Customer Reviews for

The Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Innocent

What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping from one setting to another and too contrived. If I were a first-time Coben reader I'd pass on his future books. As a diehard Coben fan, I'll be looking for something better next time out.

posted by BluJay on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The Innocent

    What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Excellent

    Coben always makes a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping

    Too Much

    Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping from one setting to another and too contrived. If I were a first-time Coben reader I'd pass on his future books. As a diehard Coben fan, I'll be looking for something better next time out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book! Just like all his others! He's never disappointing.

    Great book! Just like all his others! He's never disappointing. Fast and easy read, but also hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good

    First book of his I've read. Now looking for a 4th!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    as always another great read by Harlan Coben. One of my favorite authors!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    okay story

    This is a fairly fast moving story which keeps your interest. However, the conclusion wraps everything up too neatly for a fairy tale ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    One of the best books I've read in years

    Great Beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I love this writer.

    hotch66

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Unexpected plot!

    Mr Coben surprises everyone with this exciting storyline. Riveting and captivates your total attention. Could not put the book down. Devore it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Read

    I cannot believe that I am actually giving Harlan Coben less than 5 stars, this is a first for me! And, I cannot put my finger on exactly why I'm only giving 4, because this book had a good story line and had the typical suspense with all the twists and turns that you come to expect as an avid Coben fan. Somehow, in the working out of the story line, the sheer number of people involved in the plot became a little hard to follow sometimes, so that I found myself not really being deeply involved in the book, but rather giving it a somewhat perfunctory reading. However, don't get me wrong, it is still a very worthwhile read that I would recommend. Maybe Mr. Coben has just spoiled me with all his other masterpieces that I just expect too much! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strike TWO

    I almost didn't finish THE INNOCENT and that's saying a lot because Harlen Coben has been one of my favorite authors. Although the book has a "feel good" ending most of the book was just plain depressing. We all like heroes. We all like to cheer for the underdog and for good people who have terrible things happen to them simply because they happen to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. But why invest your emotional capital in people who are victims of their own lies and their own stupid decisions. Matt could have saved himself a lot of problems if he had not moved back to his hometown after prison and had not gotten involved in a relationship with the mother of the boy he accidentally killed. And Olivia could have saved Matt and herself a lot of heartache if she had been honest with him. Call me old-fashioned but I might have trust issues with a wife who I later learn to have covered up a killing, assumed another identity and been a HOOKER! I would love to say the book has certain redeeming qualities - plot, character development, book cover, anything but I cannot. Even the title is lame, I mean, who was THE INNOCENT? This won't be my last Coben novel but I am keeping score.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    For me, this book did not live up to the hype.

    I found the plot interesting in the beginning, but progressively with each chapter I felt less reality within the story. In the end the story felt too contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    great read...could not put it down

    I really found the plot and the sub-plots so interesting aand intriguing.
    Great writer....I am now on his second Myron Bolitar book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling book

    Mr. Coben created characters with depth and interest. The deep reverence of his characters for a "normal life" is refreshing, and heartening. Through a series of twists and turns, the characters come back to the real deal - their love and a house in the suburbs. I loved the excitement, the unravelling of a multi-level plot, and the ending which left me with a smile on my face. This was my first Harlan Coben book; it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Too many coincidences in the resolution but still a good book

    Scott Brick's narration of "The Innocent" moves right along and never lets up. Ex-con Matt Hunter is basically set up for a double homicide and needs to stay one step ahead of the authorities so he can clear his name. <BR/><BR/>That sounds like the plot of a typical grade-B mystery movie, but Harlan Coben takes that plot and makes it work gloriously. Unfortunately he then tries to tie up too many loose ends by giving explanations that are somewhat far-fetched, to put it mildly - and the last one is the most unbelievable of all. But the story still works, which is very surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Yet Another Page Turner From Coben

    Harlan Coben never lets me down. Everything I've read from this author so far has really kept me guessing and turning those pages. That is the sign of a truly great writer of fiction. I've read some not so favourable reviews of Harlan Coben novels, some stating that his books are too unbelievable and contrived. But that's the nature of the genre and fiction in general. 'Fiction' means 'not real'. It also equates to stories being larger than life and rather neatly panned out. If they were too like real life, many stories would probably be rather dull and boring. Fiction books are like movies. They are the same thing, only in written form rather than visuals and sound. It's all about entertainment and Harlan Coben delivers this, without fail, every single time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Captivating

    This is my first read of Cobens's and I was hooked from the very first sentence. I found it very difficult to put this book down and read it in 2 days. There were so many twists and turns, most of which I didn't see coming. I will definitely be reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    not bad!

    I've never even heard of Harlen Coben but when I listened to this book I was amazed. This was a very good book! Twists and turns were somewhat predictable, but none-the-less very clever. I would recommend it to almost anyone who likes a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Lots of twists and turns - plenty of intrigue!

    The book reviews were right about this one -it truly is one of Harlan Coben's best books. The characters are honest yet flawed - very human. The plot twists and turns yet isn't painfully difficult to follow. I didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7