BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Innocent Blood: The Order of the Sanguines Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be t

Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be the most engrossing, thrilling, fast paced book I have read this year. It is action packed and so, so interesting. The book is the second part in a series titled The Order of the Sanguines, but offers enough...
Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be the most engrossing, thrilling, fast paced book I have read this year. It is action packed and so, so interesting. The book is the second part in a series titled The Order of the Sanguines, but offers enough background info, detailing on the events of Book #1 (The Blood Gospel), to work as a standalone. It is like a paranormal version of a Dan Brown novel, with vampires, angels and prophecies.
People judge vampire fiction far too quickly these days. This book is neither young adult, nor paranormal romance nor anything that would make you roll your eyes and go all skeptic. In a word, Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell is awesome, so don't dismiss it as just-another-vampire-related-book.

What I liked: The standouts were: the uniquely sinister take on vampires; the characters picked out of history and mythology, I specially liked the Blood Countess, Elizabeth Bathory; the character development despite the swift pace; the adventure spanning over the world and the ages; the attention to detail. The story was horrific, thrilling, tragic and (here's a rarity in this genre) quite insightful. And the touch of science fiction, with those ingenious mechanical insects capable of fatally poisoning vampires: wow. The book has left me in complete awe. That it is part of a series and there's more to come is the icing on the cake.

What I didn't like: Nothing. The book was as close to perfect as can be! I give it a four star rating, because, not having read the first book, it took me a while to get into context. Some terms were unfamiliar; like the strigoi - the vampires, the Sanguines - the reformed (sort of) vampires priests or the blasphemare - these animals turned into nightmarishly strong monsters after being infected by the blood of the strigoi. I also had to read up on a lot of the Christian elements and the Biblical references, though they were pretty basic and the extra reading was just for me. I don't know if the themes could be construed as offensive by religious readers, but they were very intriguing and as far as I'm concerned, amazingly unique...  What I'm trying to say is, READ IT. 

posted by tabularasa92 on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Role players and plot spoilers

Two reviews and neither one is worth anything. One is kuds playing around and the other is a rude plot spoiler revealing the entire book. Come on bn, do something, please with these kuds and rude plot spoilers?

posted by 8888649 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    I finished your latest book on my cruise innocent blood it was g

    I finished your latest book on my cruise innocent blood it was great it was easy to get into hard to put down and I did not figure it out until you chose to reveal it to me and it was awesome also seemed some what plauseable in some aspects I can not wait for your next book it was way better then blood gospel
    your fan Kelsey Grace

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Fun Read

    This is a fun and exciting read. Recommend that you read the 1st in the series prior to this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Rollins is like potato chips!

    You can't possible read just one! He becomes an obsession, read them all! Go in order though, that makes all the difference! He never fails to deliver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I love James Rollins and really enjoy this series. The characters are interesting and I love how he mixes religion, history and current issues into a suspenseful thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Really good reading

    I am not really into vampires, but I really enjoyed this book. It is fast pace and tells a good story. I enjoyed both books in the series and looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    GRIPPING

    I had a hard time putting it down! Very enjoyable reading and I can't wait for a follow up to this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    annonymous

    was different and very good. could not stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Innocent Blood (The Order of the Sanguines Series) by James Roll

    Innocent Blood (The Order of the Sanguines Series) by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell—4 stars

    In this second book of “The Order of the Sanguines,” James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell again join together to take the reader into a spellbinding world of intrigue. “Innocent Blood” continues the tale begun by “The Blood Gospel,” picking up two months later with the same characters and also a few new ones. Dr. Erin Granger again finds herself caught up in the shadowy world of the Sanguinists as she and Sergeant Jordan Stone are called back to fulfill ancient prophesy in an attempt to prevent the end of the world. Facing inimitable foes and battles, shocking alliances and betrayals pave the way forward as they seek their destiny and that of mankind itself.

    As a sequel, “Innocent Blood” offers enough summary woven into the continuing story to recap the main points from “The Blood Gospel.” Steady action makes this an exciting read, although the concepts and background often requires deep thought and can be quite murky, particularly for anyone not familiar with Rollins’ historically and scientifically profound—and at times irreverent—writing style. The characters established in the first book become more developed in this story, and some are not as they appeared. History, religion, and fantasy blend freely in these pages, which are also infused with some seductive passion and heartbreak. While there is a natural—or perhaps preternatural—conclusion, the stage is also set for the next book, leaving the reader with remaining questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great book

    Perfect mix of history, mystery, thriller and action. If you liked James Rollins's other books you'll enjoy this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommend--great addition to the series!

    Excellent read! Enjoyable addition to the Sanguine series. If you read the first, be sure to read the second book in the series. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great as always

    Plenty of suspence. Lots of sacrifice and heros. Very indepth. Keeps you spell bound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Can't get enough of his books

    Another fantastic book by an auhtor who has become one of my favorites. He creates characters that pull you into the story and often times surprise you. The story deftly combines myth, religion and reality in a utterly fascinating way. Once I started reading it, I just couldn't put it down. While we don't have all the familiar members of Sigma in this story, I found myself thoroughly enjoying the characters in this one. A brilliant continuation of the story started in The Blood Gospel. I can't wait for the conclusion of this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Fan!

    Okay, i am a huge fan ofthe blood gosple ans i am justa luttle in on myreading of new innicent blood book. All i can say at the moment is.... please have the next book ready soon.lol i love all of james rollins books but i like this series the most! Further input once igetfurther into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3