Customer Reviews for

The Innocent Mage (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

possible all-time favourite

At first, I was discouraged by the thickness of the book. But every time I picked it up, I was intrigued by the simple, raw language that Miller used and the every-day happenings of Asher and Prince Gar. The fantasy of it is indisputable, with extensive but always enter...
At first, I was discouraged by the thickness of the book. But every time I picked it up, I was intrigued by the simple, raw language that Miller used and the every-day happenings of Asher and Prince Gar. The fantasy of it is indisputable, with extensive but always entertaining descriptions of culture, magic and politics (never knew politics could be so interesting!).
My favourite character was definitely Prince Gar. He lived up to my expectations of loyal prince, beloved to his people; he was endearing at times; and once surprised me with the depth of his jealousy towards his sister. But hey, the sister, Princess Fane, is a mean piece of work! But even she is given depth and the reader can understand her insecurities and thus, her actions towards Gar.
I felt like the characters were engaging and I could easily see where Asher, the MC, was coming from; his pride, his dreams and his down-to-earth attitude.
By the time I finished, I was so thankful that it was indeed so long and I couldn't wait to get the next volume, to see how it ended. Some ideas may not be as original as you would expect but they are delivered with such great timing that I feel happy/horrified/angry at and with the characters.
As soon as I finished reading The Innocent Mage, I sat down and read it again. It's always great to find a book you love reading twice and discovering things you missed the first time round.
I would definitely recommend this to young adults and older. The language used, culture and lifestyle descriptions and the politics (never knew politics could be so interesting!) might be a bit hard to understand for a child.
All in all, an amazing book! It manages to impress and inspire me every time!

posted by zanirra on August 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the time or money

I read both books in the series (because I can't leave a series in the middle.) and I had a few major problems with the books. The first is the writing style. I can't point out exactly what I disliked, but there was something about it that made the books difficult for m...
I read both books in the series (because I can't leave a series in the middle.) and I had a few major problems with the books. The first is the writing style. I can't point out exactly what I disliked, but there was something about it that made the books difficult for me to read. The characters were ok, but not very creative and they were hard to relate to. The plot was something relatively new, but nothing groudbreaking.

It seemed as if the author was strongly trying to make a point about the current culture of people, and tried to make it seem like she was disguising it but really she wasn't. The political aspect of the book seemed to be the one that the author spent the most time refining and working on. Had she put as much effort into the rest of the book, it might have actually been something I enjoyed reading.

As a final side note, I very much disliked the ending. It was predictable and just "not good."

Overall, I think this is probably the worst sci fi/fantasy book I've ever read.

posted by 1590561 on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    possible all-time favourite

    At first, I was discouraged by the thickness of the book. But every time I picked it up, I was intrigued by the simple, raw language that Miller used and the every-day happenings of Asher and Prince Gar. The fantasy of it is indisputable, with extensive but always entertaining descriptions of culture, magic and politics (never knew politics could be so interesting!).
    My favourite character was definitely Prince Gar. He lived up to my expectations of loyal prince, beloved to his people; he was endearing at times; and once surprised me with the depth of his jealousy towards his sister. But hey, the sister, Princess Fane, is a mean piece of work! But even she is given depth and the reader can understand her insecurities and thus, her actions towards Gar.
    I felt like the characters were engaging and I could easily see where Asher, the MC, was coming from; his pride, his dreams and his down-to-earth attitude.
    By the time I finished, I was so thankful that it was indeed so long and I couldn't wait to get the next volume, to see how it ended. Some ideas may not be as original as you would expect but they are delivered with such great timing that I feel happy/horrified/angry at and with the characters.
    As soon as I finished reading The Innocent Mage, I sat down and read it again. It's always great to find a book you love reading twice and discovering things you missed the first time round.
    I would definitely recommend this to young adults and older. The language used, culture and lifestyle descriptions and the politics (never knew politics could be so interesting!) might be a bit hard to understand for a child.
    All in all, an amazing book! It manages to impress and inspire me every time!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So

    If you like the fantasy genre than you'll probably enjoy this book, but only if you can force your way through it. The first book basically builds the setting for the story, things dont start to get interesting until mid way through the second book, so be prepared to force feed yourself a whole lot of story to get it going. Also, the main character is portrayed as "redneck" and most of his dialogue is written to portray that particular type of speech and is rather painful to read. Once you get over those minor things though, the story is pretty interesting in its entirety.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Character. Ready for part 2!

    This was a good book. The characters and the fantasy world are well developed. A lot of magic and mystery as well as some political strife makes this an action filled plot with characters you care about. I will definitely read part 2 as the ending is a real cliff-hanger!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "The Innocent Mage started off a little slow, I thought, bu

    "The Innocent Mage started off a little slow, I thought, but it picked up the pace soon enough, and kind of snowballed until it ended in something of a cliffhanger (ha). I had never heard of Miller and had heard nothing about this book, so I wasn't sure what to expect going in - most of the fantasy I've read (not including urban fantasy) have been things like the Chronicles of Narnia, the Lord of the Rings, and some D&D Forgotten Realms novels. This one sounded good, though, and I was not disappointed...




    The last few chapters or so, I kind of breezed through, simply because I just couldn't bring myself to put it down after a certain point. Miller introduces some twists that in a way I was expecting, but the manner in which they unfold was definitely not what I thought was coming. At all. Part of me is extremely anxious to go ahead and pick up the sequel straight away, but I have a system, so I'm making myself wait before I start reading that one. The wait will not be without difficulty, however, because The Innocent Mage ends sort of abruptly, absolutely leaving you wanting, maybe needing, more..."




    (For full review, please visit me at Here Be Bookwyrms on Blogger)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Emberheart to makaidos

    ??? Am I in?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    A fun read

    Well written, engaging, fun to read. I love Karen Miller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    Innocent Mage is an interesting read for anyone who is looking for a good fantasy novel. Asher is thrown into a world of royalty and politics when all he wanted was to make a little money. I like the way this book is written because it tends to present some "real-life" moments that bring you closer to not only Asher, but the other characters as well. To me, this book is my "time to relax" book, there isn't too much climax in it but it still captivates you because you want to know more about what Asher is going through and how he deals with changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2