Customer Reviews for

The Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Innocent

What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping from one setting to another and too contrived. If I were a first-time Coben reader I'd pass on his future books. As a diehard Coben fan, I'll be looking for something better next time out.

posted by BluJay on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    I love Harlan Coben, but...

    I have read Gone for Good, Tell No One, and No Second Chance by Coben - loving all three. This book was an exception. I didn't hate it, but I didn't like it. I think I may have just had a hard time getting into it within the first few chapters, so I never got out of that frame of mind. I also didn't think the characters were as strong as usual or the plot was as 'complete'. I love Coben's others that I've read, but this one felt almost as if it was written by another. I would recommend the books above. ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read on average two murder mystery a week. I have never read a Harlan Coben written book prior to reading THE INNOCENT. I make it a point to research reader reviews on new authors. I was quite surprised to see a number of poor or marginal comments about this book. Upon completion of reading this book I personally rated it a 9 out of a possible high of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Worth reading but not Coban's best....

    For me, this book was okay. I enjoy Harlan Coban's books a lot! I think I've read nearly everything he's written. Therefore, I still enjoyed this book and thought it was worth my time to read it but compared to his other novels, it is probably my least favorite. It was a little too contrived for me. Some of the twists were just a tad unbelievable. Okay, I know it's a work of fiction so I expect it to stretch reality a little but this one went a little too far in a couple spots. So if you're a Coban fan, give it a shot. If you've not read anything by him before, do not select this as your first one or you might not want to try the others which are all excellent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    Definitely Not One Of His Better Novels

    I haven't read the Myron Bolitar series but I became a huge HC fan after reading three of his stand-alone novels- No Second Chance, Tell No One, and Just One Look. The Innocent contains NONE of the excitement from those 3 novels. Plenty of plot twists but they're predictable, boring, and somewhat unbelievable. For a real Coben thrill ride check out No Second Chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Couldn't put it down

    I just stumbled accross this book and am I glad I did. I LOVED it! And look forward to reading something else from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Absolutely Great

    Harlan Coben has become one of my very favorite authors. This story about an 'ex-con' kept me riveted. Yes, he does stretch things a bit, but this is fiction. Excellent fiction, written by a master of suspense, who, nevertheless, creates very human people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Harlan does it again!

    I have loved every Harlan Coben book and this is no exception. He is my favorite author and he never disappoints me. This book kept me guessing and kept me reading. It was hard to put down and left me wishing I had another Harlan Coben book to read, but wait, I do! Promise Me just arrived in the mail and I can't wait to start it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    This is another Good One from Coben

    I got to like Coben's novels since the first time I read Tell No One a while back. This book The Innocent is just as good. He developed each charactor in the story so well. He put me under the skin of Matt, a good man, the paralegal who tried to start a new life with his family after four years in jail. Unfortunately, that dark shadow of his life put him back into a link of murder again. Coben is very good at hiding mystery in every corner of the plots. I love this book. Just like many many books of his, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    I hope this is not the best he can write

    I picked up the book based on HC's 'Bestseller' Reputation. The story is too convoluted and the ends are made to meet through extreme stretches of imagination. Too many villains to keep all of them straight and in the end I did not get the satisfaction one gets looking at the last page of a suspense novel - that grateful feeling for a great roller-coaster ride. I would ask around and find out which one of his novel is truly the best of the crop before I invest time energy and money into another of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Added to My List

    I have been a Robert Parker and James Patterson fan for hundreds of years. Then along came Lehane. And now it's Coben. I rate him with my favorite authors because of writing style and development of the plot. I could not put this book down and have already started to pass it around among friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    BRILLIANT

    I absolutely loved this book. It keeps the attention and although there are many coincidences and close escapes from death this is what makes it good reading. Remember: It is fiction and therefore doesn't need to be all realistic and real-life. If that's what you are looking for then look elsewhere. It's a real page-turner that kept me reading from front to back until i finished it. As for the title - I am still trying to figure out who 'The Innocent' was ...... there were plenty that could be read into it...maybe the main character, maybe his wife, maybe his victim, maybe his wife's best friend.... They all were innocents who had seen the tough side of life. It's my first Coban book and I will definitely be reading others. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Great Book

    This is the first book that I read by Harlan Coben and it definitely won't be the last. I enjoyed his writing style and how he developed his characters. This book was full of suspense. The plot though fast moving and enjoyable was a bit far fetched. This book was never dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Best Coben book I've read yet!

    I have read almost all of Harlan Coben's novels, beginning with his Myron Bolitar series. I enjoyed them, and the several stand-alone mysteries since then, but this book had me stunned all the way through. Not only was the writing style far better than for most mystery/thrillers, the characters were fully fleshed out as well. It truly is a page turner, but one with real writing quality. It's rare when an author really gets BETTER after a lot of novels, but this is the delightful exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    First time Coben Reader

    I enjoyed this book..while at times, seeming far-fetched, it kept me reading and wanting to know what was coming next. Will definitely read some of his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Loved it!!!

    This was the first book I read by this author and definately will not be my last! I could not put it down! It had me guessing until the end! I absolutely loved it and would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Great Suspense!

    I thought this book was great! It's the first time I've read Coben's writing, and it won't be my last! It starts out as kind of slow at the first couple chapters, but if you are in the mood for a good suspense, then this is a good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    loved it!!

    I was surprised to see what others said about this book. This was the first time reading this author, and I was intrigued. I love this genre, and I found this author making me turn the page to find out what was next for the main character. If there is someone on the fence about this book based on the tepid reviews, I urge them to read it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    A little disappointing

    Not up to his usual standards. The plot works well for about half the book and then goes downhill. Nevertheless, a better read than most of the other writers out there. Will look forward to his next book. Mr. Coben's work is usually worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Loved it!!

    His best yet! A must read, action-packed, page-turner, that will keep you up at night! Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Cookie Cutter Book Again

    I have been a big fan of Coben but this book along with 'Just One Look' are subpar. It is the same story line and I am disappointed for the second time. I suggest you pick this up at the library if you must read it and save your money for something else. Nothing to write about here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7