Customer Reviews for

The Inner Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(233)

3 Star

(180)

2 Star

(91)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

The Inner Circle

Beecher White, an archivist for the US government gets caught up in a life and death situation when he finds a book that may or may not belong in the archives. When a friend and security officer dies, he is determined to find the answers. It all begins with the reacquai...
Beecher White, an archivist for the US government gets caught up in a life and death situation when he finds a book that may or may not belong in the archives. When a friend and security officer dies, he is determined to find the answers. It all begins with the reacquainted with a childhood friend he had a crush on. When he gives her a tour of the archives, they find the book; soon afterward his friend dies. Was it a heart attack or murder? Is Beecher the murderer or an innocent bystander? And why is everyone trying to locate this book he has found? Beecher gets caught up in a conspiracy that could rock the nation. Brad Meltzer's novel is a thrilling mystery filled with surprises up until the very end. You won't want to put this book down.

posted by grumpydan on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

don't waste your money

i have enjoyed other titles by the same author, but this book is horrible. it ended so abruptly i thought my nook was acting up. the characters are not likeable and the plot is sub-par. don't waste you time or money with this one

posted by 6010703 on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    disappointed

    fast paced but bad ending

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    poor ending

    potential for a great twist, but then the story ends. i felt cheated.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    bad ending

    love this author but the book leaves you hanging...great historical references, the beginning of great character development and story line and then....nothing...book over??? Actually thought there was a problem with my Nook....

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Lame

    On the lame side. The free novel that came with it was much better, and mad it worth the price.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Don't Bother

    If you read this one you will be confused throughout and disappointed at the ending. Trust me on this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Would recommend if it wasn't so wordy

    Could have been excellent if it didnt have so much unnecessary descriptive filler. Too wordy and too many pages but with a good plot and interesting story. Does he get paid by the word? You can skim a lot of pages and only hone in on the text that makes the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Overly long and disappointing that one must buy the follow-up bo

    Overly long and disappointing that one must buy the follow-up book to see the ending which I refuse to buy because I feel like I was sucked into buying the ending for this book. Not that interestng unless you are a fellow archivist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Stopped reading

    This book has some potential and I thought it would be a quick, exciting read. It's not terrible, but it's quite slow and the characters aren't very well fleshed out. I have stopped reading it about 3/4 of the way through and have moved on to other books. I might come back to it, but am not compelled to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    ANNOYING!

    This is the first Meltzer book I've read, and I won't read any more. The story was mildly interesting, but the author's several quirky writing habits were annoying and distracting. Here are some examples: 1. "You" constantly becomes the contraction "Y'" as in "Y' know" or "Y' think" or "Y' sure." 2. Everybody has an exotic name: Beecher, Clementine ("Clemmi" - how cute), Dallas, Tot, Orson, Nico, Rina. 3. Sound effects, usually denoted by the descriptions "thunk," "tunk" or "kuh-kunk," are sprinkled liberally throughout the text (the first two are generally used for doors closing, the last one for soda cans dropping out of a vending machine which by the way was used at least 3 times in the space of one page of the book). 4. The author frequently uses the same words to describe the way in which the character is speaking: "challenges" and "stutters" are the most popular. At the halfway point of this book, I nearly gave it up but was just interested enough in the story to finish. However, the way the book ended, it appears that there is going to be a sequel. Y' know what? Do. Not. Waste. Your. Time. (that's another of Meltzer's writing quirks.) Thunk! That's the sound of my library door barring the entry of any more Meltzer books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Disappointing

    This started out to be such a great story. However, almost half of what you get is someone else's book (bonus edition??) The book ends so suddenly that I thought I was missing some chapters. It does not tie up many loose ends. Initially I thought there was something wrong with the NOOKcolor or that there was a glitch in the download.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Suddenly no more!

    Okay, this was a good book, but it left you hanging... I thought I was jipped and went to see if I only downloaded part of the book. No... I was left hanging... not fair Mr. Meltzer... not fair....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    unfortunate purchase

    I enjoyed all the past books of Meltzer but not this one. The ending is terrible, the book does not end it stops. All it is a setup for another release, shame on me I bought this one but I surely will not even look for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Loved the book...but the ending??????

    OK, I love Brad Meltzer and was really enjoying this book. Then came the ending that was so abrupt I called customer service for my digital book telling them I didn't receive the entire download. What happened? Did the author complete the number of pages he'd contracted for and just quit? Don't buy this book/Nook unless you want to be disappointed by the end. So many threads left that you can't even identify the design of the tapestry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Waste of my time

    horrible. i went to the next chapter and it wasn't there. left me hanging. i am done with this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Bizarre Book

    Leaves you hanging in the middle of the story. Goes on to another book with no explanation. This is the last book I will read by this author. Yech

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Over the top fantastical

    I have read all of Brad Meltzer's other books. They were good. This book is too long, too hard to believe, and way off the beaten path for me. It reads like his new show, Decoded. Which is horrible to watch. Lousy ending also. I hope his next book is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Disappointing

    About 20 pages in I had a bad feeling about the book, put it down, read a book by another author that, to my surprise, introduces a villainous character named Brad Meltzer . (Coincidence?) I subsequently gave The Inner Circle another try, and was shocked at the ending. With so many balls left up in the air, can a sequel be far behind?
    I feel somewhat scammed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Totally unacceptable abrupt ending

    The ending was so abrupt, I thought there must be a mistake. It's like reading half a book-very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    torture

    this is a never ending novel with so many twists it makes you nuts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    What in the world??

    The ending of this book is beyond abrupt. I actualy thought that my nook had malfunctioned. It wasn't until I checked other reviews that I found out it wasn't my nook, it was the book. I normally enjoy Brad Meltzer but this one is just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5