Customer Reviews for

Innocent in Death (In Death Series #24)

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I've said before that the "...IN DEATH" series by J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is my all-time favorite series, and after 24 books, that still holds true.

With INNOCENT IN DEATH, I spent as much time crying over the emotional disturbance between my favorite cou...
I've said before that the "...IN DEATH" series by J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is my all-time favorite series, and after 24 books, that still holds true.

With INNOCENT IN DEATH, I spent as much time crying over the emotional disturbance between my favorite couple, Eve Dallas and Roarke, as I did trying to find out who committed the crimes.

When a likeable, all-around good guy teacher at a private school ends up dead, poisoned by ricin in his hot chocolate, the school is in shock. Eve immediately realizes that not all is at it seems at the school; that everyone, from the principal, to the other teachers, to the students, and to their parents have things they'd rather keep hidden.

While trying to solve the murder of Craig Foster, and the subsequent death of yet another teacher, Eve must deal with the emotional roller-coaster of the reappearance of one of Roarke's old flames. And unlike the majority of women from Roarke's past, Magdelena Purcell is a woman that Roarke never forgot.

As one passage states, when Magdelena informs Eve that Roarke didn't leave her, but that it happened the other way around, both women know that that small distinction makes all the difference.

INNOCENT IN DEATH is one of my new favorites in the series. Not only was the mystery an interesting and compelling one (with a suspect that I didn't see coming), but the true, deep emotions of my favorite couple made this a real winner. Thankfully, everything worked itself out in the end, and my heart, along with Eve's, is finally feeling lighter.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

interesting book

I enjoyed this book as I have most of Nora Roberts (and J.D.Robb) books. I find her J.D.Robb books good, but find that I get a little annoyed with the character of Dallas as she is too hard for a female of her characteristics. This is the 5th or 6th J.D.Robb book I've ...
I enjoyed this book as I have most of Nora Roberts (and J.D.Robb) books. I find her J.D.Robb books good, but find that I get a little annoyed with the character of Dallas as she is too hard for a female of her characteristics. This is the 5th or 6th J.D.Robb book I've read and although they are interesting, I get peaved with Dallas and her attitude toward women. She is one,isn't she?, and married to a very hot man, has hot steamy sex, and then acts like she doesn't know how a women should act around babies or other women. I can see her wanting to be a bad ass cop at times, but tone it down a little when she is not being a cop--although she never seems to have downtime to be just a woman. Oh well, I do mostly enjoy the books, though.

posted by 993935 on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I've said before that the "...IN DEATH" series by J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is my all-time favorite series, and after 24 books, that still holds true. <BR/><BR/>With INNOCENT IN DEATH, I spent as much time crying over the emotional disturbance between my favorite couple, Eve Dallas and Roarke, as I did trying to find out who committed the crimes. <BR/><BR/>When a likeable, all-around good guy teacher at a private school ends up dead, poisoned by ricin in his hot chocolate, the school is in shock. Eve immediately realizes that not all is at it seems at the school; that everyone, from the principal, to the other teachers, to the students, and to their parents have things they'd rather keep hidden. <BR/><BR/>While trying to solve the murder of Craig Foster, and the subsequent death of yet another teacher, Eve must deal with the emotional roller-coaster of the reappearance of one of Roarke's old flames. And unlike the majority of women from Roarke's past, Magdelena Purcell is a woman that Roarke never forgot. <BR/><BR/>As one passage states, when Magdelena informs Eve that Roarke didn't leave her, but that it happened the other way around, both women know that that small distinction makes all the difference. <BR/><BR/>INNOCENT IN DEATH is one of my new favorites in the series. Not only was the mystery an interesting and compelling one (with a suspect that I didn't see coming), but the true, deep emotions of my favorite couple made this a real winner. Thankfully, everything worked itself out in the end, and my heart, along with Eve's, is finally feeling lighter.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Loving the series, hope it never ends

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent futuristic police procedural

    In the year 2059 in New York City, Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the New York Police and Security Department is assigned a homicide case that has her completely stumped. Craig Foster, a teacher at a posh private school, is drinking hot chocolate from his thermos cup that his wife made for him when he suddenly keels over and dies. Two yen year old students Rayleen Strafford and Melanie Branch find the body and they tell a teacher who comes out of the classroom to see why they are screaming. When Eve arrives on the scene she immediately knows he was poisoned and the toxicology report says he died from ingesting ricin. During the investigation, she learns that the teacher was well liked by students, fellow teachers, his superiors and his wife. She has no motive but believes the killing was cold blooded and calculating because the murderer switched cups while the teacher was out of the office. When a suspect is found drowned in the pool she knows he was murdered by the same person who killed the teacher only this victim was a sexual predator who had sex on school grounds with teachers and students¿ parents. The killer is hiding in plain sight but Eve doesn¿t want to believe her prime suspect could be the culprit. --- Nobody writes a futuristic police procedural better than J.D. Robb. In addition to dealing with a hard and heartbreaking case, she is unnerved that her husband¿s ex-flame Magdalena Percell is in town intent on causing trouble in her attempt to win back Roarke. The mystery is brilliantly arranged so nobody will easily guess who the killer is or what the motive is either. Ms. Robb constantly keeps her characters and storyline fresh so readers will find themselves easily awaiting the next installment in the ¿Death Series¿. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    pull in read

    I bought this book becuse i wanted to try a new author and i have to say that i LOVED this book. It was captivating and it pulled you easily quickly through the story. I had to know what happened and the love between eve and husband was an added bonous not a distraction. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of detective or murder thrillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT READ!

    This one was amazing! It was so hard to put it down because the story just pulls you in. I loved how Eve finally proved who had done it and how she did it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    What a twist!!

    I have read and own many of Nora Roberts ( J. Robb )books. Each one was a different from the last. This storyline kept me reading. Just when you think you've got the suspect figured out, once again Ms. Roberts proves you wrong. The twist on this was quite different from other books I have read based on her regular characters. I highly recommend it if you enjoy trying to figure it out before the police do!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    interesting book

    I enjoyed this book as I have most of Nora Roberts (and J.D.Robb) books. I find her J.D.Robb books good, but find that I get a little annoyed with the character of Dallas as she is too hard for a female of her characteristics. This is the 5th or 6th J.D.Robb book I've read and although they are interesting, I get peaved with Dallas and her attitude toward women. She is one,isn't she?, and married to a very hot man, has hot steamy sex, and then acts like she doesn't know how a women should act around babies or other women. I can see her wanting to be a bad ass cop at times, but tone it down a little when she is not being a cop--although she never seems to have downtime to be just a woman. Oh well, I do mostly enjoy the books, though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kids are always hoping for a No School day. They are wishing upo

    Kids are always hoping for a No School day. They are wishing upon a star that there is a snow day, a
    meteor crashes so there will be no school or other disasters!

    But never has a child wished upon that star for one of their favorite teachers to die a horrible painful death!

    Eve Dallas hates schools always have and always will but will have to suck it up and see who in
     their right mind would want to poison a teacher. And a respectful teacher at that. With no suspects
    to too many to count how will Dallas narrow it down to just one?

    Will another body help? Sure! Now two teachers are down for the count, was it an inside job?

    Was about money, sex, position, reputation?

    What if the person that has shown to be so innocent throughout the whole book that isn't even
    mentioned a lot? Is that person as innocent as they appear to be? And how will Dallas, who is going
    with gut instinct rather than facts, prove to her supriers and Roarke that she is in the right before the killer
    kills again, that's to close to home?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Good reading

    I enjoy all of J..D. ROBB writing.. great ending twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Favorite book!!!

    This is my favorite book in the series. I recently reread the whole series straight through for the second time and this one is still the best. It was very emotional watching Eve deal with an old love of Roarke's and wondering if he regrets his decision marrying her. The murder seemed to be secondary, which I was OK with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    I really enjoy reading all of JD Robb's in death series. The se

    I really enjoy reading all of JD Robb's in death series. The series
    just keeps you wanting to go on to the next. Eve Dallas is my favorite
    character seeing her grow and develop into wife and friend is pure
    enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    ANOTHER GREAT J. D. ROBB!

    LOVED IT! I HAD THIS BOOK IN MY PAPERBACK LIBRARY AND BOUGHT IT ON MY NOOK. READ IT AGAIN FOR ABOUT THE 5TH TIME AND STILL LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Great Series

    I've enjoyed every book. Now on #31.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    I always enjoy these stories. I am on book 26 now. The banter between Eve and Roarke is wonderful. The mystery is new and fresh in every book. I hope she continues to write these for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!!

    Another great book about Eve Dallas!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Best book

    Who knew it was going to be this good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    yet another goodie

    Dalls at her best - as usual.
    A very enjoyable read - ended much too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I love all JD Robb in death

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    One of the IN DEATH best!

    This book is fantastic...from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8