Customer Reviews for

Innocent

Average Rating 3.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great Book and QUIT COMPLAINING ABOUT PRICES!

Really a great read.

I am sick and tired of people using the reviews for complaining about price. If you don't want to pay the price of the book then please go away. This is for reviews. Please B&N don't show them or figure them in the rating of the books.

See...
Really a great read.

I am sick and tired of people using the reviews for complaining about price. If you don't want to pay the price of the book then please go away. This is for reviews. Please B&N don't show them or figure them in the rating of the books.

Seems some of the same people complaining about the price of this book do the same on the same day on multiple books. Enough of the complaining.

TO VERY ANGRY---It's called writing or emailing B&N about your complaint. This place is for BOOK REVIEWS.

posted by want2know on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

VERY ANGRY

I looked for another avenue to express my discontent but could not find one anywhere on the B&N website. When I purchased my Nook it was my understanding that almost all books would be $9.99 or less. I can buy this hardback book for less than $1.00 more elsewhere. Cha...
I looked for another avenue to express my discontent but could not find one anywhere on the B&N website. When I purchased my Nook it was my understanding that almost all books would be $9.99 or less. I can buy this hardback book for less than $1.00 more elsewhere. Charging $14.99 for many of the new releases is unscrupulous in my opinion. I feel like I have been duped and if I could go back, I would never buy the Nook.

It should be no different than downloading audible books; they are much cheaper than purchasing the audible books in a store.

Badly done Barnes & Noble!

posted by Rose58 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Great Book and QUIT COMPLAINING ABOUT PRICES!

    Really a great read.

    I am sick and tired of people using the reviews for complaining about price. If you don't want to pay the price of the book then please go away. This is for reviews. Please B&N don't show them or figure them in the rating of the books.

    Seems some of the same people complaining about the price of this book do the same on the same day on multiple books. Enough of the complaining.

    TO VERY ANGRY---It's called writing or emailing B&N about your complaint. This place is for BOOK REVIEWS.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Worthy Sequel - Movie Next ?

    Scott Turow's novel 'Innocent' (2010) is the sequel to his 1987 novel 'Presumed Innocent.' In 'Innocent' (2010) Scott Turow still has the craft and high art of being the very best in creating a novel that is deeply layered and nuanced with the human complexities of intelligence, emotion, love, revenge, ambition, and power. Turow has the ability to paint a literary masterpiece of the theatre of the mind and the courtroom. The formatting of a timeline (by Turow - in the novel) of an alleged crime (murder) and review of context between the past and the 'present' adds to the novel's strength and drama. The theme of relentless pursuit, and the dance between prosecution (Tommy Molto) and defense (Rusty Sabich) is akin to Melville's 'Moby Dick' such that it is a tangled web we weave - with one another - in our lives. In Turow's novel, the 'law' can exonerate - but the 'truth' can be as deep and unfathomable as the ocean. Turow writes for the reader and not for Hollywood (but I can see the film being developed already - Harrison Ford are you ready?)

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    VERY ANGRY

    I looked for another avenue to express my discontent but could not find one anywhere on the B&N website. When I purchased my Nook it was my understanding that almost all books would be $9.99 or less. I can buy this hardback book for less than $1.00 more elsewhere. Charging $14.99 for many of the new releases is unscrupulous in my opinion. I feel like I have been duped and if I could go back, I would never buy the Nook.

    It should be no different than downloading audible books; they are much cheaper than purchasing the audible books in a store.

    Badly done Barnes & Noble!

    17 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    "Innocent" by Scott Turow

    This story is a continuation of Turow's long ago "Presumed Innocent." While well-written, as are all of Turow's novels, it is bit confusing as it jumps back and forth through time. It also assumes that the reader will remember the original story.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book makes you pay attention and think

    Scott Turow is one author on my must buy list, so I was very much looking forward to this book. Unlike many other authors, Turow isn't a book mill (e.g., James Patterson), so it's a pleasure to have a new book to read. This was not a disappointment.

    I like the style of presenting the story from the perspective of the different characters. There were a number of instances where I saw things differently through the eyes of the various storytellers and just when I thought I had the conclusion nailed, a new twist would appear. This book made me want to go back and re-read Presumed Innocent which I read so many years ago. It also makes you think what would you do for love and how often have you stayed in an unhappy relationship thinking it was for the best? Thanks Mr. Turow!

    And I agree with other reviewers. Quit using this opportunity to whine about the cost of the book. If you don't like paying for a book regardless of format, there's always the libary.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't get through this one...

    I read Presumed Innocent by Turow many years ago and loved it and so was anxious to read this one. I read the sample on my Nook which intrigued me and so I went ahead and bought it even though it was more than I like to pay for an e-book. This is one of the mostly loosely written, disjointed books I have ever tried to read. Each relatively short chapter is told by one of the main characters and jumps from the years 2007 and 2008 alternately. I had a hard time of keeping track of where we were. It's also just boring and slow, painfully slow moving. I got a little over 100 pages into it thinking I had to finish it but I don't think that's going to happen - I'll probably do what many of the reviewers did and just jump to the final chapter to see how it ended. You would have to be devoted to Scott Turow's works to get through this one. I've already been on the search for something else to read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Scott Turow Returns with "Innocent"

    Scott Turow's "Innocent" is masterful storytelling, a fitting follow up to his blockbuster "Presumed Innocent."

    Thane Rosenbaum's terrific review on Huffington Post persuaded me to read the book:

    "People consume the law as a cultural experience
    all the time and throughout the ages. Some of the
    great works of literature, from Sophocles to
    Shakespeare, Dickens to Dostoevsky, and Kafka
    to Camus, have inserted the law as the centerpiece
    of stories that often end in misery. After all,
    even the great Atticus Finch didn't prevail in his
    epic courtroom star turn. ...

    "Turow arguably not only ignited a cultural movement,
    he also invented the literary legal thriller--faithful
    in describing the inner workings of the legal system
    and honest in depicting lawyers as flawed human beings.
    Turow turned a spellbinding, page-turner into a
    work of art.

    "Many books followed his debut as a novelist, but
    the stunning conclusion of 'Presumed Innocent'
    invited a sequel, and Turow has now delivered
    just that with 'Innocent,' a timely, pitch-perfect
    updating of the lives of the characters we came
    to both loathe and love."

    Read the full review at http://www.huffingtonpost.com/thane-rosenbaum/scott-turow-returns-with_b_558563.html.

    And, of course, read "Innocent" by Scott Turow!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A GREAT read; some terrific plot twists

    I enjoyed this book from start to finish and found the characters believable, the plot compelling and was delighted as I looked forward to finding time to read it which didn't take me long. I find that sometimes legal thrillers are either fun but not accurate or accurate but not fun; this was both. (I am a lawyer, and do try to overlook small things that don't work in the real legal world, but this book held up to scrutiny as well as having some great unexpected plot twists).

    Truly well done. I have only one question? Why did we have to wait so long for another of Mr. Turow's books? I look forward to his next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Sequel

    Before John Grisham there was Scott Turow. Presumed Innocent was a pure legal thriller and I just started it sequel. To go off topic please stop complaing about the Nook because it has no place in the reviews.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Great sequel

    I read Presumed Innocent in the 80's when it was published. Excellent book! Kept it all these years. When this sequel came out went back and reread Presumed Innocent, good move, then Innocent. Loved it, could not stop reading, great sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    "Innocent"- review by Patti Phillips

    When a bestselling author returns to a book he wrote twenty years ago ("Presumed Innocent") and writes a sequel to it ("Innocent"), we wonder whether he might just have run out of new ideas. In Scott Turow's case, that wondering would be dead wrong. What Turow has done is lift the art of the sequel to new heights.

    Rusty Sabich, now a sitting appellate court chief judge, has been accused of murdering a second woman in his life and Tommy Molto, prosecuting attorney, is out to get him again, this time with a bigger grudge and bigger stakes.

    Both men are at the top of their careers and neither wants to lose the case, because the loser's life achievements would be forgotten in the media bloodbath that follows. But, Molto knows in his heart that Sabich was guilty the first time and got away with it. Sabich has secrets to hide and Sandy Stern is back as Rusty's lawyer, trying to keep his client from tossing away everything.

    Nat, Rusty's son, plays a pivotal role in this courtroom drama - no plot spoiler here, but it's a good one! Can a family ever recover from the fallout of a criminal case? Do the rifts caused by affairs ever heal? Do the children caught in the middle ever forget? Are people doomed to hold onto their flaws throughout life?

    As I lay awake through the night reading "Innocent," I was gripped with the questions: Did Sabich do it this time or didn't he? And.my mind began to doubt whether he really did do it in "Presumed Innocent" after all.

    Enough information is given about the case in "Presumed Innocent" to inform the reader, so this book can be a stand alone, but don't let it be. The first book was a genre breaker and a great read as well. If you can't find "Presumed Innocent" on the shelves anywhere, pick up a DVD of the Harrison Ford movie of the same name to catch the dynamics that drove the old rivalry between the major players.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Be patient reading this and you won't be disappointed.

    Although this is the sequel to Presumed Innocent, it is not necessary to have read that one first in order to enjoy Innocent. The characters are reintroduced and fully explored.
    A major issue with the book is that it took me about 185 pages to get drawn into it completely, but after that, it grabbed me tight and did not let go. There were still more than 200 pages to go, so don't give up if that happens to you.
    Morality, knowing right from wrong, the ability to resist temptation and common sense judgment are qualities often absent from the personalities of the main characters. They apparently have a different definition depending on which side of the argument or question they are standing.
    The courtroom trial will truly hold your interest and illustrate how easy it would be, or perhaps is, to convict someone of anything, even murder, using only circumstantial evidence even when they are really not guilty as charged. Rather than being presumed innocent, in our system, the presumption really seems to overwhelmingly indicate that the defendant is guilty once the arrest has been made. The attorneys seem more interested in winning their case, using any means, sleight of hand, pretense, innuendo, accidentally exposing a piece of unallowable evidence, even evidence tampering, rather than seeing justice served. You will not guess the ending until it is revealed in the final pages of the novel.
    If the book had held my interest from the start, I would have given it 4, not 3 stars, because overall, if one can read patiently until drawn into the plot, I highly recommend this book. The twists and turns make it hard to put down once you pass that point of no return.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointing

    This is one of the most boring books I have read a a long time. Having enjoyed Presumed Innocent many years ago, I was looking forward to this book. Some was a rehash between Rusty and Tommy but that was about it.
    Page after page of Rusty being questioned by Tommy was a little too much for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Innocent is GREAT!

    I was drawn into Innocent as soon as I read the first few words. As soon as I saw Scott Turow on The Bill Maher Show, I went out the next day and bought "Innocent". Like so many others, I have been waiting for the sequel to come out. After a few chapters, I went back and watched "Presumed Innocent", one of my favorite movies. I have just started Innocent, on Chapter 15, and cannot wait to get back to it.

    Scott Turow is an amazing writer! I am going to read Burden of Proof as soon as I have finished Innocent. So sad "Judge L.L. Litel" Paul Winfield and "Sandy Stern" Raul Julia are no longer with us. Reading the book and then watching the movie again, made me a little sad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Innocent

    Rusty Sabich is back and is again arrested for murder; this time for his wife. Twenty years has passed and since Presumed Innocent and Tommy Molto still has it out for Rusty and does not want to see him slip though his fingers once again. I thought Innocent is a well-written courtroom drama that had me thinking what really happened and what will be revealed. Although, I surmised some of it, I was taken aback by the reasons. This new one from Scott Turow kept me enthralled until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Glad to see Rusty back in action

    I thoroughly enjoyed the return of Rusty Sabich and his travails. Turow is a deft writer, and he keeps the thrills coming.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Too Much Money!

    The reason I bought a Nook was so that I didn't have to spend an enormous amount of money on paperbacks or hardbacks - This e-book costs $14.99 and the paperback is $16.99? This is really wrong!

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    amazing book

    amazing book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Twenty years after he stood trial for the murder of his lover, C

    Twenty years after he stood trial for the murder of his lover, Carolyn Polhemus, Rusty Sabich, chief judge of the court of appeal and, at age 60, a candidate for the state Supreme Court, is again suspected of murder.

    As Innocent opens, Rusty is devastated by the sudden death of his wife, Barbara, who appears to have died of a heart attack. Upon waking to find his wife dead next to him, Sabich spends the next 23 hours sitting with her, cleaning the bedroom and making her presentable before calling their son, Nat. He doesn’t call the paramedics or the police.

    His unusual behavior draws the attention of the Prosecutor’s office which is now being run by Tommy Molto, who was the prosecutor in Sabich’s earlier trial and continues to believe in Sabich’s guilt for that crime.

    Meanwhile, months after Barbara dies, Molto and Brand find clues that make them suspect that Barbara’s death was not a natural one after all. The clues point to Rusty as the one who might have given her an overdose of medication.

    Innocent is very well set up and continues perfectly from Presumed Innocent. Turow’s descriptions were very captivating. You could picture everyone and everything that he wrote about.

    I found the first half or so of this book difficult to follow as each chapter went back and forth in time. At about the half way point, this stopped, and I enjoyed the story immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Innocent Is A Top-Notch Sequel To Turow's Genre-Defining Courtroom Drama, Presumed Innocent!

    Twenty yeas after Rusty Sabich and Tommy Molto went head-to-head in the shattering murder trial of Presumed Innocent, they find themselves pitted against each other once again in a riveting psychological match. When Sabich, now sixty years old and the chief judge of an appellate court, finds his wife dead under mysterious circumstances, Molto accuses him of murder for the second time, setting into motion a trial that is taut and explosive. What makes Innocent so good is not just the slow-building tension that culminates in a courtoom drama that is filled with twists and turns; its superiority relative to most legal genre thrillers stems from Turow's being an excellent novelist, irrespective of genre, with a gift for characterization, prose, dialogue and depth of psychological insight. Overall, my opinion of Innocent is the same as an earlier reviewer who said that if you've never read Presumed Innocent you'll think Innocent is a one of the smartest, twistiest, involving thrillers you've ever read; and if you have read Presumed Innocent, you'll be amzzed that Scott Turow was able to match, if not surpass, himself after all these years. If you're in the mood for a legal thriller that will keep your eyes glued to the page for its slow-building tension, intelligent plotting and excellent character development, then Innocent is a book I think you'll enjoy very, very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17