BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Insatiable

Average Rating 4
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dracula meets Buffy

Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the poi...
Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the point of view switched between characters. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE stories with different point of views. But we saw point of views from big and small characters, and that made it hard for me to get a "feel" of this book at first. But I stuck through, and once the story picked up, I was so glad I did!

By the time of Meena and Lucien's first encounter, it was unputdownable (yes, I made up a word) for me. Meena was such a strong main character. She did what she thought was right, no matter the consequences. Her ability to know how one will die was very neat. It was also a fun twist that she happened to hate the whole vampire craze, then one of her love interests turns out to be a vampire. You gotta love the irony.

What would a paranormal romance be without a love triangle? Insatiable certainly has one. You have Lucien, the powerful and scary vampire prince with a sensitive side. Then there is the charismatic Alaric. While I am team Lucien, I can't claim to dislike Alaric. They both bring good and bad qualities to the table. I loved seeing each of their point of views. It gave the reader a good look into all sides of the story.

Insatiable brings back the Dracula appeal to vampires. They are dark and dangerous by nature. Insatiable felt a like Dracula meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But Cabot also adds her hilarious sense of humor to the mix to balance out the angst and action.

I have mixed feelings about the ending. On one hand I am upset, because it did NOT go the way I wanted it to. On the other hand, it looks like it sets it up for an exciting sequel. And boy do I want a sequel! Insatiable was another win that Cabot can add under her belt. She continues her ability to capture her readers. I recommend this one to paranormal romance lovers that are looking for a different spin on the vampire love story. Just wait it out for the first few chapters. You will be so happy that you did!

posted by YA-Addict on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Total Sell Out

Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only writ...
Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only written due to the fact that everyone is buying vampire books and Cabot just wanted to shine in the spotlight again. Lost total respect for her as an author. Now she's just another sell out.

posted by SkylaFan on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Engrossing & Amusing

    I am assuming you are not reading a vampire book for enlightenment, but rather, entertainment. This book is that for sure! It was funny, easy to read and kept me up when I should have gone to sleep. I will read the next in the series coming out this summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Don't waste your time or money

    It feels like the editor should have noticed the rip off of other writers vampires .Did the editor even read this; besides the grammar errors I noticed there was several characters (some even down to their names) that I have seen in other books and movies that pre-date this book. It's a good book if you haven't read a lot of books or watched any movies that have a vampire line of thought. I guess it could be a good starter book. It had promise but I just couldn't get over the rip off of the main characters. I am really glad that I went to the library and got this instead of buying this. If you feel the need to read this go to the library and don't waste your book fund on this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    EPIC!!!!!!!

    That word above explains the whole book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Love this book!

    I read this after the Twilight Series, which I loved! I am not a traditional "vampire" theme book person, but thought I would try this. It was great, I admit it seemed a little slow at first, but all of a sudden I just couldn't put it down! I'm not even sure at what point it was, but the story kept me turning page after page. I lent the book to a friend who said, "thanks a lot, I didn't get any sleep last night because I was up reading your book" So I hope you enjoy this little escape from reality! Check out A Discovery of Witches, by Deborah Harkness, too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    it could have been better

    I like meg cabot as a writer and have read some of her other books but this one was not good at all. i had high expectations for this book and it failed to excite me but i gave The book two stars because of the author and it was not over all horrible. many teens would like this book but i did not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Vampire Book Made for Teens

    The first time that I encountered this book was when it was up for clearance at a Barnes and Noble that I went into to. The cover piqued by interest and so I decided to read the summary on the back of the book to see if this book was worth paying the $6.00 for. The summary to this book sounds really interesting to say the least, but do not be fooled by its intriguing elements. The summary completely misleads a person into expecting a great story, when in actuality the story lacks any sort of mysterious and creative element to it. Now, I must mention that I haven't read any other books by Meg Cabot. Insatiable was the very first book that I have read from this author and the first impression that I got from this book didn't do anything to make me want to jump up and buy more books containing her name. If you are a reader looking for a complex storyline with some intriguing characters that you can relate a little to, then I suggest you go and find another book. The storyline starts out like any typical storyline would in other books, the characters are formally introduced, followed by the main plot. Meg showed no desire to introduce any elements that would mislead a reader into believing that their could be multiple endings to this book. In all honesty, the biggest disappointment besides the lacking of a complex storyline, was the simplicity of the main and secondary characters. The level of knowledge that reader gets from these characters is equivalent to just walking into any store and talking to a random stranger. Although, their are many things that I didn't like about this book, the one scene that I savored the most had to be when Lucien was confessing his past to Meena. This was the only scene in the book that really captured my full attention and intrigued my curiosity enough to finish the book. Overall, Insatiable is a good starting book for young adults to read before upgrading to more complex storylines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Ugh. Cheesy.

    I was only able to read to page 75. Therefore, I am not sure that my review counts. Unfortunately, it seemed to me that it was a typical romance plot, but insert vampires characters and change names. I was seeking a more original plot, I didn't get it with this book. Nice cover, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Disappointing

    I am reading this book now, and have found it to be poorly written, with cliched and predictable dialogue between characters. The frequent asides (enclosed in parentheses) drive me nuts, and it seems like some of the ideas were copied from "The Vampire Diaries" and "Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side". For example, the main vampire-hunter's name is Alaric, and the main vampire's last name is Antonescu. This book has improves a little the more it progresses, but I feel overall disappointed in a $22.00 some dollar book; very underwhelming novel, and I was really looking forward to reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I normally love Meg Cabot's books, but Insatiable was not nearly as good as I had hoped it would be. I did not like the constant changes in points of view throughout the book. It made it difficult to connect with the characters as well as follow the plot at times. The characters are not well developed and the overall plot line of the story seems forced. I was really looking forward to this book, but after reading it, I am very disappointed.

    Meg Cabot is an amazing writer, but I think a combination of a cultural obsession with vampires, as well as a terrible suggestion made by her editor, influenced the creation of Insatiable. I would suggest reading any of her other books, but I will be avoiding the other books in the Insatiable series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    In shock.

    I'm not a BIG Meg Cabot aficionado, but i do have some respect for her. I really did love the Mediator series, and the 1-800-Where-Are-You's were pretty good.
    But this just seems like a giant step down. Reading it, I felt like it was something Cabot was just pressured into doing because of the whole vampire craze. Nothing about the book is originally, from the cover to the content to the characters within. I felt like she wrote this kicking and screaming, and had to forcefully keep herself from mocking the whole genre the entire story (even though the sentiment often leaked through).
    There was just nothing sincere at all in the book. She didn't seem to be sincere about any of the characters; most of them just came off as half-baked, one-dimensional, and ridiculous. I can't believe she really wrote this. I mean, the synopsis on the jacket honestly starts off with, "Sick of hearing about vampires?" and then seems to pull out an unbelievably generic story that excuses itself only by having the audience aware of the vampire craze that the world is currently in.
    In short, this was terrible.

    -Lisa Marie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Kudos to Cabot

    Leave it to Meg Cabot to take a bite out of the saturated market of Vampire books and write one of her own that bests them all.

    In true Cabot fashion the characters are rich, witty, and real (as real as they can be in a world of fantasy). She has woven an intricate blanket of mystery, horror, romance and chic lit all in one while managing to subtly deliver a commentary on this whole Vampire craze.

    Will there be a sequel? If not Cabot will no doubt reward us with something equally good. She always delivers.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Great character development, a nice weekend read! 

    Great character development, a nice weekend read! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book from an Amazing Author. Insatiable starts out we

    An amazing book from an Amazing Author. Insatiable starts out well and gets better with every page.  Meena is a really fun character with a really great personality and chemistry; she feels real from the first words out of her mouth.
    I love how characters you meet in the beginning that you don't think are going to have a really big impact wind up having a rather consequential piece of the plot dependent on them.  
    I don't mind the shifts in points of view, I think it gives a deeper insight into the other characters; how a person thinks says a lot about their personality. Take Wulf for example, he's gruff and moody and stubborn as Hell but at the same time he's really a very interesting person when you get to know him a little better.
    This is definitely a book I'll re-read and recommend to all my friends, whether they like Vampires or not.  
    I can't wait to read Overbite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    This book is not worth it. I read it and loved until the end. An

    This book is not worth it. I read it and loved until the end. And then I found out how the second book ended and got even more pissed. This book could have been good, I'm upset with Meg for writing to of her worst books ever. Her other books I read we're so good. I don't know what happened. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good evening everyone.

    Good evening everyone i read this a while ago ' but i didnot review the book almost a year now becuse my nook was acting up, but i enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    2.5 stars. I picked up Insatiable from my local Goodwill thinki

    2.5 stars.

    I picked up Insatiable from my local Goodwill thinking that it was going to be a fun, breezy read. While it did have its comedic moments, I found myself tilting my head at the plot. There were also some instances where I found myself confused by the characters' actions and dialogue. I don't believe in always having a happy, saccharine filled ending in books, and while the story doesn't end here apparently, I was left with more questions than answers.

    I did find it to be a little on the long side, and at times it felt like I was watching one of those generic movies where everything blows up and every body good stays alive. Way before Twilight, I used to love vampires, and I imagine a younger version of myself would have fawned over this book. I felt like this book was attempting to make a parody out of the whole vampire craze but it actually became a legitimate vampire story. I was actually enjoying it in the beginning but then I started noticing those problems in the storyline and with the characters. I'm not really interested in finding out what happens next to Meena and crew, so I won't be continuing with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    M

    It one of the very few vampire books that on good n.n

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Loved it

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Looks good

    I have started to read this book and so far, it looks really good! I am excited to finish it and i recomend it so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Ending fell flat.

    Im not a huge fan with vampires always getting the girls but come on! Totally thought it would have ended better. Sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 404 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21