Customer Reviews for

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

IF YOU HAD KNOWN DEBBIE CARTER

I had known Debbie for many years. Her older sister was and still is my very dear friend. Her mother, Peggy, in my opinion is one strong woman. Peggy lives in fear every day that another daughter may die. Losing a child is one thing, but losing one at the hand of such...
I had known Debbie for many years. Her older sister was and still is my very dear friend. Her mother, Peggy, in my opinion is one strong woman. Peggy lives in fear every day that another daughter may die. Losing a child is one thing, but losing one at the hand of such a hanous mind is just overwhelming! Reading the book and knowing the words were all so true, I felt sometines that I would be sick to my stomach. Anyone thinking this book is boring has no heart! I watched this family go through hell, while our own system put Dennis and Ron through a deliberate hell! These law enforcement people are nothing, in my opinion, nothing but scum, a self-righteous piece of meat! I would recommend that every person now alive should read this book and let it go to heart that it could happen to YOU! Anyone can walk up to a police officer and tell him, 'hey, I saw so-& so do this crime,' and your life would become hell! You are no longer innocent, you are guilty in the eyes of the law and by-god you had better have an OJ Simpson attorney and pictures of where you really were and what you were really doing. The fact that John Grissom wrote this book is beyond outstanding. I give him a great 'Thank You'. All through this trial I kept wondering why there was no mention of the fact that a girl called the funeral home Before Debbie was found to see if she was there????? I remember the time that Leona and I went to visit Debbie where she lays in the cemetary. As we were getting into the car to leave a young girl drives up, goes directly to Debbie's grave. Leona went up to her and ask her if she knew Debbie, the girl replies 'no, not really'....what's up with that? Leona was making plans to fly home from Alaska to surprise Debbie, just imagine the shock when she had to fly home to see Debbie bruised, choked, blue. I could go on but I won't. I just pray that God gives peace of heart to Peggy, Leona,Darla and all her family that live with this every day. One final thought. All though the trial I had a feeling that Dennis and Ron were innocent, just as did Peggy, her mother.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Terrible. Grisham should stick to fiction

This book was terrible. It is written in the third person, like a school essay. I felt like I was reading a book report of something that he had read. There is no active dialog. If this was the first time I was reading Grisham this would have been the last.

posted by ConstantReader10552 on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Terrible. Grisham should stick to fiction

    This book was terrible. It is written in the third person, like a school essay. I felt like I was reading a book report of something that he had read. There is no active dialog. If this was the first time I was reading Grisham this would have been the last.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    He should stick to fiction

    Ron Williamson's problems are not worthy of a book. True, he was a victim of police misconduct but chapter after chapter of his failures in life are not worth reading about. Recovery/failure recovery/failure etc etc. You knew after the 3rd or fouth it would be more of the same. The guy was a loooooser.
    The police misconduct was the most interesting part.And should have been the main subject.
    PS: I liked Grisham when he first wrote but now ???

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Got to page 71... boring !!

    First John grisham book that put me to sleep. Don't bother with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I had to give up...very tedious. I don't know why he wrote this.

    I had to give up...very tedious. I don't know why he wrote this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Cure for insomnia

    I couldn't even get past page 36. This is just horrible. How can someone so talented and gifted with words, create such a flop?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Horrible

    This book was horrible. The first chapter was the only good part then went down hill from there. Don't waste your time or money on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Dull

    Boring, slow, bad plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Garbage

    Pure junk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Boring

    If you enjoy a story that is repeated over and over, you will love this book. I usually enjoy his books but this one was not good at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    very Highly Recommended

    Best Grisham book I've read yet. And I've read alot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Tedious

    I have read all of John Grisham's books. Some are GREAT and some are so so but all worth the read. I rarely don't finish a book. This book was like reading depositions. It was tedious. After over 100 pages I couldn't figure out why I had to finish it - so I didn't. I skipped to the end and read the last part of the book - I didn't feel like I missed a thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    JM

    I read half way through the book and put it down. It was a minute by minute story. It moved way tooooo slow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Read like a report. Boring.

    I was very excited to get ahold of this book because my brother in law is actually from Ada, OK and thought it would be interesting. But I was very disappointed. The books reads like a report or a textbook and was extremely boring. I fell asleep while reading it and finally gave up about 1/3 of the way through. I miss our old John Grisham and his fantastic writing style!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Grisham has just lost it!

    I am a huge John Grisham fan, having read every word of every work he has published. Over the past five years or so, however, as has increased his production to two books per year, and expanded into new genres, the quality of his stories has vastly deteriorated. Starting with The Street Lawyer and up through the Brethren, I noticed his standard lawyer-based thrillers were starting to fall short of his prior great works like A Time to Kill, Pelican Brief and The Partner (my favorite). Once he expanded into non-legal genre, however, things really started to go downhill. Although I liked A Painted House, I didn't feel it was nearly as interesting a read as his thrillers. Since then, none of his efforts, thriller or otherwise, have come close to his prior levels. Which brings us to The Innocent Man. Not only was this book completely dryly written, with recap after recap of the most mundane details of a murder case, but it purposely snuffed out any hope of suspense by revealing the outcome in the captions of the photos which appear early on in the book. Did Grisham wish to deprive his loyal readers of any hope of enjoying this long, drawn out and quite boring story? I don't mean to belittle the subject matter or the significance of the injustice which is brought to life in the book, but this was just REALLY HARD to read. I had to push myself for days to get through the book, when I usually race from chapter to chapter through Grisham stories. In a few short years I've gone from anxiously awaiting everything he publishes to questioning whether I'll want to spend (waste?) the money the next time he comes out with something. I guess this is what happens when a writer evolves from a young and hungry up-and-comer to an ultra-rich literary icon. It's really a shame for the true fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    A very disappointing book

    I have found the last 3-4 Grisham books to be very boring and difficult to get through, but this one was the worst. I kept reading thinking it would get better...it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2006

    Last Grisham Book I Buy

    A bit of advice to John.......go back to the formula that worked so well in the Firm. I swear every book since then has been worse than the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    I tried to like it...

    I LOVE John Grisham...at least the old John Grisham. I anxiously awaited this book and bought it right away. I REALLY wanted to like it, but found it so repetitious and slow that I had to quit midway through. It was a struggle to get that far. Come on, John...give us what we love!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    BORING, REPETITIVE, PEDANTIC.

    I am a Grisham fan but this work is agonizingly dry and boring. The story is a compelling one but would have been better served with a 2-3 hour novella, not the 12 hour treatise that Grisham has given us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    Very skeptical....

    I've always been a huge fan of Grisham's, but after reading the last book, 'The Broker', I'm not certain I can force myself in buying another new novel of his. The except is okay in The Innocent Man, but unless someone gives me the book to read, I'm not running out and buying it. I miss his style from past books - King of Torts, The Summons, The Firm, The Partner....you know what I'm saying...those were all great books and I couldn't put them down. Nope - don't think I'll be buying The Innocent Man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3