Customer Reviews for

Insatiable

Average Rating 4
( 402 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dracula meets Buffy

Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the poi...
Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the point of view switched between characters. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE stories with different point of views. But we saw point of views from big and small characters, and that made it hard for me to get a "feel" of this book at first. But I stuck through, and once the story picked up, I was so glad I did!

By the time of Meena and Lucien's first encounter, it was unputdownable (yes, I made up a word) for me. Meena was such a strong main character. She did what she thought was right, no matter the consequences. Her ability to know how one will die was very neat. It was also a fun twist that she happened to hate the whole vampire craze, then one of her love interests turns out to be a vampire. You gotta love the irony.

What would a paranormal romance be without a love triangle? Insatiable certainly has one. You have Lucien, the powerful and scary vampire prince with a sensitive side. Then there is the charismatic Alaric. While I am team Lucien, I can't claim to dislike Alaric. They both bring good and bad qualities to the table. I loved seeing each of their point of views. It gave the reader a good look into all sides of the story.

Insatiable brings back the Dracula appeal to vampires. They are dark and dangerous by nature. Insatiable felt a like Dracula meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But Cabot also adds her hilarious sense of humor to the mix to balance out the angst and action.

I have mixed feelings about the ending. On one hand I am upset, because it did NOT go the way I wanted it to. On the other hand, it looks like it sets it up for an exciting sequel. And boy do I want a sequel! Insatiable was another win that Cabot can add under her belt. She continues her ability to capture her readers. I recommend this one to paranormal romance lovers that are looking for a different spin on the vampire love story. Just wait it out for the first few chapters. You will be so happy that you did!

posted by YA-Addict on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Total Sell Out

Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only writ...
Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only written due to the fact that everyone is buying vampire books and Cabot just wanted to shine in the spotlight again. Lost total respect for her as an author. Now she's just another sell out.

posted by SkylaFan on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A SETBACK...I must call It!!

    The story turned out to be a huge disappointment, considering that I am very excited to read the book starting from its great book cover, interesting title and intriguing plot.....all of it doesn't lived up to the expectation. I ended up skipping the pages until I decided I am no longer interested to finish the book. The story got a lot of things going on....like Meena's gift, the vampires, the Palatine guards and the soap opera Insatiable. I just thought Meena's ability to feel how a person will die is already a wonderful story by itself.....there's no need to add the vampires or the other things going on in there because It can be a good subject for another story. I felt like the story was rushed and the writer didn't even take time to develop the characters to be able to connect with the readers. Most of all the ending just LET ME DOWN!! It gave me this " I JUST WASTE MY TIME AND MONEY FOR THIS" kind of feeling. I don't know if I will be interested in buying another Meg Cabot's book in the future ever again!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    ITS OK

    I guess I should start by saying I'm not a big Meg Cabot fan. I read the Back of the book and well it did sound good.So I said its been a few years lets give her another chance. Let me just say the person who wrote the back of the book should have wrote the book. In true Meg style she babbles ALOT! this book was WAAAY too long. She could have told the story in 200 pages not the 441 that she did. Maybe its me but I thought the need to retell what happened from everyones point of view ie: you have the same fight scene told from Meena, Lucien, Jon and Alric's point of view was redundant. The repete of every chapter was boring and dated they wrote alot of books like that in the late 80's early 90's.I did like the whole I can tell you how you are going to die thing. Different.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    I will admit to being new to Meg Cabot’s work and th

    I will admit to being new to Meg Cabot’s work and thus am not able to compare this book to any that came before it. Nor do I usually read books in this genre. However, I found out about this book through a podcast interview and was intrigued by the idea of the heroine of a vampire novel hating vampires. I picked up this book in hopes of a spunky heroine whose entire life didn’t entirely revolve around her new vampire boyfriend and some good old fashioned bashing of the genre’s clichés. Unfortunately, this was not to be.
    The novel started off with practically every character discussing how annoying and weak girls who fall for vampires are; which is all good until the spunky main character ends up becoming one of them. She did not even put up the slightest fight. Sure there was a little moaning and some “how could he?”s thrown in there for a good measure, but the second he turned up again she completely forgave him without any explanation needed. It was rather irritating to watch how every time Meena saw another girl get abused it was bad, but when her boyfriend hurt her it was only because he loved her so much. I really hoped that by the end it would be revealed that she was being mind-controlled like all of the other girls and ditch the vampire.
    Cabot also seemed to go off on tangents about things that were really not significant to the plot. A good fifty pages probably could have been lopped off the novel if Meena would just stop obsessing over a stupid purse that has absolutely no significance to the plot. The whole “I want to become a head writer for the television show” also seemed to drop off the face of the planet about halfway through the book and was almost completely forgotten in the light of her new bf’s drama.
    In the end, I am still not sure if Meg Cabot intended this book to be a sarcastic look at modern vampire romances or if this was an serious attempt to redeem the genre that failed. Based on people’s reviews for her previous works I am hoping for the former and look forward to reading some of her other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Okay

    Not the ending i wanted. I am not lookibg for a realistic ending in a book about vampires! I want the fairytale.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Ify

    Was great till the end ugh! Id hoped for her to be with the vampire

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    it could have been better

    I like meg cabot as a writer and have read some of her other books but this one was not good at all. i had high expectations for this book and it failed to excite me but i gave The book two stars because of the author and it was not over all horrible. many teens would like this book but i did not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Vampire Book Made for Teens

    The first time that I encountered this book was when it was up for clearance at a Barnes and Noble that I went into to. The cover piqued by interest and so I decided to read the summary on the back of the book to see if this book was worth paying the $6.00 for. The summary to this book sounds really interesting to say the least, but do not be fooled by its intriguing elements. The summary completely misleads a person into expecting a great story, when in actuality the story lacks any sort of mysterious and creative element to it. Now, I must mention that I haven't read any other books by Meg Cabot. Insatiable was the very first book that I have read from this author and the first impression that I got from this book didn't do anything to make me want to jump up and buy more books containing her name. If you are a reader looking for a complex storyline with some intriguing characters that you can relate a little to, then I suggest you go and find another book. The storyline starts out like any typical storyline would in other books, the characters are formally introduced, followed by the main plot. Meg showed no desire to introduce any elements that would mislead a reader into believing that their could be multiple endings to this book. In all honesty, the biggest disappointment besides the lacking of a complex storyline, was the simplicity of the main and secondary characters. The level of knowledge that reader gets from these characters is equivalent to just walking into any store and talking to a random stranger. Although, their are many things that I didn't like about this book, the one scene that I savored the most had to be when Lucien was confessing his past to Meena. This was the only scene in the book that really captured my full attention and intrigued my curiosity enough to finish the book. Overall, Insatiable is a good starting book for young adults to read before upgrading to more complex storylines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Disappointing

    I am reading this book now, and have found it to be poorly written, with cliched and predictable dialogue between characters. The frequent asides (enclosed in parentheses) drive me nuts, and it seems like some of the ideas were copied from "The Vampire Diaries" and "Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side". For example, the main vampire-hunter's name is Alaric, and the main vampire's last name is Antonescu. This book has improves a little the more it progresses, but I feel overall disappointed in a $22.00 some dollar book; very underwhelming novel, and I was really looking forward to reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Ending fell flat.

    Im not a huge fan with vampires always getting the girls but come on! Totally thought it would have ended better. Sorry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fell flat

    This wasn't Meg Cabot's genre and you can tell. This book was just okay and got corny at times (a dragon?!? come on).

    I normally love Meg Cabot and all of her books, but to me this wasn't one of her best. It fell short of her normal books. I guess if this is your first vampire book, it would be good. I on the other hand have read many paranormal novels, so Meg Cabot's attempt a vampire novel was pitiful. I just don't think it's her thing, and I can't believe that she felt the need to attempt it. I didn't think that she would cave to the vampire craze. I loved her human characters but her "special" people were hard to like or connect to. I did find all of her references to other popular vampire stories amusing (Twilight, True Blood/Sookie Stackhouse, etc). I think that Meg Cabot was way out of her league on this one. She can't compare to the other paranormal writers our there. Oh, she also ended the story badly. It just seemed like she wanted to leave it open for a sequel if her book sells well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2