Customer Reviews for

Innocent

Average Rating 3.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great Book and QUIT COMPLAINING ABOUT PRICES!

Really a great read.

I am sick and tired of people using the reviews for complaining about price. If you don't want to pay the price of the book then please go away. This is for reviews. Please B&N don't show them or figure them in the rating of the books.

See...
Really a great read.

I am sick and tired of people using the reviews for complaining about price. If you don't want to pay the price of the book then please go away. This is for reviews. Please B&N don't show them or figure them in the rating of the books.

Seems some of the same people complaining about the price of this book do the same on the same day on multiple books. Enough of the complaining.

TO VERY ANGRY---It's called writing or emailing B&N about your complaint. This place is for BOOK REVIEWS.

posted by want2know on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

VERY ANGRY

I looked for another avenue to express my discontent but could not find one anywhere on the B&N website. When I purchased my Nook it was my understanding that almost all books would be $9.99 or less. I can buy this hardback book for less than $1.00 more elsewhere. Cha...
I looked for another avenue to express my discontent but could not find one anywhere on the B&N website. When I purchased my Nook it was my understanding that almost all books would be $9.99 or less. I can buy this hardback book for less than $1.00 more elsewhere. Charging $14.99 for many of the new releases is unscrupulous in my opinion. I feel like I have been duped and if I could go back, I would never buy the Nook.

It should be no different than downloading audible books; they are much cheaper than purchasing the audible books in a store.

Badly done Barnes & Noble!

posted by Rose58 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    "Innocent" by Scott Turow

    This story is a continuation of Turow's long ago "Presumed Innocent." While well-written, as are all of Turow's novels, it is bit confusing as it jumps back and forth through time. It also assumes that the reader will remember the original story.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Sequel

    Before John Grisham there was Scott Turow. Presumed Innocent was a pure legal thriller and I just started it sequel. To go off topic please stop complaing about the Nook because it has no place in the reviews.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Be patient reading this and you won't be disappointed.

    Although this is the sequel to Presumed Innocent, it is not necessary to have read that one first in order to enjoy Innocent. The characters are reintroduced and fully explored.
    A major issue with the book is that it took me about 185 pages to get drawn into it completely, but after that, it grabbed me tight and did not let go. There were still more than 200 pages to go, so don't give up if that happens to you.
    Morality, knowing right from wrong, the ability to resist temptation and common sense judgment are qualities often absent from the personalities of the main characters. They apparently have a different definition depending on which side of the argument or question they are standing.
    The courtroom trial will truly hold your interest and illustrate how easy it would be, or perhaps is, to convict someone of anything, even murder, using only circumstantial evidence even when they are really not guilty as charged. Rather than being presumed innocent, in our system, the presumption really seems to overwhelmingly indicate that the defendant is guilty once the arrest has been made. The attorneys seem more interested in winning their case, using any means, sleight of hand, pretense, innuendo, accidentally exposing a piece of unallowable evidence, even evidence tampering, rather than seeing justice served. You will not guess the ending until it is revealed in the final pages of the novel.
    If the book had held my interest from the start, I would have given it 4, not 3 stars, because overall, if one can read patiently until drawn into the plot, I highly recommend this book. The twists and turns make it hard to put down once you pass that point of no return.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    amazing book

    amazing book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Twenty years after he stood trial for the murder of his lover, C

    Twenty years after he stood trial for the murder of his lover, Carolyn Polhemus, Rusty Sabich, chief judge of the court of appeal and, at age 60, a candidate for the state Supreme Court, is again suspected of murder.

    As Innocent opens, Rusty is devastated by the sudden death of his wife, Barbara, who appears to have died of a heart attack. Upon waking to find his wife dead next to him, Sabich spends the next 23 hours sitting with her, cleaning the bedroom and making her presentable before calling their son, Nat. He doesn’t call the paramedics or the police.

    His unusual behavior draws the attention of the Prosecutor’s office which is now being run by Tommy Molto, who was the prosecutor in Sabich’s earlier trial and continues to believe in Sabich’s guilt for that crime.

    Meanwhile, months after Barbara dies, Molto and Brand find clues that make them suspect that Barbara’s death was not a natural one after all. The clues point to Rusty as the one who might have given her an overdose of medication.

    Innocent is very well set up and continues perfectly from Presumed Innocent. Turow’s descriptions were very captivating. You could picture everyone and everything that he wrote about.

    I found the first half or so of this book difficult to follow as each chapter went back and forth in time. At about the half way point, this stopped, and I enjoyed the story immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    a little disappointed

    I loved Presumed Innocent, so I was very excited to read this book. I did read the reviews and was not bothered by the time shifts like many others, but the ending was disappointing. The book is well written; it takes many twists and turns that keep you guessing; so when the end came I was left saying "Is that it???" What a let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    A good read

    A bit long but overall a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Return to Kindle County

    The rule of murder mysteries is that the author must establish a small set of characters and successfully carry a story with those characters so that each could plausibly have committed the crime. There are combinations that mix numbers from the set to establish certain rules of the fiction, or of the relationships between characters, and then, at the end, the set reveals its false bottom -- a new variable that meets all the definitions to have been included in the first place -- and out comes the legitimate killer. It's a math problem, when put to paper. This is how Turow's novels work anyway, and Innocent is a well done effort exactly in that vein: the reader is kept guessing, and, joyfully, never quite guesses right. This novel also benefits from its two strong predecessors -- Presumed Innocent and, in a better book with as much Sandy Stern as you could hope for, The Burden of Proof -- as well as the now iconic 1990 film with Harrison Ford, which frees Turow to play with the now-adult Nate and law clerk Anna Vostic as half-leads. All in all, it's an enjoyable ride -- the slow start in defining the set hits an excellent pace in the courtroom, and the book catches us up with a cast we've sorely missed. I could read another two or three novels set in Rusty's world, but I'm not sure we'll get that chance. (Original review posted at Goodreads.)

    (B&N really needs to adjust its review restrictions. The online form would not let me use the main character's last name because when you drop two letters, in can seem an offense term. Ridiculous censoring coming from a reputable bookstore. Grow up, B&N.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4