Customer Reviews for

Innocence

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year o...
This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year old man who has lived all of his life in the darkness of the night and in the underground sewers and tunnels.  When he does go out, he covers everything but his eyes least anyone see him and become so horrified that they would try to murder him.  Gwyneth is a young woman with a social phobia, causing her to avoid any physical touch at all.  They meet one night in the library and this amazing story continues. 




Koontz deftly goes back and forth in time building suspense while telling this present day story.  Sometimes this can be confusing from other authors, but it was a must in developing this story.  Koontz language was beautiful, describing snowfall in ways I've never heard before. This is perhaps one of Koontz's very best stories yet.  A must read for his fans and for anyone seeking a new favorite author!

posted by RonnaL on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

weird

Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of...
Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of unnecessary and seemingly gratuitous verbiage. The last fifty or so pages would have made a decent short story but the premise of the whole book was ludicrous.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz

    This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




    Addison Goodheart is a 26 year old man who has lived all of his life in the darkness of the night and in the underground sewers and tunnels.  When he does go out, he covers everything but his eyes least anyone see him and become so horrified that they would try to murder him.  Gwyneth is a young woman with a social phobia, causing her to avoid any physical touch at all.  They meet one night in the library and this amazing story continues. 




    Koontz deftly goes back and forth in time building suspense while telling this present day story.  Sometimes this can be confusing from other authors, but it was a must in developing this story.  Koontz language was beautiful, describing snowfall in ways I've never heard before. This is perhaps one of Koontz's very best stories yet.  A must read for his fans and for anyone seeking a new favorite author!

    69 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    One of his best

    Have always been a big Koontz fan. Strangers, Lightening, The Face, Life Expectancy, Dark Rivers of the Heart, and most of all Watchers. Innocence takes me back to the best of Koontz's stand alone books. Odd Thomas, for me, has become worn and trite.

    This book is vintage Koontz. Could not put it down. While some would like more of Addison and Gwyenth. I pretty much think it's said and done so well that it can't be improved upon.

    First of his in a long time that actually moved me. A while coming.. Well worth the wait. A must read for fans.

    49 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    weird

    Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of unnecessary and seemingly gratuitous verbiage. The last fifty or so pages would have made a decent short story but the premise of the whole book was ludicrous.

    28 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Fantastic read with a spiritual beauty that will provoke thought

    Fantastic read with a spiritual beauty that will provoke thought and introspection. Koontz delivers excitement, intrigue, suspense, and leaves you feeling enlightened and refined for having read his works. Highly recommend!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Loved it.  I cared deeply about the characters and loved to desc

    Loved it.  I cared deeply about the characters and loved to descriptive prose of the city.  I would give my left arm to be able to write things like this: "Through the stillness, snow fell not in skeins but in infinitely layered arabesques, filigree in motion, ornamenting the icy air, of an especially intense white in the dove-gray light of the morning, laying boas on the limbs of leafless trees, ermine collars on the tops of walls, a grace of softness in a hard world."

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    As someone who has read and mostly enjoyed every book ever writt

    As someone who has read and mostly enjoyed every book ever written by Dean Koontz this one is almost incomprehensible. Perhaps the author needs to take some time off and smell the flowers. This book is full of characters we don't care about and whose essences are poorly described and never really fleshed out. The plot is equally incomprehensible as is most of the writing and dialogue between the characters. If I submitted this book to publishers under my name I doubt anyone would publish it.

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    It is a fantastic book. who ever posted - Anonymous first - yo

    It is a fantastic book. who ever posted - Anonymous first
    - you are an idiot!

    13 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    ¿some hearts are dark and others full of light¿ Dean Koontz has

    “some hearts are dark and others full of light”

    Dean Koontz has a wonderfully active imagination and with INNOCENCE it’s on full display. Among his many strengths as a writer is the ability to tell a story with a purpose far greater than simple entertainment – and that’s precisely what he’s done with INNOCENCE. 

    It’s a cataclysmic story that laments the depravity of human nature, but at the same time it gives us heroic characters that by their very nature exude innocence and hope for the world we live in. I’ve read reviews the last few years that have been critical of Koontz for being moralistic in his recent books, but I don’t really understand that reaction. 

    Authors are free to extol any point of view they support just as readers are free to choose books aligned with their own point of view. I actually appreciate that an author as renowned as Koontz would use his writing to praise virtuous behavior and criticize what should abhor us. There’s a moment when Addison, the main character, narrates that, “there is no end of wonders and mysteries” on earth and one of them is “that some hearts are dark and others full of light.” To me that’s just great writing, but I guess others disagree.

    Anyway, in terms of critiquing the book, the bulk of the events that make up the story take place on one night – but the backstory that lets us know and understand and root for the two protagonists Addison and Gwyneth occurred over the previous eighteen years, so there’s a lot of back and forth between chapters. A chapter in the present, a chapter in the past, etc., and I didn’t care for that too much. 

    I thought the story was great and the writing fantastic, I just didn’t care for the back and forth because at times it felt like the backstory was inserted just to give us some action until the present story picked up steam. The only other criticism was that at times I felt like it could have been Odd Thomas talking instead of Addison Goodheart because their “voices” were so similar, but others might not think so.

    Regardless, I’m a big fan of Koontz’s writing and this is a great book. 

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Beautifully written

    This book is classic Koontz. It is the kind of story that stays with you long after you finish it. I have always felt that Koontz does an incredibley good job creating unlikely heroes and heroines with an incredible amount of heart and emotional depth. Once again Koontz offers up characters who represent incredible good overcoming horrific evil with their souls and hope still intact.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great Book!

    An excellent read, plenty of twists and turns with good pacing. Only minor negative is that its a bit wordy, but that's to be expected from this author. Very much recommend it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Very disappointing

    Since first reading Breathless by Dean Koontz, I was hooked and started reading a Koontz book every week. I loved his style and the wonderful way he can grab the reader into a world of wonder, hope, tragedy and beauty.
    Then comes Innocence....
    For the life of me, I just could not get it; I was dizzy trying to follow two plots with different time lines. I had a sense of the author was trying too hard to make the reader, actually force the reader, to feel empathy towards the boy.
    I just did not get it, and my sense of sadness and grief was more towards spending my hard earned money buying this book.
    If anyone would have told me I would have anything negative to say about Dean Koontz writings, I would never believed him/her, but that is the way it is....Sorry!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    One of the most boring books I have ever read in my life and I a

    One of the most boring books I have ever read in my life and I am 60 years old. I forced myself to finish it since I paid for it. Sure didn't get my moneys worth. Didn't like the jumping back and forth as another review also stated. This was my first and my last book by this author.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    One of me least favorite Koontz books, I don't like books writte

    One of me least favorite Koontz books, I don't like books written in the first person, way to slow . I was very disappointed in it.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    DO NOT READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    DONT READ IT

    4 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Meh

    I really liked the premise, and Addison was an interesting character. However, the story was very drawn out to come to a depressing conclusion about humanity. I also think Koontz has become way too preachy, particularly since Breathless, and much as I adore dogs, his waxing rhapsodic about their goodness is just too sappy. I enjoyed reading this up until the last few chapters, but he lost me at the end. I won't stop reading him, though, unless he continues to infuse his books with all the preaching.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Gfdxbfx gcfyncnycmh

    Hihojgpoblo

    Hhhhb

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Fantastic "inside the mind" book! It really makes you

    Fantastic "inside the mind" book! It really makes you take a deep look at what we fear, what we should fear, and what we were meant to be. The final chapters are mind-blowing!!! I am a voracious reader - of non-fiction, popular fiction and literature alike, and I LOVED IT!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    This book is just so pointless! Nothing is thoroughly explained.

    This book is just so pointless! Nothing is thoroughly explained. Dean Koontz can do so much better.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Love Dean Koontz. Hate this book. Almost as bad as Odd Thomas.

    Love Dean Koontz. Hate this book. Almost as bad as Odd Thomas. Wish I read all the reviews first.........

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Not sure what to think

    I have been a rabid fan of Mr. Koontz for years. This book left me speechless. I was not aware that he has switched genre. This nnovel reads like the Bible stories I read as a child...not what I have come to expect from this author. To long winded and preachy for me. I hope he returns to his former style...if not,this will be the last book I read by the Reverand Koontz.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15