I didn't find the protagonists unlikeable (a couple could have been intriguing) -- just perplexingly static and anemic. Inkeart's villains were even more hopelessly undimensional.
    The conclusion, after such a long, erratically paced investment, was less than satisfying. I realize that there are sequels to Inkheart, but I don't believe that the job of a sequel is to tie up loose ends and apparent inconsistencies from a weak original. These are not voices from whom I particularly want to hear more, which generally is what leaves me hoping for a great story to continue in future volumes. Rather than eagerly awaiting what might come next in Inkspell, I find myself approaching another few hundred pages of this business with an unpleasant sense of dread, and wanting to avoid another let-down. The prospect of entering the &quot;Inkworld&quot; could be fascinating, but seems more likely to fall short, so I think I'll pass...

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Not the best

    So this book had a great beginning. This authir clearly kbows what a hook is! As i kept reading however, i found myself getting less and less interested in the story. It was super slow with everything hapennong over fifty pages, wheb the content could have been covered in fifteen or twenty. Finallt, i hough the end was absolutly horrible. I mean, she gets her mother back and everything, but her mother can't speak. And then my favorite character disappears. And honestly, i was hoping for more romance between farid and meggie. I'm pretty sure i won't be reading the rest of the series.
    - Musicloverbookcritic

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Ncjsjci

    The book is really witty, but i didnt finish it, cuz WAY too many details. Super boring. Only read if you are one of those amazing people, like my history teacher, who can withstand useless everything and boringness

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Ordinary

    If your looking for one of those awesome magical books that take you totally into another world, and you think about it all day... this is NOT one of those stories. I really thought that this book would be magical, but it turned out to be pretty plain and not all it is worked up to be. I wouldn't read it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    A reviewer

    i thought this book was about 200 pages too long, everything was dragged out, and the plotline wasnt strong enough. this book could have been condensed into half the amount of pages, and maybe wouldnt have sucked so much. i honestly dont know why i kept reading it. i should have put it down after the third chapter. the characters werent developed enough, except for capricorn, the villian. the 'twists and turns' as so many people are calling them, werent exciting. they were just confusing. i disliked this book alot, and would never in my right mind think of picking up the second or third one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Meh

    I just don't like this author's style of writing. She reveals the most obvious things, and it makes me think she assumes her fans are too stupid to infer. Luckily, she doesn't force you to read the others in the series.

    I'll give her a "You Tried" star along with my one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Inkheart

    Idk if i should read this series

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    WAY TOO LONG!!!

    (First of all I read this book when I was 14/15) I say 14/15 because it seriously took me a year and a half to read! It was so boring! I can't start a book and not finish it 'cause you never know how good the middle/ending can be, and the ending was good but not good enough to read the whole book. It was extremely long and drawn out! I felt like it was never going to end! The first 100 pages are awesome but then there is about 150 pages of BORING then the rest is... okay. I wouldn't recommend this book. If you really know how to make a book sound interesting (like my cousin who got me to read this) then you can make this book sound amazing, but that's because they're talking mostly about the first 50 pages. I also found it annoying that some characters had three different names! If you like the movie (which would be surprising) then don't be disappointed that the book was worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Had high hopes but was let down

    I was recommended to read this book and even when I was checking out the B&N cashier told me it was good but the movie sucked. The book took forever to get to the plot and it became very boring at times. It was entirely too long and I will not read the other two in this series. I kept wanting to know what was going to happen but the book kept dragging on and on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I wanted to like this book, but the high concept idea of reading things into life is lost in the overly violent storyline. I have read reviews of the movie that suggest the movie is the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Not as good as it could be

    I enjoyed Inkheart, but I think I would give my young reader others to start with. It moved very slowly, yet didn't develop the characters enough to make me really care about them. I can see how it would make a good film though. Start your kids with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Boring

    My friend recommended Inkheart to me but I couldn't finish it. It starts off really good but then it just becomes kind of boring. I didnt really like the main characters they weren't very interesting. I found it weird that for a childrens book only one of the main charaters was a child. This book was too slow paced for me, I don't think it even has a climax. <BR/>I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who likes books with alot of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    a natural bookworrm

    this was an ok book at first. I thought that it would be one of my favorites. this is a boring too detailed book and i think it could have been a good book if only it wasnt so detailed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    As a teacher, just want to say...

    This book really irked me. When you write a book...supposedly children's literature, mabey you should leave out the million swear words! (If I don't allow cursing in the classroom, why should I allow it in my bookcase?) Aside from that, the book was mildly interesting, if not very dark in nature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    A Slough of Despair

    I really wanted to like this book, but it just did not ever grab my attention. I read it to the end, but it was a struggle. It is a shame that a book that praises other books so much was just so boring. The best part was the quotes from classics at the beginning of every chapter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Disappointed

    I bought the story a few years ago from Scholastic and I never finished it. The book just doesn't catch my interest and personally, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    I was disappointed...

    When I heard about this book, the first thing I did was check the reviews on this website to see if I might find it enjoyable. The reviews made it sound great, and my friends said they all loved it, so I bought it. I liked the very beginning and how Cornelia Funke opened the story, but as the story went on I had trouble picking the book up. It has a great story, mind you, but it's so slow-paced that I grew bored. If you're patient enough to read through the boring parts then you might give this book five stars, but I personally didn't like it much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    waste of time

    uh, this book was horrible! I stopped after the first few chapters. really disappointed since i loved thief lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    awful

    this book is so bad i couldnt get half way through it and i tried reading it 9 times!!!!!!!!!! do not read this book. u r just wasting your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3