BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inmate 1577

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A must read, of course!

(Not a native English speaker so please excuse my grammar mistakes)
This is actually my 5th Alan Jacobson novel. I was in the middle of False Accusation when Inmate 1577 came out. And as much as I want to savor and prolong the joy and excitement of reading the new Ka...
(Not a native English speaker so please excuse my grammar mistakes)
This is actually my 5th Alan Jacobson novel. I was in the middle of False Accusation when Inmate 1577 came out. And as much as I want to savor and prolong the joy and excitement of reading the new Karen Vail adventure story, it's just impossible not to devour it in one sitting. Well I've actually read 1/3 of the book now and it's INCREDIBLE!! The thing about a lot of mystery/thriller novel is that even though it's exhilarating while reading, but you soon forget what the whole story was about. Well, at least it was like that for me for a lot of James Patterson novels. Highly entertaining, but not much really stays with you afterward. But definitely not with Jacobson's books. You can tell how much research is put into the novel, and all the relevant info/facts are introduced in the most interesting yet nonchalant manner. And you will definitely have something to talk about to impress somebody.
Well, back to Inmate 1577. The 500+ pages may seem intimidating at first, but it is the ultimate-turner, I guarantee. I love the fact that Jacobson decided to bring back a few characters from previous novels - but you can still read this one with no problems if you haven't read them. Interesting how many male mystery authors these days have female lead in their stories and do such good jobs analyzing their characters and personalities and yet most men still complain how mysterious women are.=P As a woman myself, I wonder how much female insight Jacobson acquire to write Karen Vail - she's the tough yet feminine and delicate at the same time. I have yet to see Karen's delicate side in Inmate 1577 (in the first 27 chapters I've read so far) and can't wait to face Karen's dilemma once more. Now, I'm going back to reading... Should come and finish this review once I finish it and add another star. =)
-----------------------------------------------
I just finished the book. Oh, it's so hard to contain the desire to discuss the plot (especially the ending) with the fellow Alan Jacobson fans!!! all I can say for now is to read it, enjoy it, be enticed and mesmerized by the story! What a rewarding reading experience. Thank you Mr. Jacobson! I really really do hope to meet Vail again soon.

posted by kpotter on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pass it up

Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

As Vail, Burden, and Dixon...
Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

As Vail, Burden, and Dixon follow the killer's trail in and around San Francisco, the offender continues his rampage, leaving behind clues that ultimately lead them to the most unlikely of places: a mysterious island ripped from city lore whose long-buried, decades-old secrets hold the key to their case. Alcatraz. The Rock."

That is pretty much the tale in a nutshell. I have to say that I thought the book, at 420 pages, was way too long and could have been cut down to 300 pretty easily. I also found the author's abbreviations distracting and annoying.

The good: the characters were believable and well defined. There was plenty of history and tourist information in the story - I feel like I've been there even though I've never had the desire to go.

The bad: besides being too long, I found that I didn't care about the characters or what happened to them. They were well defined but lacked emotional tug. The ending was not a surprise nor was there a twist that to redeem the story's weak spots.

Overall, I would give this book a "C".

I received this book from netgalley to read and review. All that is required is my review be honest and written after reading the entire book.

posted by sailaway7289 on August 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass it up

    Where to begin? The book summary reads: "When an elderly woman is found raped and brutally murdered in San Francisco, Vail heads west to team up with SFPD Inspector Lance Burden and her former task force colleague, Detective Roxxann Dixon.

    As Vail, Burden, and Dixon follow the killer's trail in and around San Francisco, the offender continues his rampage, leaving behind clues that ultimately lead them to the most unlikely of places: a mysterious island ripped from city lore whose long-buried, decades-old secrets hold the key to their case. Alcatraz. The Rock."

    That is pretty much the tale in a nutshell. I have to say that I thought the book, at 420 pages, was way too long and could have been cut down to 300 pretty easily. I also found the author's abbreviations distracting and annoying.

    The good: the characters were believable and well defined. There was plenty of history and tourist information in the story - I feel like I've been there even though I've never had the desire to go.

    The bad: besides being too long, I found that I didn't care about the characters or what happened to them. They were well defined but lacked emotional tug. The ending was not a surprise nor was there a twist that to redeem the story's weak spots.

    Overall, I would give this book a "C".

    I received this book from netgalley to read and review. All that is required is my review be honest and written after reading the entire book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    good read

    This was my first Alan Jacobson book to read. It was one that I read in a short amount of time and have read the other 3 books in the series since then!

    The only 'con' I have about this book relates to some of the graphic details of the victims. I had some trouble getting through those parts of the book. But overall, it was a very good mystrey. I do suggest starting with the first book in the Karen Vail Series.

    Can't wait for the his next one, hope it's a Karen Vail Series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Didn't hate it, didn't love it.

    I liked the book however, way too wordy & descriptive. I figured out who the killer was 1/2 way through & the ending was predictable. It switches between present time and the past, which I thought was enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This was okay but took forever ...

    Some of his books have left me on the edge until the very end and I was happy to be there. This contained the conclusion of the book before it and then its own story that took forever. These are the reasons for less than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    OK book

    This is a thriller with lots of action, but kinc of contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    Mediocre

    I thought the story started out on a good note but as it progressed most of the characters seemed trapped in a loop. The inmate is the most interesting and well thought out character. I made my purchase based on other reviews and will be more careful next time to research off of the B & N site.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was an all right read, pegged the story by the 1/2 way point.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Sorry to the die-hard Jacobson fans...

    This is the first book I've read by this author and I have to admit that although the story is an extremely good one, I was consistently distracted by the plethora of acronyms throughout (sub-something, COD, TOD, etc). I like to learn as well as anyone, but when I am reading a novel, I don't want to have to try and remember what the acronyms mean. It breaks the story flow for me and detracts from the outcome. Readers are not all crime profilers or detectives. I am in the medical field and we use enough acronyms to wake the DOA. I guess that's why I would rather just read plain old words. Great plot though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Graphic but awesome murder mystery

    The Good: Firstly, most people would shy away from a book with very graphic sexual and murder scenes however, I find it both disturbing, interesting and admirable when an author can write such graphic scenes. Maybe it's because as a writer, I have not done it effectively myself but one of the most important things when reading a novel is remembering how it made you feel. If the author is writing such a graphic scene...especially in the context of this book which is a murder mystery...and you are left with this utter disgust for the killer...than the author has done his/her job! I think Alan Jacobson kept my interest in this novel by continually shocking me with the graphic nature of the murders and other events. I loved the dual time frames and shifting perspectives every chapter. At first, it's almost like two completely separate plot lines until about the middle then it all starts coming together and it gets really exciting! I also loved the main character Karen Vail. It wasn't until after I started this novel that I realized there was a book before this one that introduces Karen Vail, but Jacobson did a great job making this a stand alone book if you aren't interested in reading the series. Anyway, Karen Vail is totally kick-ass. She's a cussing, no-nonsense, smart ass type of FBI profiler and I totally want to be her. I loved how strong of a personality she had. One of the things I liked best about this book was that Jacobson made it seem SO realistic. Vail's theories on psychopaths and sociological serial killers make complete sense and when you finally learn the identity of the killer...the "reasons" and attitude toward the murders are so familiar because we've ALL seen it before with killers like Ted Bundy, Zodiac Killer, etc. I also really enjoyed Jacobson bringing in some history into the novel. Alcatraz has always been so fascinating to me and it was awesome to see it explored a little more in a novel. The Bad: The abbreviations! I could not stand how many abbreviations they used. UNSUB, DB, TOD, COD, ETA. 1. He doesn't always explain what the abbreviations mean...so if someone isn't in law enforcement and has never heard the abbreviation than they are in the dark as to why characters in the book are using ASAC to explain things. 2. Even when he does explain what an abbreviation means like UNSUB-"unknown subject," he uses it every other sentence. Since I used to work in law enforcement, I know for a fact that the cops do not walk around calling an unknown subject UNSUB all the time. In fact for half of these things they supposedly use abbreviations for...they never do! It just irritated me that Jacobson overloaded the book with useless abbreviations. The book was also a wee bit long...many parts could have been cut out and it was kind of like a roller coaster throughout the book. I'd get really excited and totally into it and then it would become dull and I wouldn't be as interested so I would force myself to read a little bit further and then it would pick up again. I'd much prefer a book that is fast paced and entertaining all the way through...but I guess you can't win them all. Overall I would recommend Inmate 1577 for lovers of murder mysteries as this was a pretty decent book with some really awesome detailed murders. I give this book a B-.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2