BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

Average Rating 4
( 478 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

IF YOU HAD KNOWN DEBBIE CARTER

I had known Debbie for many years. Her older sister was and still is my very dear friend. Her mother, Peggy, in my opinion is one strong woman. Peggy lives in fear every day that another daughter may die. Losing a child is one thing, but losing one at the hand of such...
I had known Debbie for many years. Her older sister was and still is my very dear friend. Her mother, Peggy, in my opinion is one strong woman. Peggy lives in fear every day that another daughter may die. Losing a child is one thing, but losing one at the hand of such a hanous mind is just overwhelming! Reading the book and knowing the words were all so true, I felt sometines that I would be sick to my stomach. Anyone thinking this book is boring has no heart! I watched this family go through hell, while our own system put Dennis and Ron through a deliberate hell! These law enforcement people are nothing, in my opinion, nothing but scum, a self-righteous piece of meat! I would recommend that every person now alive should read this book and let it go to heart that it could happen to YOU! Anyone can walk up to a police officer and tell him, 'hey, I saw so-& so do this crime,' and your life would become hell! You are no longer innocent, you are guilty in the eyes of the law and by-god you had better have an OJ Simpson attorney and pictures of where you really were and what you were really doing. The fact that John Grissom wrote this book is beyond outstanding. I give him a great 'Thank You'. All through this trial I kept wondering why there was no mention of the fact that a girl called the funeral home Before Debbie was found to see if she was there????? I remember the time that Leona and I went to visit Debbie where she lays in the cemetary. As we were getting into the car to leave a young girl drives up, goes directly to Debbie's grave. Leona went up to her and ask her if she knew Debbie, the girl replies 'no, not really'....what's up with that? Leona was making plans to fly home from Alaska to surprise Debbie, just imagine the shock when she had to fly home to see Debbie bruised, choked, blue. I could go on but I won't. I just pray that God gives peace of heart to Peggy, Leona,Darla and all her family that live with this every day. One final thought. All though the trial I had a feeling that Dennis and Ron were innocent, just as did Peggy, her mother.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Terrible. Grisham should stick to fiction

This book was terrible. It is written in the third person, like a school essay. I felt like I was reading a book report of something that he had read. There is no active dialog. If this was the first time I was reading Grisham this would have been the last.

posted by ConstantReader10552 on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    IF YOU HAD KNOWN DEBBIE CARTER

    I had known Debbie for many years. Her older sister was and still is my very dear friend. Her mother, Peggy, in my opinion is one strong woman. Peggy lives in fear every day that another daughter may die. Losing a child is one thing, but losing one at the hand of such a hanous mind is just overwhelming! Reading the book and knowing the words were all so true, I felt sometines that I would be sick to my stomach. Anyone thinking this book is boring has no heart! I watched this family go through hell, while our own system put Dennis and Ron through a deliberate hell! These law enforcement people are nothing, in my opinion, nothing but scum, a self-righteous piece of meat! I would recommend that every person now alive should read this book and let it go to heart that it could happen to YOU! Anyone can walk up to a police officer and tell him, 'hey, I saw so-& so do this crime,' and your life would become hell! You are no longer innocent, you are guilty in the eyes of the law and by-god you had better have an OJ Simpson attorney and pictures of where you really were and what you were really doing. The fact that John Grissom wrote this book is beyond outstanding. I give him a great 'Thank You'. All through this trial I kept wondering why there was no mention of the fact that a girl called the funeral home Before Debbie was found to see if she was there????? I remember the time that Leona and I went to visit Debbie where she lays in the cemetary. As we were getting into the car to leave a young girl drives up, goes directly to Debbie's grave. Leona went up to her and ask her if she knew Debbie, the girl replies 'no, not really'....what's up with that? Leona was making plans to fly home from Alaska to surprise Debbie, just imagine the shock when she had to fly home to see Debbie bruised, choked, blue. I could go on but I won't. I just pray that God gives peace of heart to Peggy, Leona,Darla and all her family that live with this every day. One final thought. All though the trial I had a feeling that Dennis and Ron were innocent, just as did Peggy, her mother.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Read

    I have long been a fan of Grisham. This, his novel, about a real life murder and subsequent trial is fantastic reading .. John Grisham is one of the great story tellers, and this is one of his great reads.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A Great Book & Compelling Story

    John Grisham has managed to write a book that reads like one of his novels and still tells this amazing and true story about "justice" in a small town. Anyone who thinks that justice is always blind is in for a rude awakening. This truth is stranger than fiction story is a warning to all of us about what can happen when our desire to blame someone overwhelms our need to always seek the truth no matter how long that may take. Take your time reading this book you will not be disappointed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    GREAT!!!

    Great read from the first word to the last word.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Liked

    I enjoyed the book. This could happen in any town. I would like to see it made into a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    awesome book

    such an interesting book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Great!

    This was the first Grisham book I have read and found it very interesting. To think this could happen anywhere. All the underhanded things happening with the law who is supposed to protect us! Great book and great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An impressive debut into non-fiction by a master storyteller

    This compelling tale, of which I read the last 335 pages nonstop, seems to have inspired Grisham's novel, The Confession, which has a similar plot. But this true story required much more research and at least one assistant to organize and to keep track of all the data gathered from interviews with those involved and from local newspaper accounts. Truth may be more improbable than fiction, but this account requires no suspension of disbelief at all, let alone one like that necessitated by the fictional perpetrator's partial, cane-disposing recovery. This work inevitably reinforces the perceptions that prosecutors (1) rarely seem to fulfill their responsibilities as objective, truth-seeking court officers sworn to protect the rights of defendants, especially innocent ones -- the recent dismissals in the U.S. and France of all charges against the former head of the International Monetary Fund notwithstanding -- and (2) often appear to "get their rocks off" by pursuing victory at all costs and through all available means. The novel is laced with the humor and pervaded by the author's healthy skepticism, and it easily qualifies as one of Grisham's finest achievements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Amazing

    Completely captivating. Great price for Grisham

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I highly recommend this book to everyone, especially those that believe that our justice system is one of the best on this planet. I have read many true crime books in my life and this is one that I can never forget. I have known people that are actually still doing time in prison for something that they have never done or don't even have any knowledge about. This book completely exposed the scandalous and injustice of our socalled sophisticated justice system, this is something that can truely happen to anyone of us normal people and till this day, the same kind of story is happening in our country everyday. I agree with the last review, anyone that says this book is boring has no heart or just simply still living in their own dream that our system is fair and our law enforcement is here to protect and to serve us innocent civilians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I hated reading. . .until I read this.

    I use to hate reading, but then I found this piece of literature genius. If you like any of Grisham's other books, you're sure to enjoy this book as well!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    change is good

    I loved this book, couldn't put it down. It was so different from what he normally writes, kinda refreshing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    Provocative and touching

    I love John Grisham and had been a HUGE fan of all his fiction novels but I must admit I was sceptical of his first non-fictional book. But out of loyalty, I read it anyway. I am proud to say, he did not disappoint me. This book had me so drawn into the people and events that took place, I felt as if I was watching it unfold. Grisham paints a vivid picture of what can happen when the legal system fail a person. He show what can happen when the public put pressure on the legal system to solve a crime and the legal system don't act in the best interest of justice but of the public. It's not written to undermind the legal system but tell of the truths in it's flaws. What happened to Ron Williamson was so aweful, it haunted me for days. I've worked in criminal justice for over 14 yrs so I know that it's not perfect. But I've never seen misjustice in this manner. This was one of the saddest stories ever told. It open your eyes to things you might not wanna see but feel that you must. Excellent job John!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Frightening but still happening

    This book sadly reflects the inflexible thinking of people. In this circumstance it shows the injustice of our legal (Note: Not Justice system). This is rampart throughout life, politics, and religion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Anonomous

    I usually fly through John Grishams novel. This one took me 2 1/2 months to read. I am so glad I finished it. A real eye opener to the injustices served. A must read. Job well done Mr. Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    very good!

    very good; true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    His best!

    He should do more non-fiction! This one gets you to thinking on a very deep level about the death penalty and other timely issues. Highly recommend this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    It's definitely a must read!!

    I give John Grisham two thumbs up for this novel. I was amazed as I read the ridiculous methods the investigators were using to gain confessions from innocent men. This small town police department should have been brought up on charges themselves. The men in this story received a terrible miscarriage in justice. The most chilling fact of all is it's truth. This book is non-fiction. Thank you John for exposing these acts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Wow!

    This was a book I had trouble putting down. The people in this book are very real, I felt like I knew them by the end of the first chapter. Tragic the way our criminal system works, I cried for Ron as well as for the murdered girl and her family.
    A truly captivating account of a double tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    A Must-Read

    One of his best works. It should be rewuired reading for law enforcement and lawyers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10