Customer Reviews for

Inmate 1577

Average Rating 4
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A must read, of course!

(Not a native English speaker so please excuse my grammar mistakes)
This is actually my 5th Alan Jacobson novel. I was in the middle of False Accusation when Inmate 1577 came out. And as much as I want to savor and prolong the joy and excitement of reading the new Ka...
(Not a native English speaker so please excuse my grammar mistakes)
This is actually my 5th Alan Jacobson novel. I was in the middle of False Accusation when Inmate 1577 came out. And as much as I want to savor and prolong the joy and excitement of reading the new Karen Vail adventure story, it's just impossible not to devour it in one sitting. Well I've actually read 1/3 of the book now and it's INCREDIBLE!! The thing about a lot of mystery/thriller novel is that even though it's exhilarating while reading, but you soon forget what the whole story was about. Well, at least it was like that for me for a lot of James Patterson novels. Highly entertaining, but not much really stays with you afterward. But definitely not with Jacobson's books. You can tell how much research is put into the novel, and all the relevant info/facts are introduced in the most interesting yet nonchalant manner. And you will definitely have something to talk about to impress somebody.
Well, back to Inmate 1577. The 500+ pages may seem intimidating at first, but it is the ultimate-turner, I guarantee. I love the fact that Jacobson decided to bring back a few characters from previous novels - but you can still read this one with no problems if you haven't read them. Interesting how many male mystery authors these days have female lead in their stories and do such good jobs analyzing their characters and personalities and yet most men still complain how mysterious women are.=P As a woman myself, I wonder how much female insight Jacobson acquire to write Karen Vail - she's the tough yet feminine and delicate at the same time. I have yet to see Karen's delicate side in Inmate 1577 (in the first 27 chapters I've read so far) and can't wait to face Karen's dilemma once more. Now, I'm going back to reading... Should come and finish this review once I finish it and add another star. =)
-----------------------------------------------
I just finished the book. Oh, it's so hard to contain the desire to discuss the plot (especially the ending) with the fellow Alan Jacobson fans!!! all I can say for now is to read it, enjoy it, be enticed and mesmerized by the story! What a rewarding reading experience. Thank you Mr. Jacobson! I really really do hope to meet Vail again soon.

posted by kpotter on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pass it up

Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

As Vail, Burden, and Dixon...
Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

As Vail, Burden, and Dixon follow the killer's trail in and around San Francisco, the offender continues his rampage, leaving behind clues that ultimately lead them to the most unlikely of places: a mysterious island ripped from city lore whose long-buried, decades-old secrets hold the key to their case. Alcatraz. The Rock."

That is pretty much the tale in a nutshell. I have to say that I thought the book, at 420 pages, was way too long and could have been cut down to 300 pretty easily. I also found the author's abbreviations distracting and annoying.

The good: the characters were believable and well defined. There was plenty of history and tourist information in the story - I feel like I've been there even though I've never had the desire to go.

The bad: besides being too long, I found that I didn't care about the characters or what happened to them. They were well defined but lacked emotional tug. The ending was not a surprise nor was there a twist that to redeem the story's weak spots.

Overall, I would give this book a "C".

I received this book from netgalley to read and review. All that is required is my review be honest and written after reading the entire book.

posted by sailaway7289 on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    A must read, of course!

    (Not a native English speaker so please excuse my grammar mistakes)
    This is actually my 5th Alan Jacobson novel. I was in the middle of False Accusation when Inmate 1577 came out. And as much as I want to savor and prolong the joy and excitement of reading the new Karen Vail adventure story, it's just impossible not to devour it in one sitting. Well I've actually read 1/3 of the book now and it's INCREDIBLE!! The thing about a lot of mystery/thriller novel is that even though it's exhilarating while reading, but you soon forget what the whole story was about. Well, at least it was like that for me for a lot of James Patterson novels. Highly entertaining, but not much really stays with you afterward. But definitely not with Jacobson's books. You can tell how much research is put into the novel, and all the relevant info/facts are introduced in the most interesting yet nonchalant manner. And you will definitely have something to talk about to impress somebody.
    Well, back to Inmate 1577. The 500+ pages may seem intimidating at first, but it is the ultimate-turner, I guarantee. I love the fact that Jacobson decided to bring back a few characters from previous novels - but you can still read this one with no problems if you haven't read them. Interesting how many male mystery authors these days have female lead in their stories and do such good jobs analyzing their characters and personalities and yet most men still complain how mysterious women are.=P As a woman myself, I wonder how much female insight Jacobson acquire to write Karen Vail - she's the tough yet feminine and delicate at the same time. I have yet to see Karen's delicate side in Inmate 1577 (in the first 27 chapters I've read so far) and can't wait to face Karen's dilemma once more. Now, I'm going back to reading... Should come and finish this review once I finish it and add another star. =)
    -----------------------------------------------
    I just finished the book. Oh, it's so hard to contain the desire to discuss the plot (especially the ending) with the fellow Alan Jacobson fans!!! all I can say for now is to read it, enjoy it, be enticed and mesmerized by the story! What a rewarding reading experience. Thank you Mr. Jacobson! I really really do hope to meet Vail again soon.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Vail police procedural is a fabulous thriller

    In 1955 in Northfield, New Jersey, the police are on the scene of the murder of Sally MacNalley with her seven year old son Henry as the witness. Her husband Walton arrives and is arrested for the vicious homicide, but a jury found him not guilty. However, his life is shattered though he tried to raise his son.

    In the present in San Francisco, SFP Inspector Lance Burdon leads the investigation into the rape, sodomy and murder of an old woman. FBI profiler Karen Vail is sent from DC to San Francisco to assist Burdon and his partner Detective Roxxann Dixon on the vicious homicide of the octogenarian. The FBI agent does not want to return to California after the recent Napa Valley mess (see Velocity and Crush), but does. In spite of the efforts of the trio, the ruthless psychopath rapes and kills other victims. The clues lead to Alcatraz, a tourist attraction for decades, but still the Rock for its surviving former inmates.

    The latest Vail police procedural is a fabulous thriller as the sarcastic profiler and the dedicated serious cops struggle to end a psychopath's brutal killing spree. Although serial killers are a too frequent breed in the sub-genre (including the Vail case The 7th Victim), readers will relish this action-packed tale as the Fed, and the locals play cat and mouse with a vicious lunatic.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    This is a must read!!!!!What are you waiting for?

    Wow Inmate 1577 exceeds all of my expectations. I was hooked on the Karen Vail series from the start with The 7th Victim. I was not able to stop reading the series. I read the first three books in a week and proceeded to tell everyone that I knew to read this series. Then when I heard Inmate 1577 was coming out, I marked my calendar and waited expectantly for the book. Now it's here and once again I could not stop reading this book. Alan Jacobson knows how to write novels that not only hold your attention, but they compel you to rush home from work, skip dinner, and lose sleep until they are finished. Then you just wow I wonder how long we have to wait for another one. Keep writing these books and hurry up, your readers are waiting. I have this book in hard cover and am purchasing it in Kindle and Nook version for my friends that I turned onto the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Jacobson's best yet

    Here's a math equation for you: (2 compelling stories) x (1 true historical backdrop) = Inmate 1577 This is not an easy review to write, but only because it is very hard to talk about Inmate 1577 without spoilers. I'll give it my best shot. I've enjoyed all of Alan's novels, but Inmate 1577 shows that he has taken his writing to a new level. This book was not just written, but crafted. Alan Jacobson takes two compelling stories--happening fifty years apart--and rather than having them suddenly come together and make sense at the end with a big explosion, these stories very slowly and deliberately begin to converge. Although the connection begins to emerge around the middle of the stories, the end is still one that will leave the reader stunned. Be ready to say to yourself, "I didn't see that coming!" I don't usually read a book a second time; there are too many books that I want to read for that luxury; but I may re-read Inmate 1577 again in order to see what clues Alan provided that I totally missed. Alan has done a very thorough job in this finely honed novel. The character development, particularly of Inmate 1577, is very complex and near perfect. Couple that with how well Alan has intertwined the stories with the most famous escape from Alcatraz and you have a true work of art. One of the nice things about Alan's books is that the chapters are short so you can pick up and put down the book at convenient times. The problem with Inmate 1577 is that almost every chapter is a mini-cliffhanger and putting it down is just not that easy. This is a highly recommended read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass it up

    Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

    As Vail, Burden, and Dixon follow the killer's trail in and around San Francisco, the offender continues his rampage, leaving behind clues that ultimately lead them to the most unlikely of places: a mysterious island ripped from city lore whose long-buried, decades-old secrets hold the key to their case. Alcatraz. The Rock."

    That is pretty much the tale in a nutshell. I have to say that I thought the book, at 420 pages, was way too long and could have been cut down to 300 pretty easily. I also found the author's abbreviations distracting and annoying.

    The good: the characters were believable and well defined. There was plenty of history and tourist information in the story - I feel like I've been there even though I've never had the desire to go.

    The bad: besides being too long, I found that I didn't care about the characters or what happened to them. They were well defined but lacked emotional tug. The ending was not a surprise nor was there a twist that to redeem the story's weak spots.

    Overall, I would give this book a "C".

    I received this book from netgalley to read and review. All that is required is my review be honest and written after reading the entire book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Excellent Book. Alan went above and beyond on this book.

    It gets you from page 1, you can't put it down because you want to finish and find out if your guess was right on who donnit....
    Highly recommend purchasing and reading this book, you will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    good read

    This was my first Alan Jacobson book to read. It was one that I read in a short amount of time and have read the other 3 books in the series since then!

    The only 'con' I have about this book relates to some of the graphic details of the victims. I had some trouble getting through those parts of the book. But overall, it was a very good mystrey. I do suggest starting with the first book in the Karen Vail Series.

    Can't wait for the his next one, hope it's a Karen Vail Series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Excellent read!

    What a great story! I really enjoyed this book. It was quite captivating and well written. You'll really learn to like the characters and it is an easy read. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Didn't hate it, didn't love it.

    I liked the book however, way too wordy & descriptive. I figured out who the killer was 1/2 way through & the ending was predictable. It switches between present time and the past, which I thought was enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Love the Karen Vail Series

    Can't wait for the next installment....just read, you will not be disappointed. Hard to put down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyed the book, suspenseful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Totally enjoyed this book on so many levels highly recommend starting at the beginning of the series if you enjoy FBI profiler stories, this is a great one i'm not one to re-read books, but this one I just might.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Must Read

    Highly recommended...it will make your heart beat fast in anticipation!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Fast read

    A little slow in the beginning but picks up rather quickly. Great mystery and figured it out by the end wiyh so many clues throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great read

    Mystery, suspense & crime. I enjoy Alan Jacobson books. I think I've read them all. Fast paced, easy read. Thanks Kelly for loaning me the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    my favorite rhus My favorite one yet

    I have read all four of the Karen Vail books and i liked rhis one the most. It kept my mind occupied with untangaling the clues and i was as surprised as the characters by who the killer turned out to be. Well sort of. I had guessed early on that it might be who it was but not rhat thar someone was hiding in plain sight. Nicely done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    It is a good read.

    My favorite book was Velocity. I like the Karen Vail Series.
    This book is a good read but not quite as exciting as previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This was okay but took forever ...

    Some of his books have left me on the edge until the very end and I was happy to be there. This contained the conclusion of the book before it and then its own story that took forever. These are the reasons for less than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    this book got me hooked on this series.

    this book got me hooked on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    OK book

    This is a thriller with lots of action, but kinc of contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8