Customer Reviews for

Inkspell (Inkheart Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 621 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(434)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Captured in a Story

I loved Inkspell. It had love, pain, and fantasy blended together perfectly so that the reader would see and feel what was happening to the characters. You could picture the hatred in Mortola's eyes, so deep that you could get lost in it, as she hurt Mo, feel Resa's gi...
I loved Inkspell. It had love, pain, and fantasy blended together perfectly so that the reader would see and feel what was happening to the characters. You could picture the hatred in Mortola's eyes, so deep that you could get lost in it, as she hurt Mo, feel Resa's giddiness when she realized that she had her voice back, and then her pain as she watched her husband get shot, and smell the Inkworld air as if you were standing there next to the characters. In this sequel to Inkheart, Orpheus reads Dustfinger back into the world that he came from, leaving his marten, Gwin, and his faithful companion, Farid, behind. Farid then runs to Meggie, who reads him into Inkworld and at the same time did something never accomplished before-she read herself into a story. She left a note for her mother and father, who then had someone read them back into the story. When they get there they find out that Mortola had followed them, which is when she shot Mo with a rifle from their world. Meggie hears word that her father is hurt, and panics. Will he survive? This book is an amazing sequel to another amazing book. I liked this book even more than Inkheart, and I couldn't put either one down. It may be slightly difficult to read at times and the length was intimidating, but it is even better than the one before it, and it's worth it. You cannot read Inkspell and fully understand it without reading Inkheart first. I would recommend these two phenomenal books to anyone that enjoys reading stories about adventure, magic, and fantasy.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not great

I was introduced to the InkHeart Trilogy by my tutor whose children had read both books and whose she gave to me. I LOVED InkHeart. It drew you into the story so much so, that it gave you the feeling of a child who shouldn't be reading it, it was so good. But InkSpell d...
I was introduced to the InkHeart Trilogy by my tutor whose children had read both books and whose she gave to me. I LOVED InkHeart. It drew you into the story so much so, that it gave you the feeling of a child who shouldn't be reading it, it was so good. But InkSpell didn't give me that feeling. In my opinion it started off slow, and never picked up speed. I just didn't get the drive that I did while reading Inkspell. Nevertheless, Cornelia Funke is an excellent author, and I am looking forward to InkDeath.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Captured in a Story

    I loved Inkspell. It had love, pain, and fantasy blended together perfectly so that the reader would see and feel what was happening to the characters. You could picture the hatred in Mortola's eyes, so deep that you could get lost in it, as she hurt Mo, feel Resa's giddiness when she realized that she had her voice back, and then her pain as she watched her husband get shot, and smell the Inkworld air as if you were standing there next to the characters. In this sequel to Inkheart, Orpheus reads Dustfinger back into the world that he came from, leaving his marten, Gwin, and his faithful companion, Farid, behind. Farid then runs to Meggie, who reads him into Inkworld and at the same time did something never accomplished before-she read herself into a story. She left a note for her mother and father, who then had someone read them back into the story. When they get there they find out that Mortola had followed them, which is when she shot Mo with a rifle from their world. Meggie hears word that her father is hurt, and panics. Will he survive? This book is an amazing sequel to another amazing book. I liked this book even more than Inkheart, and I couldn't put either one down. It may be slightly difficult to read at times and the length was intimidating, but it is even better than the one before it, and it's worth it. You cannot read Inkspell and fully understand it without reading Inkheart first. I would recommend these two phenomenal books to anyone that enjoys reading stories about adventure, magic, and fantasy.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Amazing

    This may be the only book better than Harry Potter!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    INKY INFERNOS ANOTHER CLIFF HANGER!

    I love this book! i cried when dustfinger died! this is such a cliff hanger! if i had three hands i'd give this book three thumbs up!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing Adventure Unlike Any Other!

    Sequel to the international best-seller "Inkheart," "Inkspell," by Cornelia Funke is an amazing adventure which sweeps the reader off their feet and brings them to the fantastical Inkworld where anything is possible! Feeling truly caught up in all the many characters' lives and caring about what happens to them, any person who reads this book, young or old, will find it impossible to put down and to stop thinking about! Even more action-packed than its precedent, "Inkspell" has an ending which leaves the reader extremely excited to start "Inkdeath," the third and final book in this wonderful trilogy, though sad to know that the ending will soon come. Humor, suspense, mystery, and a tiny bit of romance make this book unlike any other ever written!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved the book!

    I actually like Inkspell better than Inkheart! I think it's because Meggie matured more and all the romance in the book. (Farid and Meggie was so cute!) The action was great and it was a good lengthy read. I can't wait to read Inkdeath!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ IT OVER AND OVER!!!!!!

    when u rate this book instead of 5 stars i would give it 10,000 stars it's just such a good book i had to take if everywhere with me i could'nt leave it behind!!!!!!!!!READ THIS BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Sssssooooooo ccccccccoooooooooooooooolllllll!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    IT IS SO AWESOME THAT I COULD DIE.IT IS THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Terrific thriller for teens and grownups

    Just read this a couple of years after reading Inkheart. What a great book! Kept me on the edge of my seat, and now Barnes and Noble's going to get my money because I can't wait to get the third book. Couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is ausome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

    I really enjoyed this book alo i still havent got ink death yet but i cant wait to get my hands on it!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't even look at this if you haven't read Inkheart!

    Inkspell is the second in a trilogy, so first of all, read Inkheart first!<BR/>Getting on with it, I loved this book. I love the entire Inkheart trilogy, but Inkspell was my favorite of the three. It was the most exciting from my point of view. And what can I say? I love Meggie and Faird!<BR/>Oh, I didn't give anything away! We all know they like each other!<BR/>Unless you haven't read Inkheart, in which case back your butt away from this review and get the first book! It drives me crazy when people read second books first!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Fantastic book, like Inkheart.

    If you read Inkheart, you HAVE to read Inkspell. Fantastic book, really, really, good. Must have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    I LOVE IT!!!!!

    i aboubsolutely LOVE this book!! it is a love story, with lots of action in it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Inkspell

    All I can say is that I really enjoyed reading this book. Now I am on to the next one of this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling

    This book follows the first book ok. It really makes you think with all the more charaters in the story. Which i sometimes like in this book. So cont. the story or beginning reading this story because it is a good story to follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    www.skeletoncreekisreal.com

    Posted January 3, 2009, 10:27 AM EST: I loved this book! However, I found something else. www.skeletoncreekisreal.com<BR/>Its amazing! Check it out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    Farid and Meggie

    I loved the parts that had Farid and Meggie together. I loved how sweet he was. When i read the part when he first kissed her my ears began to burn and turn all red. I loved that part. I cant wait until the third book comes out. I understand that Inkdeath will be her last book, but Cornelia if you read this review plz write more than just three books. This series is so great to just stop at three.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Inkspell

    Meggie and her family of Mo, Resa, Elinor and Dauris are trying to forget what happend to them a year ago. On day Farid comes to there house with some strange news, Dustfinger has benn sent back to Inkheart. From then on some characters from Inkheart sgow up at the house. In the end it's up to Meggie and Mo to help kill the Adderhead and help put Febgolio's story back to the the way he wrote it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    It is the best book I ever read (age 7)

    Cornelia Funke should make all the way up to 40 books about different things about Meggie, Mo, Resa, Elinor, Darius, Farid, Dustfinger and Gwin. I think it is so good, everybody in the world should read it. The is the one of the best stories in the world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Awesome

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I love this book!!!!!!

    After reading lnkheart, l was eager to read more of Cornelia Funke's books. I was hyped about lnkspell, and l wasnt disappointed! It was another book where the people come alive. The plot was amazingly thick, and l got it done in one day. I cried sooo hard when Dustfinger died, and l was not gonna read Inkdeath, but l thought he might come back. But this book, wow, its the second in a epic series! Again, not for kids 7-10, as the language increases. But people older then that, READ THIS BOOK!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22