BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Insane City

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Read this book in one sitting. Hilarious. Could not put it down.

Read this book in one sitting. Hilarious. Could not put it down. As a one time resident of South Florida I just loved it. So glad for this book Dave Barry. Thank You. More more more more please.

posted by SCW on February 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I generally really enjoy Dave Barry. This one seemed like he too

I generally really enjoy Dave Barry. This one seemed like he took the movie The Hangover, and changed it from Vegas to Florida. If I hadn't seen the movie, I would have thought it was funny.

posted by wetm on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    Read this book in one sitting. Hilarious. Could not put it down.

    Read this book in one sitting. Hilarious. Could not put it down. As a one time resident of South Florida I just loved it. So glad for this book Dave Barry. Thank You. More more more more please.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I didn't like it, I LOVED it

    Dave Barry has followed up his hilarious "Lunatics" with yet another highly entertaining epic. Filled with a widely diverse cast of characters, all of whom are thrown together to complicate an impending wedding, Barry leads us in a series of adventures on land and sea. I was crazy about this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A laugh on every page

    I love this book as much as I did Lunatics. Truly hysterical. Love the characters. Just when you think things have gotten so crazy something else happen it makes it even better. Let's just say a wedding weekend in Miami what's a miss matched couple, their family, marijuana brownies, a ring stealing orangatan, the Haitian lady and kids, a stripper and her boyfriend and many more characters. What could go wrong!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Fabulous book

    Let's put it this way: Dave Barry deserves his Pulitzer Prize. I don't know how he comes up with his fantastically funny and convoluted plots but his fiction is fantastic. Read this in one sitting through the night because I could not stop reading. Ten stars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Hilarious!

    Congrats to Dave Barry - this effort is fast paced, hard to put down and funny! If you are from South Florida you will love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Fun read, especially from the point of view of a Miamian.

    Fun read, especially from the point of view of a Miamian.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Heat, January 30, 2013By Eric Smith - S

    5.0 out of 5 stars Miami Heat, January 30, 2013By Eric Smith - See all my reviews(REAL NAME)   

    This review is from: Insane City (Hardcover)Yes more books about our huge, Latin dominant cities - the mixed cultures - these make interesting stories. I always like Barry's approach. He understands the complexity and vying interests of the city. He brings humor to seriousness. It reminds me of the crime novel about San Antonio - No One Blames San Antonio for the Civil War.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is no point in approaching this novel worrying about a plo

    There is no point in approaching this novel worrying about a plot: it’s just an old-fashioned romp.

    Ne’er-do-well Seth Weinstein for some reason is about to be married to the gorgeous, successful Tina Clark, high-powered Washington attorney, daughter of billionaire Mike Clark. The wedding is to take place at the Ritz-Carlton in Key Biscayne. So much for the story.

    The rest of the book is a series of mishaps, compounded by amusing incidents complicating the wedding event and personal relationships. The author means to keep the reader laughing minute after minute, and often succeeds. Great literature it is not intended to be, just a very amusing read. And so it is.

    Recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Typical Dave Barry

    Fast moving and hilarious. Dave Barry has not lost his touch.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    It was a fun and exciting story. I was waiting for Serge and Coleman to show up but I'm sure they were somewhere in the background.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Dave is getting better

    A way to explore an interesting mind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    I generally really enjoy Dave Barry. This one seemed like he too

    I generally really enjoy Dave Barry. This one seemed like he took the movie The Hangover, and changed it from Vegas to Florida. If I hadn't seen the movie, I would have thought it was funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    Dave Berry does it again. this book is hilarious, especially the

    Dave Berry does it again. this book is hilarious, especially the taxi that only plays one note on the radio. The situations just keep getting more and more real and hilarious at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    I will

    ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Insane Rper

    Okay let's check off a list. First off what time zone are you in (pacific is preferable). Are you available a lot this Saturday? Will you rp him the way I would like? You will agree to have him killed in what I want to do?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    I will

    XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Insane dead guy?

    Maybe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Hilarious!!

    For those not familiar with the concept of a "fish story," you take a normal, mundane, maybe even boring event and keep adding details to make it bigger, more impressive, funnier, and unbelievable, all the while keeping it even remotely plausible!! That's what Dave Barry has done here with the upcoming marriage of Tina Clark; a young, upwardly mobile attorney and the daughter of one of Forbes' top 100 richest men, and Seth Weinstein, a schlep from the middle, middle class who barely graduated college with a marketing degree and who's current employment involves him Tweeting about douche!
    Seth has arrived in Miami a day early with his "Groom Posse" for the inevitable bachelor's party. Following in the footsteps of "The Hangover", things go downhill from there...quickly. Seth's involvement with a snake handler and his girl friend, a plus size stripper and her "manager", a young Haitian mother who washes ashore illegally at the Ritz-Carleton beach, and an orangutan named Trevor make for hilarious hijinks that is larger than life and yet remains (remotely) plausible!
    Insane City will have you laughing out loud so choose your reading locale carefully! If you like Carl Hiassen, you'll like Insane City (and vice versa)!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Escape with Laughter

    I laughed out loud reading this book. I read to escape and it took me to a wonderful place!
    Couldn't wait to see how he was going to pull everything off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great

    Frist berry novel I,ve read. Wow! Can't wait to get to the next one.....p.s. beats the crap out of anything hiasin,s wrote in years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4