Customer Reviews for

The Inner Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(233)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(91)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

The Inner Circle

Beecher White, an archivist for the US government gets caught up in a life and death situation when he finds a book that may or may not belong in the archives. When a friend and security officer dies, he is determined to find the answers. It all begins with the reacquai...
Beecher White, an archivist for the US government gets caught up in a life and death situation when he finds a book that may or may not belong in the archives. When a friend and security officer dies, he is determined to find the answers. It all begins with the reacquainted with a childhood friend he had a crush on. When he gives her a tour of the archives, they find the book; soon afterward his friend dies. Was it a heart attack or murder? Is Beecher the murderer or an innocent bystander? And why is everyone trying to locate this book he has found? Beecher gets caught up in a conspiracy that could rock the nation. Brad Meltzer's novel is a thrilling mystery filled with surprises up until the very end. You won't want to put this book down.

posted by grumpydan on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

don't waste your money

i have enjoyed other titles by the same author, but this book is horrible. it ended so abruptly i thought my nook was acting up. the characters are not likeable and the plot is sub-par. don't waste you time or money with this one

posted by 6010703 on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 795 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Fun Read

    This was a really well thought out conspiracy thriller. I read it in one day and I'll be looking into more Brad Meltzer books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Recommend

    Strong characters and the plot keeps you guessing. If you like history you will enjoy this book. You may even learn something you didn't know about our history !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Brad always hits the mark and the Inner Circle is just what the doctor order for the doldrums of summer's end. Looking forward to reading the next adventure with my new favorite character!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great book

    Will definitely read more by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Really Bad

    Many plot flaws. Slow moving. Too much inner dialogue, over hyped drama of main character's conflicts. The "conspiracy" makes no sense, the essential plot device looses force. None of the characters have any depth.Ending is a clear signal that the author just wants to do a sequel, but I will never read it. Very disappointing! Don't waste your time reading it or listening to it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Recommend

    This was my first Brad Meltzer book that I've read. I agreed with the other readers when the book all of a sudden stopped and I also thought that my Nook "lost" the rest of the chapters. I can only assume that there will be another book to follow The Inner Circle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Dissapointing

    Not mysterious enough. If you are paying attention while reading you can determine characters nature before the story gets there. Finally when you want to read more, the story ends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    wouldn't recommend

    This book is confusing and leaves too many loose ends. Nothing ties together. We read it for book club and nobody liked it. His other stores are better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Pretty much a "throw against the wall" ending

    This is my first Brad Meltzer book and probably my last. It did not grab me but kept me just curious enough to plod through just to see how the choppy plot / sub plot would come together. Oh, I get it, it doesn't! Waste of precious reading time . . .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Don't Bother with this read.

    Not the usual Meltzer. Halfway through, I quit. Glad I read the reviews, so that I can avoid the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    horrible ending

    I wished I had read the actual reviews about this book by other readers before purchasing based on the number of stars it was given. Confusing story line, undeveloped characters and an ending that taunted the reader with "Just wait until you can buy another book to find out what actually happens!" The "bonus" book wasn't much better, but at least it had an ending of sorts. I won't be duped again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    DO NOT Waste yout time on this book

    Meltzer had a good plot & characters & then all of a sudden he just ended the book. Like others, I thought there was something wrong with my Nook. It appears as if he got tired of writing & just stopped. I would prefer that he completed his plot instead of getting bonus material. What a dissapointment. Shame on his publisher for letting him do this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Was a dissapointment

    Didn't care for it, the end was a letdown

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    awful

    Don't waste your time or money. Such potential but no good character or plot development. I wish i could demand a refund. If there is a sequel, i will not be reading it. i should have trusted the reviewers...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    WASTE OF TIME!!!!

    This book is one of the worst books I've read. It was tedious with no ending. It is a waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Wish I had read reviews first

    Wish I had read the reviews first - this was probably the worst one by Meltzer - stupid, stupid ending. And the extra novel - read it somewhere else.
    Save your money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    i want my money back

    what a joke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Slow start but Great Book!!!

    The book started off a little slow...so glad I gave it a chance. Once it finally started to get into the book it was GREAT...twists and turns that I didn't expect. Would highly recommend this book...can't wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    MELTZER DOES IT AGAIN!!

    If you like books that take place in real places and a government type setting then Brad Meltzer is the author for you. I enjoy all his books about secret government operations. I have enjoyed all of his books, but my favorite is Dead Even. Check them all out! You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    LOVE Brad Meltzer

    I have never been disappointed in any of Brad Meltzer's novels and this one is just as good and packed with excitement. I have read everything he's done and will be getting the sequel to this one! He's an excellent writer, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 795 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40