Customer Reviews for

Innocence

Average Rating 4
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

60 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year o...
This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year old man who has lived all of his life in the darkness of the night and in the underground sewers and tunnels.  When he does go out, he covers everything but his eyes least anyone see him and become so horrified that they would try to murder him.  Gwyneth is a young woman with a social phobia, causing her to avoid any physical touch at all.  They meet one night in the library and this amazing story continues. 




Koontz deftly goes back and forth in time building suspense while telling this present day story.  Sometimes this can be confusing from other authors, but it was a must in developing this story.  Koontz language was beautiful, describing snowfall in ways I've never heard before. This is perhaps one of Koontz's very best stories yet.  A must read for his fans and for anyone seeking a new favorite author!

posted by RonnaL on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

weird

Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of...
Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of unnecessary and seemingly gratuitous verbiage. The last fifty or so pages would have made a decent short story but the premise of the whole book was ludicrous.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    One of me least favorite Koontz books, I don't like books writte

    One of me least favorite Koontz books, I don't like books written in the first person, way to slow . I was very disappointed in it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Not sure what to think

    I have been a rabid fan of Mr. Koontz for years. This book left me speechless. I was not aware that he has switched genre. This nnovel reads like the Bible stories I read as a child...not what I have come to expect from this author. To long winded and preachy for me. I hope he returns to his former style...if not,this will be the last book I read by the Reverand Koontz.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Not what i expected

    So let me just say that I have read all of Dean Koontz's books and love his stories...this book however was not what I expected it to be...it was a little wordy, but that is to be expected of dean koontz....they way he describes something so simple as the snow falling is absoulutly majestic and beautiful. The book had a nice twist that I didn't see ginning and it was nicely welcome... I have never had a bad thinhg to say about any of his books, however this was not one of his better ones

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Meh. I love Dean Koontz, but this book was just alright... not

    Meh. I love Dean Koontz, but this book was just alright... not bad, not great. I don't miss the characters the way I have with his other novels.
    I agree with some other reviewers that it's a bit preachy. There were actually a couple chapters that were wonderfully creepy and suspenseful, but they lacked follow-through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    My ratings

    I dont really like it that much.to me it is boring.its not exiting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Pretty Good - Until the ending

    Spoiler Alert: I was excited to read this book as it is one of the few "stand alone" books that Dean Koontz has published recently. I really enjoyed most of the book, but the ending was awful. Bringing religion into it really left a bad taste with me. It seems like it was a way to just tie up a story that he was tired of writing. I was very disappointed with the trite resolution of the issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Parts of This, Parts of That

    I normally love Dean Koontz books, however, in this one so far and I am about halfway through it, I have seen parts of The Phantom, Beauty and the Beast and The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. Instead of not being able to put it down, I can easily read one chapter and lay it down for the next day again. Dean, please stick to your own stories and don't incorporate a little of this and a little of that. We love your original storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I just finished reading his latest book. And though I wanted to

    I just finished reading his latest book. And though I wanted to love it. I kept waiting to get sucked in by the characters as I have with One Door Away from Heaven, Intensity, False Memory, Fear Nothing, Seize the Night and many many others. It just didn't happen. I think that it was written in first person which was part of the problem. Still waiting for the third novel in the trilogy which was promised long ago for Fear Nothing. After the first Odd Thomas novel I quit reading them. Just could not read any more about that character. It became repetitious. I hope Mr. Koontz gets back his Mojo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Not what I expected

    I love the 'Odd Thomas' series, but I am growing weary of Mr.s Koontz's migration to the all spiritual themed writings. The premise of the novel is very promising. The two main characters are interesting. Even the flashbacks of Addison and Gwen's past were interesting. I don’t want to spoil the ending, so let’s just say it left me flat. Peace be with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Good book

    This book was definitely different than what I expected, I was pleasantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Ok

    A liitle disappointed...expected more from Koontz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Not my favorite DK book

    .

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Awkward

    This is weird because my ex boyfriend is named innosence

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2