Customer Reviews for

The Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Innocent

What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping from one setting to another and too contrived. If I were a first-time Coben reader I'd pass on his future books. As a diehard Coben fan, I'll be looking for something better next time out.

posted by BluJay on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Unexpected plot!

    Mr Coben surprises everyone with this exciting storyline. Riveting and captivates your total attention. Could not put the book down. Devore it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good Read

    I cannot believe that I am actually giving Harlan Coben less than 5 stars, this is a first for me! And, I cannot put my finger on exactly why I'm only giving 4, because this book had a good story line and had the typical suspense with all the twists and turns that you come to expect as an avid Coben fan. Somehow, in the working out of the story line, the sheer number of people involved in the plot became a little hard to follow sometimes, so that I found myself not really being deeply involved in the book, but rather giving it a somewhat perfunctory reading. However, don't get me wrong, it is still a very worthwhile read that I would recommend. Maybe Mr. Coben has just spoiled me with all his other masterpieces that I just expect too much! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Too many coincidences in the resolution but still a good book

    Scott Brick's narration of "The Innocent" moves right along and never lets up. Ex-con Matt Hunter is basically set up for a double homicide and needs to stay one step ahead of the authorities so he can clear his name. <BR/><BR/>That sounds like the plot of a typical grade-B mystery movie, but Harlan Coben takes that plot and makes it work gloriously. Unfortunately he then tries to tie up too many loose ends by giving explanations that are somewhat far-fetched, to put it mildly - and the last one is the most unbelievable of all. But the story still works, which is very surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Captivating

    This is my first read of Cobens's and I was hooked from the very first sentence. I found it very difficult to put this book down and read it in 2 days. There were so many twists and turns, most of which I didn't see coming. I will definitely be reading more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    not bad!

    I've never even heard of Harlen Coben but when I listened to this book I was amazed. This was a very good book! Twists and turns were somewhat predictable, but none-the-less very clever. I would recommend it to almost anyone who likes a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read on average two murder mystery a week. I have never read a Harlan Coben written book prior to reading THE INNOCENT. I make it a point to research reader reviews on new authors. I was quite surprised to see a number of poor or marginal comments about this book. Upon completion of reading this book I personally rated it a 9 out of a possible high of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    Great Book

    This is the first book that I read by Harlan Coben and it definitely won't be the last. I enjoyed his writing style and how he developed his characters. This book was full of suspense. The plot though fast moving and enjoyable was a bit far fetched. This book was never dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    First time Coben Reader

    I enjoyed this book..while at times, seeming far-fetched, it kept me reading and wanting to know what was coming next. Will definitely read some of his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Great Suspense!

    I thought this book was great! It's the first time I've read Coben's writing, and it won't be my last! It starts out as kind of slow at the first couple chapters, but if you are in the mood for a good suspense, then this is a good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Loved it!!

    His best yet! A must read, action-packed, page-turner, that will keep you up at night! Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Great Read

    Tears came to my eyes when I read that last chapter. It was a great ending of another great book by Harlan Coben.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2