Customer Reviews for

Innocent Traitor: A Novel of Lady Jane Grey

Average Rating 4
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kept me Interested

I really enjoyed reading this book. In doing historical Renaissance Re-enacting, I found this portrail of Jane very interesting. In a time when women and children were viewed as posessions and items to be traded I liked that it shower Lady Jane Grey as a pawn in the p...
I really enjoyed reading this book. In doing historical Renaissance Re-enacting, I found this portrail of Jane very interesting. In a time when women and children were viewed as posessions and items to be traded I liked that it shower Lady Jane Grey as a pawn in the plots of her father and other men in her life. It was full of things that might have happened in her tragic life, but because of her untimely death there is a lot that we don't know. In response to another comment, in actually having to wear the cloths from this time period, not all sleeves were sewn into the bodice. Sleeves and forepars were often made to be removed and added to another dress to make it look like a brand new dress. So the fit about the dress could have been completely possible.

posted by Kiamara on February 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed....

Lady Jane Grey is one of the most fascinating characters in English history. That said, she does not need to be involved in highly unlikely plot twists that involve her finding the order for the arrest of Katherine Parr or being graphically raped by her new husband. I g...
Lady Jane Grey is one of the most fascinating characters in English history. That said, she does not need to be involved in highly unlikely plot twists that involve her finding the order for the arrest of Katherine Parr or being graphically raped by her new husband. I got thoroughly disgusted after reading about Jane and a court gown. Jane is forced to wear it and is so disgusted that she unlaces it, rips it over her head, and "tug[s] at the sleeve, and it rips at the seam". !!!! Anyone interested in the fashions of Tudor times knows THIS COULD NOT HAPPEN. Royal/upper-class Tudor women wore bodices, which were worn over overskirts, which were worn over petticoats, and which had sleeves *sewn* to the bodice. Sewn TO the bodice, not set into an armhole. I'm not up on historical fashion in minute detail, but I'm pretty sure set-in sleeves didn't appear until sometime in the early 19th century for upper-class clothing. As Alison Weir is purportedly a historian, she should know all this, but as I've noticed she likes to pick and choose facts that support her own particular hypothesis and discard ones that do not (see "The Princes in the Tower"), I really shouldn't have been surprised that she would do the same in a work of fiction. For way-out there theories about Tudor England, give me Philippa Gregory any day. At least she knows how Tudor clothes are put together......and writes a darn-good story, as well..... :)

posted by 861836 on February 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    A Tragic Story

    I was surprised to find myself so enthralled by this book. Usually I don't like first person accounts, or narratives that jump between narrators. However, the writing is so fluid and well-done that it's easy to make the transition. Knowing Jane was a real person made the story even more tragic, especially when I suddenly remembered her age at the time of her execution. Having visited many of the locations in the book, such as the Tower and Hampton Court made it even more meaningful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Historical Fiction Lover

    This is an amazing story of Lady Jane Grey. If you love Tudor history, this book is for you. I knew very little about the life of Lady Jane Grey before reading Innocent Traitor. After reading it, I researched the life of this tragic figure. I was delighted to find that Allison Weir's facts were accurate. While reading this book, I felt that I got to know Lady Jane Grey and understood the hardships she was faced to endure. I thought about her story days after completing the novel. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great read!

    Very enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Grear read!

    Very moving story of a lovely young girl used for the gains of her family and selfish men. She personifies dignity and grace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Liked the book, not Alisons best.

    Great book. But when i read the Lady Elizabeth, it was almost like reading the same book. I was a little disappointed in the similarity between the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well written historical fiction

    Innocent Traitor was excellent. I could not put the book down and was glad I took the time the read it. Since I knew very little about Jane Grey, it was as if I got to know her a bit more throughout this book. My heart went out to her as although she tried hard to please her parents (her mother in particular) but never received the proper love and support except only when it suited them. It was only too late when her parents actually came to fully appreciate and love her. I really felt for Jane especially in her early childhood years. Her mother was just plain awful and only really cared for Jane (if you could call it that) when it suited her purposes (i.e. mostly for political gain and ambition). There were times when I thought Jane had what it took to stand up to her mother, but she backed down whenever she tried. It got frustrating and I thought Jane was never going to have her own personality and she'll just be a puppet for everyone. Yet past the midway point of the novel Jane does take a slight turn for the better and eventually stands up for herself (particularly against her husband). Towards the end, Jane becomes a much stronger woman and despite her circumstances, maintains her strength. I loved that. She became such a strong character that I loved her even more than I did in the beginning.

    The plot of this novel was well written and very interesting. It follows Jane all throughout her life and it highlights moments of interest such as the marriage of Katherine Parr and Thomas Seymour, and its' failure. The addition of something like this is a little strange considering this should have been told all in Jane Grey's point of view. I'm not really sure why this was added as it really had nothing to do with her (except maybe because she was around Katherine a lot around the time?) yet it was a small but well done way to take a break from the main plot and add in a mini story arc to it. I'd have to say the ending was one of the most dramatic. Jane stayed true to herself and that makes her all the more admirable. I absolutely hated the way everyone around her just started using her as a political pawn and her parents are just as bad as parents today who live through their small children and use them for their own gains. I really disliked her mother though. She was horrible! and she didn't gain any sympathies from me at the end. Her emotions and "love" came way too late to even make a difference. I'm not sure what to say about Jane's father. It looked like he was the "better" parent of the two, but his love was misguided and ambition just went in the way. It was sad to see that, as I thought he loved Jane more than her mother did.

    I thought this was a great novel featuring Lady Jane Grey. It's a tragic story but her strength is strong throughout the last half of the novel it's hard not to admire her. This is definitely a worthy read for Tudor fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    What a Lady she was !!

    It is a must read book... Lady Jane is a true hero in my eyes she died of what she believe in ... Although I must add that the book should have added more of her life and less of the plot to use her as a pon... She was another version of Joan of Arc ... In my eyes she died a TRUE QUEEN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    Enjoyed this book

    I read a lot of historical fiction about the Tudor era. At first, it was annoying to read a story being told in the first person by a 4-year old. But the story itself is fascinating and I became thoroughly engrossed. I recommend learning a bit about the key people in this novel before reading it. I already knew about all of the key characters and imagine it would be very difficult to follow if this is your first jump into Tudor fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I found this book to be very good. I like how the author made sure the details were historically correct, although I wish she put a little more effort into creating better dialogue. About half of it seemed either boring or didn't seem to belong and could've been cut out. One thing that you must realize about this book is that ANYONE UNDER fourteen or fifteen SHOULD NOT read this book. There is a big rape scene in the middle of the book. But other than that, I think that the vividness, historical accuracy, and character development make it a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    Good Read

    I have just gotten into reading historical novels. Some just don't hold up. This book was very good. I never lost interest and it moved along at a nice pace. I love the chapters being narrated by different characters views on things. A sad story told with grace and dignity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Loved it!

    Historical accuracy plumped up with juicy details -- a perfect mix! Looking forward to more fiction from Ms. Weir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Brings Lady Jane Grey to Life

    If you are unfamiliar with the history of Lady Jane Grey, I suggest doing a quick internet research before you dive into this book. Once you do though, you will not be disappointed. The characters are believable, and true to the historical record. I found this to be one of the best fictional books about Lady Jane Grey so far in publication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3