Customer Reviews for

Innocent Blood (Order of the Sanguines Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be t

Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be the most engrossing, thrilling, fast paced book I have read this year. It is action packed and so, so interesting. The book is the second part in a series titled The Order of the Sanguines, but offers enough...
Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell has to be the most engrossing, thrilling, fast paced book I have read this year. It is action packed and so, so interesting. The book is the second part in a series titled The Order of the Sanguines, but offers enough background info, detailing on the events of Book #1 (The Blood Gospel), to work as a standalone. It is like a paranormal version of a Dan Brown novel, with vampires, angels and prophecies.
People judge vampire fiction far too quickly these days. This book is neither young adult, nor paranormal romance nor anything that would make you roll your eyes and go all skeptic. In a word, Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell is awesome, so don't dismiss it as just-another-vampire-related-book.

What I liked: The standouts were: the uniquely sinister take on vampires; the characters picked out of history and mythology, I specially liked the Blood Countess, Elizabeth Bathory; the character development despite the swift pace; the adventure spanning over the world and the ages; the attention to detail. The story was horrific, thrilling, tragic and (here's a rarity in this genre) quite insightful. And the touch of science fiction, with those ingenious mechanical insects capable of fatally poisoning vampires: wow. The book has left me in complete awe. That it is part of a series and there's more to come is the icing on the cake.

What I didn't like: Nothing. The book was as close to perfect as can be! I give it a four star rating, because, not having read the first book, it took me a while to get into context. Some terms were unfamiliar; like the strigoi - the vampires, the Sanguines - the reformed (sort of) vampires priests or the blasphemare - these animals turned into nightmarishly strong monsters after being infected by the blood of the strigoi. I also had to read up on a lot of the Christian elements and the Biblical references, though they were pretty basic and the extra reading was just for me. I don't know if the themes could be construed as offensive by religious readers, but they were very intriguing and as far as I'm concerned, amazingly unique...  What I'm trying to say is, READ IT. 

posted by tabularasa92 on December 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Role players and plot spoilers

Two reviews and neither one is worth anything. One is kuds playing around and the other is a rude plot spoiler revealing the entire book. Come on bn, do something, please with these kuds and rude plot spoilers?

posted by 8888649 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great book!

    I don' t normally post reviews, and that's probably going to be pretty obvious. This is a great novel, and the only thing that was bad about it was that it ended. I enjoyed this even more than the first book in the series, and I'm looking forward to the next novel!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful read. Great series.

    James and Rebecca have done it again. A match made in Heaven or Hell, depending on which side your on. Weaving science, myth, lore and religion into one.Fast pace, edge of your seat reading. The Order of the Sanguines series just keeps getting better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    What an awesome 2nd novel to a new series.  Normally, I find the

    What an awesome 2nd novel to a new series.  Normally, I find the mystery & intrigue, life of the novel as I say, highly lack luster in comparison to the first in the series.  Yet, I found this tome surpassing the first in mystery & blowing it out of the park in intrigue.  So much so, it left me clamoring at the end for the next.




    My only disappointment? 




    It isn't out yet....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great second book

    Riviting What a great follow up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended-Couldn't put the book down!!

    If you are a fan of James Rollins, you know that his books are exciting, fast paced & full of intrigue. As I have never read any of Rebecca Cantrell's books, I was not sure how their collaboration effort would turn out. I have read several collaborations of other authors that were very disappointing, However, because of my familiarity of James Rollins’ books, (I immensely enjoy reading his books, I am clearly a die-hard “Sigma Force” fan & of his other books) I decided to take a chance on it. Wow, I am sure glad that I did! Yes, it is quite a departure from James Rollins' style of writing, but that is where the collaboration comes into play. First, it is a fiction & it entertains, with its blend of fantasy, science, history, theology and a lot of mystery & suspense. While it is not a reality base storyline, it is a mix of the paranormal with the everyday and as such, the characters are mixture of immortals (vampires, angels, and such) humans & corrupted animals with a storyline that moves rather swiftly. I am not into the romancing “harlequin books style” and can see where James Rollin & Rebecca Cantrell differ, my take on it, it was a little too heavy handed between the characters for me, and after a while, it did become tiresome! How can all of this passion & pent-up desire develop when all you are thinking about is how to survive to fight another day? (I mean, who is really thinking of “tear off your clothes & let’s get it on” during a live or die situation.) While some readers expressed offense by some of the religious imagery & others did not like this type of fiction, I do not agree with their comments. The book is a work of fiction and meant to entertain, and it should be judged by that value system. In my opinion, a personal bias of particular subject content singularly does not make an objective critic of the book’s entertainment value. I enjoyed this book so much that I read it all into the wee hours of one day. I do believe that this book & the collaboration between the two authors hit high on the entertainment scale much as “The Blood Gospel” was a great start for a new series. I thoroughly enjoyed reading “The Blood Gospel” so much, that afterwards, I read their two short novels “City of Scream “& “Blood Brothers” and could not wait for this book to come out. I am now looking forward for their next book in “The Order of the Sanguines Series”. I have only one question, when will the next book come out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Fabulous

    #2 in the series. I love this series. Its extremely good! Cant wait to greedily lap up the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    I loved this novel.  It is packed with excitement, battles, sad

    I loved this novel.  It is packed with excitement, battles, sad and sometimes sweet relationships between the
     characters.  It was particularly interesting that the vampires struggled with their immortality, hating it at times.
    The book carries you back through their lives both with love and regrets.   The Sanquinists are constantly 
    tempted driven uncontrollably by a thirst for blood but instead have vowed to follow an order of Christ and drank
     wine in its place.
    The savage vampires called, strigoi, were evil and violent and forever on the hunt to kill.  The relationships
     between the characters of  a commradery, devotion, hate and love, evil and good, betrayal keeps you reading
    page after page. I especially liked bring Judas the Betrayer of Christ from the Bible into this story.  Powerful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Danny

    I actually need to get some sleep. I have a long day tomorrow. Goodnight Jade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2015

    Fang

    Alright. G'night, Jonathan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Loved it

    Very good to me mc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Rollins at his best!! Both Blood Gospel and Innocent Blood are great reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Skited

    Cant wait to read it:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I found the book interesting because it deal with interesting facts, was fast paced, not a boring moment. Great Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    im just champing at the bit to go looking for that damned chalic

    im just champing at the bit to go looking for that damned chalice! cant wait. leopole, erin and Jordan, and of course, our favorite sanguine too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    A diamond. This is a piece of cake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Deimos

    Under pressure is the only way I work, and by myself i the only way I'm hurt. What am I?<p>
    Figure this out and you're almost finished. &Delta

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Love it. To the critics claiming it differs from Rollins usual w

    Love it. To the critics claiming it differs from Rollins usual work, its supposed to. That's what collaboration is. He's not abandoning sigma.  Request. I would lov to see more books featuring Rhun. He is awesome. I can do without Erin and especially  Jordan. Ther was nothing special about him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Rollins is like potato chips!

    You can't possible read just one! He becomes an obsession, read them all! Go in order though, that makes all the difference! He never fails to deliver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I love James Rollins and really enjoy this series. The characters are interesting and I love how he mixes religion, history and current issues into a suspenseful thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Really good reading

    I am not really into vampires, but I really enjoyed this book. It is fast pace and tells a good story. I enjoyed both books in the series and looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2