Customer Reviews for

The Innocent

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Innocent

What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping

Too Much Too Many characters, too many twists, too much jumping from one setting to another and too contrived. If I were a first-time Coben reader I'd pass on his future books. As a diehard Coben fan, I'll be looking for something better next time out.

posted by BluJay on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    The Innocent

    What a great book! The plot twists and turns with mystery and surprises! I was up all night reading this!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Excellent

    Coben always makes a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book! Just like all his others! He's never disappointing.

    Great book! Just like all his others! He's never disappointing. Fast and easy read, but also hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good

    First book of his I've read. Now looking for a 4th!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    as always another great read by Harlan Coben. One of my favorite authors!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    One of the best books I've read in years

    Great Beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I love this writer.

    hotch66

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    great read...could not put it down

    I really found the plot and the sub-plots so interesting aand intriguing.
    Great writer....I am now on his second Myron Bolitar book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A compelling book

    Mr. Coben created characters with depth and interest. The deep reverence of his characters for a "normal life" is refreshing, and heartening. Through a series of twists and turns, the characters come back to the real deal - their love and a house in the suburbs. I loved the excitement, the unravelling of a multi-level plot, and the ending which left me with a smile on my face. This was my first Harlan Coben book; it won't be my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Yet Another Page Turner From Coben

    Harlan Coben never lets me down. Everything I've read from this author so far has really kept me guessing and turning those pages. That is the sign of a truly great writer of fiction. I've read some not so favourable reviews of Harlan Coben novels, some stating that his books are too unbelievable and contrived. But that's the nature of the genre and fiction in general. 'Fiction' means 'not real'. It also equates to stories being larger than life and rather neatly panned out. If they were too like real life, many stories would probably be rather dull and boring. Fiction books are like movies. They are the same thing, only in written form rather than visuals and sound. It's all about entertainment and Harlan Coben delivers this, without fail, every single time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Lots of twists and turns - plenty of intrigue!

    The book reviews were right about this one -it truly is one of Harlan Coben's best books. The characters are honest yet flawed - very human. The plot twists and turns yet isn't painfully difficult to follow. I didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2006

    Couldn't put it down

    I just stumbled accross this book and am I glad I did. I LOVED it! And look forward to reading something else from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Absolutely Great

    Harlan Coben has become one of my very favorite authors. This story about an 'ex-con' kept me riveted. Yes, he does stretch things a bit, but this is fiction. Excellent fiction, written by a master of suspense, who, nevertheless, creates very human people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Harlan does it again!

    I have loved every Harlan Coben book and this is no exception. He is my favorite author and he never disappoints me. This book kept me guessing and kept me reading. It was hard to put down and left me wishing I had another Harlan Coben book to read, but wait, I do! Promise Me just arrived in the mail and I can't wait to start it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    This is another Good One from Coben

    I got to like Coben's novels since the first time I read Tell No One a while back. This book The Innocent is just as good. He developed each charactor in the story so well. He put me under the skin of Matt, a good man, the paralegal who tried to start a new life with his family after four years in jail. Unfortunately, that dark shadow of his life put him back into a link of murder again. Coben is very good at hiding mystery in every corner of the plots. I love this book. Just like many many books of his, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Added to My List

    I have been a Robert Parker and James Patterson fan for hundreds of years. Then along came Lehane. And now it's Coben. I rate him with my favorite authors because of writing style and development of the plot. I could not put this book down and have already started to pass it around among friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    BRILLIANT

    I absolutely loved this book. It keeps the attention and although there are many coincidences and close escapes from death this is what makes it good reading. Remember: It is fiction and therefore doesn't need to be all realistic and real-life. If that's what you are looking for then look elsewhere. It's a real page-turner that kept me reading from front to back until i finished it. As for the title - I am still trying to figure out who 'The Innocent' was ...... there were plenty that could be read into it...maybe the main character, maybe his wife, maybe his victim, maybe his wife's best friend.... They all were innocents who had seen the tough side of life. It's my first Coban book and I will definitely be reading others. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Best Coben book I've read yet!

    I have read almost all of Harlan Coben's novels, beginning with his Myron Bolitar series. I enjoyed them, and the several stand-alone mysteries since then, but this book had me stunned all the way through. Not only was the writing style far better than for most mystery/thrillers, the characters were fully fleshed out as well. It truly is a page turner, but one with real writing quality. It's rare when an author really gets BETTER after a lot of novels, but this is the delightful exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Loved it!!!

    This was the first book I read by this author and definately will not be my last! I could not put it down! It had me guessing until the end! I absolutely loved it and would recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    loved it!!

    I was surprised to see what others said about this book. This was the first time reading this author, and I was intrigued. I love this genre, and I found this author making me turn the page to find out what was next for the main character. If there is someone on the fence about this book based on the tepid reviews, I urge them to read it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3