BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Innocence

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz

This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year o...
This is simply a masterpiece of suspenseful literature.  Koontz has outdone himself in this seemingly allegorical story of good and evil, and the free will of mankind to better his world or to destroy it with misused power and greed.




Addison Goodheart is a 26 year old man who has lived all of his life in the darkness of the night and in the underground sewers and tunnels.  When he does go out, he covers everything but his eyes least anyone see him and become so horrified that they would try to murder him.  Gwyneth is a young woman with a social phobia, causing her to avoid any physical touch at all.  They meet one night in the library and this amazing story continues. 




Koontz deftly goes back and forth in time building suspense while telling this present day story.  Sometimes this can be confusing from other authors, but it was a must in developing this story.  Koontz language was beautiful, describing snowfall in ways I've never heard before. This is perhaps one of Koontz's very best stories yet.  A must read for his fans and for anyone seeking a new favorite author!

posted by RonnaL on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

weird

Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of...
Chock full of wonderful word usage wasted on a poorly developed and ridiculous story. Koontz spends a lot of time being philosophic and preachy instead of clarifying his characters and their story. The reader is left puzzled and finally bored with the many paragraphs of unnecessary and seemingly gratuitous verbiage. The last fifty or so pages would have made a decent short story but the premise of the whole book was ludicrous.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great Book!

    An excellent read, plenty of twists and turns with good pacing. Only minor negative is that its a bit wordy, but that's to be expected from this author. Very much recommend it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Gfdxbfx gcfyncnycmh

    Hihojgpoblo

    Hhhhb

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Good read

    I really loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Great story

    It was very different from Dean's usual story. Great story don't get me wrong. I couldn't put it down. I wished they explained more of his life with his adopted dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Innocence by dean koontz

    This a very excitng read it keeps you wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Very Unique

    This is written from the interesting perspective of a young boy who lives within the walls of the city & only comes out when he can safely hide amongst the shadows. He is completely alone & considers himself unworthy of being looked upon until he meets a young girl as unique as himself, who accepts him for who he is. A beautiful, almost poetic novel written by the master of suspense, Dean Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    Still mysterious as before

    Well written, as usual had to read one of his older novels
    to get into his style. stayed mysterious all through book
    and ending was not expected. Well worth the purchase, though
    the book "Watchers" was still the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    I can't understand the bad reviews of this title. The first 3 pa

    I can't understand the bad reviews of this title. The first 3 pages had me curious enough to want to keep reading. I admit it might have been a bit drawn out but the ending really surprised me. I was not expecting anything like that. I think it says a lot about human nature and the way we think. I recommend this read to all Dean Koontz fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Meet my expectations of a Dean Koontz book. It gets your attention from the very beginning, holds it throughout and leaves you with an unexpected conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Excellent

    Another wonderful story from Dean Koontz! Rich characters, witty dialogue, beautiful prose and a compelling plot--Dean Koontz at his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    All in all I enjoyed this book, although it was a bit difficult

    All in all I enjoyed this book, although it was a bit difficult to follow.  When it all came together for me it
    was like, wow, ok!  I DID care about the characters, unlike some other reviewers. The middle of the book
    did get a bit wordy, but the ending  made up for it.

    I am a long time Koontz fan ( Watchers was my favorite!). I will continue to read whatever he writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Not what I would expect.

    I found the ending much more interesting than the beginning. Diificult at times to stay with the story but I am glad I stuck it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Unique writing style. Book held my interest

    Very well written - loved it - recommend to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Innocent part one

    I stay silent behind a tree waiting for the right moment to push my friend in the lake. We met two months ago. We meet at a lake after dark. He doesn't want my father the cheif of police to folloe me. There's only one reason I can think of why he would'nt want my father to know but I don't even want to consider it....Anyway we're just friends for now. "You know Tori if you wanted to sneak up on me you could've found a better hiding spot." I smile and roll my eyes. "Name one better spot here." I said. "Well you've made your point. What are you doing here you said you could'nt make it tonight." He said moving closer. "I ditched the stupid police banquet. Why should I listen to old men make speeches when I could be with you?" I said. "You know ever since we met I've been waiting for a kiss." He said brushing my black hair out of my face. I knew he liked me! I lean forward and when he kissed me I felt like I was on fire. He mives away and smiles." So do you want to come here next Saturday for a first date?" He asked. "Xaiver I have prom next Saturday. They want me to sing. But I'll think about it I promise." I say. "Ok." He said. I check the time on my phone. 9:45. "I have to go. My parents will be home by ten and they think I'm sick." He nods and waves to me. My house isn't that far from the lake so I walk usually. As I leave a police car comes up and rolls the window down. "Hey Tori!" The officer says. I smile. "Hi Robin." "You know you might want to stay away from these parts. There's a crimanal lurking arround here." She says. I frown. "Really I've been coming here a lot and I've never seen anything." Robin loved talking about criminals. "Yeah wanted in four states. Crimes include grand theft auto and murder." She holds up a photo and my jaw drops. It's Xaiver. I run back to the lake and find him. I walk over. "Hey did you decide about-" Before he can finish I push him in the lake hard. He jumps out looking hurt and angry. "Why did you do that?" He snapped. I don't answer. Instead I hit him where it really hurts. "I decided about Saturday I'm going to prom whether you like it ir not." He's really angry now. "Tori what is wrong with you? You know what maybe we should'nt date." The words come out of my mouth before I can stop them. "Fine. Why should I date a criminal anyway?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Can't put it down and anxiously awaiting to finish

    I am in the middle of reading this and frankly enjoying it emensely! Giving a 4 star just because of how I feel so far. I can't wait to finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Very Good

    Dean Koontz is a very good story teller and again has not disappointed me. Each chapter leaves you wanting to read on and on. I felt some parts could have had further development, perhaps because I always want to know the "why" of everything. The story really gives you something to think about and left me wanting to be the better person we are all capable of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Very enjoyable book. Very interesting ending.

    I really enjoyed this book. Try it-you'll like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Good Read

    Very different story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Recommend

    Very enjoyable to read. It kept my interest all the way thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    A Word Master

    Always enjoy reading Koontz. He is a master of the written word, with descriptions that bring the story to life.
    Watchers is still my favorite Koontz story.................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4