Customer Reviews for

The Inner Voice: The Making of a Singer

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Inspiring...especially to a young musician

    as an aspiring young musician myself, her style of writing is great for advice and information on starting a career. from moving accounts of the roles she has played to explanations of the technical part of the business, this book was a great one that i couldnt seem to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Inspiring

    I love renee fleming! I am an aspiring classical singer so got this book hoping to pick up a couple of tips. I got that and much more. This book gave me the confidence that i am on the right track and how i can get to my goals faster. I found a lot of relations between my persona story and hers. I brought up some of the tricks mentioned in her book to my voice teacher and we tried them. They really worked. I think any performer or musician would really benefit from this book... it answers all your questions on performance. This book changed my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    A lovely reference for any level of the Operatic Career!

    Renee gives good insight for her journey in her Operatic/Vocal career. I enjoyed reading about her issues with marriage, her issues with doubting herself and her issues of doing the work to become a great singer. I first read the book while in my undergrad years as a music voice student, and I find myself remembering different stories of her experiences. She provides a lovely reference for any level of the Operatic Career and gives you the choices she made to find her own happiness. Its not a map to being the greatest opera singer, but its a biography of choices made and how beautiful the results can be if you focus and stay true to your wants. :-) thanks Renee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    Informative and realistic accounting of "making it" in the opera performance world.

    Ms. Fleming writes in a style which is easily accessible and page turning. She shares her personal path to becoming an international operatic star. Her account gives aspiring classical vocalists reality-based information on how to pursue such a career and all that it entails. As a music educator, and mother of a young aspiring opera singer, this book gave useful information of "what to expect when hoping to sing opera professionally." We have bought additional copies to share with other young singers. I feel as though I "know" Renee Fleming after reading this book, and I love her spirit as much as her superb singing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Renee Fleming "gets it"

    When I started studying music in general and opera specifically, I had a fellow singer suggest that I read this book. I am deeply grateful to her. This is not the ordinary singer's biography; this specifically (and humorously) discusses everything that goes into the making of an opera singer: her schooling, her relationships with her voice instructors, her extensive graduate work, her many failures before that first engagement in Houston. I've repeatedly gone back to this book to "ground" me in my studies, and recommend it to all new singers. For that matter, I'd give it as a gift to anyone interested in opera, too; The Inner Voice offers a fascinating read to anyone enamored with the world of opera.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    A Great Read For Any Type of Musician

    I'm a pianist, with only a slight knowledge of the workings of the voice, and I still found this to be a captivating book - being a musician in general. Very insightful and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    GREAT FOR ASPIRING OPERA SINGERS

    This book provided an excellent and in-depth account of the many struggles, details, and idiosyncrasies of the opera world. Being an eighteen-year-old just ¿scratching the surface¿ of the idea of becoming an opera singer, this book was truly helpful, as well as a pure delight to read. I highly recommend Ms. Fleming's book for all young singers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Sensational!

    What a great read for any aspiring singer! I have ordered copies of this as gifts for my young voice students. This should be required reading for all singers. A wonderful read from a wonderful person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 16 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1