Customer Reviews for

Inkheart (Inkheart Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(919)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

61 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Unusual, but addicting!

I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold ...
I read this book during the winter months, in front of the fireplace... this book really pulled me into the story, like I'd been swept off along with Meggie and all. It has a very unusual plot, the characters are strange, but I couldn't put it down! It begins to unfold in such a way you feel opted to answer the character's questions (the many there are!) All in all, it's difficult to explain. But I loved it! This book was recomended for ages 12... both my friend and I read it (we're 16) and fell in love for it! I am not sure why this book received bashing from the previous reader, but it is so imaginitave. Something very fantasy-oriented, and that's what makes it so much fun!

posted by shhhDinaisreading on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Bummer!

Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adv...
Because of this book's high sales and excellent 'word of mouth', I was expecting an outstanding novel. Perhaps those high expectations is why I feel so let down. I felt Funke's ideas were origional and interesting, but the story she told didn't really take me on the adventure I was hoping for. It was also difficult for me to relate to any of the characters because they were pretty much one-note. Even though a lot of people seem to like it, I believe Inkheart is best suited towards younger readers.

If you want a great book for both adults and children, check out the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

posted by BluHawk on January 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book

    I'm seeing a few bad reviews for this book. I don't intend everyone to like it, but some opinions are just rude and should be kept to self. I personally liked this book a lot. It's a little slow at first, but give it time, it's get great. Inkspell, the second in the trilogy, is even better, so PLEASE just give it a chance!

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Inkhearted

    The sweet main character is a little girl who loves two things most in the world, her father and books. Suddenly a man from her father's past appears and takes them both into a great and terrifying adventure. Moe(Her father) was always a good man who could read a story so well that it would literally leak off the pages and fill the room. Yet she was always denied an audience for these sessions, because the last time he had tried her mother got sucked into the book in place of a trickser of stories and fire. Now she must rescue everyone and most importantly her father.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    So sad!!!

    How could you, Tink? The book was GREAT! I JUST LOVE HOW THEY MENTIONED LORD OF THE RINGS!!! IM CRAZY FOR LORD OF THE RINGS! Okay, sorry for that outburst. Just wish Ms. Funke would cool it with the language... Thats why i gave this review only four stars. So yeah, my fav character is 100% MEG!!! Capricorn sucks! Also another reason why i gave this book four stars is because Ms.Funke made Capricorn havr his lair be a Church that was disfigured. I HATE HOW CAPRICORN RUINED A STUTUE OF AN ANGEL AND HOW HE RUINED A CHURCH!!! When I was reading about Capricorn's Villaige it gave me the creeps!!! I hate Basta, too. Funny how I dont own any white shirts anymore. :)
    SECOND FAVORITE: THE SHADOW!!! I LOVE THE SHADOW!!!! Dont ask why.
    If you love The Lord of the Rings as much as I do, raise your hand! I looooooooovvvvveee Frodo!! *Fangirl Squeal* AHHHHHHHH! Wish I was Meg so I could read a part from Lord of the Rings so he could come into the room! *meep* I have a total crush on him! :/ dont tell nobody! Lolz, i used bad grammar. :)
    If you want to reply to my review, please do!
    ~Paws~
    €===[]::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Very good story

    I read this book, or tried to, in fourth grade. I couldn' t follow very well and did not understand what was going on. Then i read ot again in fifth grade. It made perfect sense then and was absolutely delightful. It was a great story. Will revview other books. Hey maybe its only cuz i am 11 but i found this book a littke confusing at parts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    INK HEART

    This wasA VERY LONG BOOK? I LIKED IT A LOT. IT IS A BIT CREEPY! THE WAY THE CHARECTERS COME OUT OF BOOKS? I WISH I COULD DO TJAT WITH LIKE! PIPPI LONGSTOCKING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    SWEET!

    Awesome book, it's like I'm in another world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Aynonmous

    A book would usually be boring in the begin but this book isn't. The book has been interesting and exciting and adventerous from the beginning and middle and the end. How interesting exciting and adventerous is whrn meggie is in a cruel adventure. Also cruel when his.father mo tells meggie about the book inkheart. Since meggie was a baby his father has been keeping horrifying secrets. Also worse didn't even tell her about the evil capricon that capricon had meet meggie when she was a baby.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Inkheart

    I read this book whenevef i am bored and have nothing to do. It is full of action and adventure....absolutley love it. At parts its a lityle confusing so just re read it and you will gey. If you like adventure action and a touchof fantasy tha this book is perfect for you. I am 13.and it is the perfect teen bookk for teens. I reccomemd this book to everyone....it is awesome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Awesome!

    My first review! Well, I got this book in physical form, and I have to say, its a REALLY good book. Everything in the book is described wonderfully, but I think this book can be "boring" at times, so kids 6-12 may not like it at times, but for adults this book is a gem, and so are Inkspell and Inkdeath (its sequels). The fights are very well desribed, and the fights in itself are very acion-packed. If you are interested in this book you should read Funke's other books too. Hope you found this review helpful! 8D

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Inkheart,Inkheart,Inkheart

    This book is absolutely amazing.I have not read all the others yet,but I know I will soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Review by brookles

    This book is fun to read as well as interesting. The way she writes the book is like it could realy happen even when you know iit could not. It shifts you to a knew place a new time and feels like in someone eles mide. How ever good the first one is the second is hard to gget through(i read anything in site so i know hard to get through) hope you love the boo as much as i do. Happy reading -brookles

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Scary for kids

    My kids did not like this book but i did. Interesting story! Too violent for me 8 and 10 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    One of the best books ever

    I am malori i am ten and this book was soo good that i read it in three days three it was so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for passing time- definitly worth reading

    This book is really interesting so far, because there is a lot of action. Meg and her father have to evade the evil Capricorn, for reasons Meg's father keeps to himself. Then strnge men arrive at the house they are staying at, and take Meg's father away. Meg's only choice is to embark on a jounrney to Capricorn's headquarters to save her father. I like this book so far as it keeps me reading and interested. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Some books should be tasted, some devoured, but only a few should be chewed and digested thoroughly.

    A weird quote but still interesting to think about, I guess. Here we have a girl name Meggie who's father Mortimer, Mo as she calls him, has a secret. After meeting Dustfinger whom Mo has met before, head to Elinor's home. Meggie notices that her dad has a certain book that he doesn't want her to know about. Next thing they know Meggie, Elinor and Dustfinger head to a village where they'll find Mo and a villain called Capricorn. If you decide to see the movie then better read the book first. Fave characters are Dustfinger, Gwin, Farid, Elinor and Mo. Like the author's writing style and how she gives each of her characters they're moment, including the villains like Basta, for example, along with the main characters. If you like books with fantasy and adventure then you'll probably like Inkheart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    inkheart the amazing!

    i loved the ink series, but inkheart was a mere marval compared to the exciting twists in the next two sequals to inkheart.(inkspell and inkdeath) i loved the character Dustfinger! his personality was perfect for a lost fire-dancer to long for returning back to the inkworld. Cornelia Funke created a extremely wonderful job of making inkheart a truely magical book!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A Fun and Exciting Read

    This book has a very unique perspective of a fantasy world. Probably any fantasy reader can identify with the characters, who find themselves literally absorbed in the book they love. Very fun to read, an exciting and thrilling kids book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Are you going to be able to read aloud after this new story with happy ending?

    Refreshing story for kids, they will be trill and think of the meaning of reading.
    Meggie find the truth about her mother, that Mo (her father) has been keeping from her for so many years. The quest take them to south italy to find the meaning of their voices to the books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Escape

    Although this book did not demand for me to obsessively read continuously, it did capture my attention. Escaping all reality, this book was a relaxing vacation for me. The writting is beautiful and for all those who REALLY have a LOVE of reading, Cornelia Funke does an excellent job expressing the love of books and the art of authoring a story. I wanted to take my time with this story, read every word, absorb the beauty in which is was used, and to use all my senses in order to experience the adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great story, So-So characters

    I thought this was a great book all in all. I've read it twice and I'm currently reading Inkspell which is great so far! My only "iffy-ness" about the book were the characters. Someone else said they were "one-noted" and I totally agree. They seem to have simple characteristics and are too predictable. None of them seemed to have REAL doubts within themselves or contradictions. I guess what I'm trying to say is that all the characters seemed either completely perfect or completely evil with only one agenda - no intricately woven characteristics or motives (except for maybe Dustfinger). Besides that, the book was amazing and I'd recommend ANYONE to read it. After all, very few books are completely perfect in every way. Read the book! It's GOOD! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11