BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Insatiable

Average Rating 4
( 401 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dracula meets Buffy

Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the poi...
Just like all the other Cabot fans out there, I was excited to get my hands on Insatiable. I have to admit, I was tempted to put it down in the beginning. If it wasn't Cabot, I might have. The first few chapters were pretty mundane and boring. Not only that, but the point of view switched between characters. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE stories with different point of views. But we saw point of views from big and small characters, and that made it hard for me to get a "feel" of this book at first. But I stuck through, and once the story picked up, I was so glad I did!

By the time of Meena and Lucien's first encounter, it was unputdownable (yes, I made up a word) for me. Meena was such a strong main character. She did what she thought was right, no matter the consequences. Her ability to know how one will die was very neat. It was also a fun twist that she happened to hate the whole vampire craze, then one of her love interests turns out to be a vampire. You gotta love the irony.

What would a paranormal romance be without a love triangle? Insatiable certainly has one. You have Lucien, the powerful and scary vampire prince with a sensitive side. Then there is the charismatic Alaric. While I am team Lucien, I can't claim to dislike Alaric. They both bring good and bad qualities to the table. I loved seeing each of their point of views. It gave the reader a good look into all sides of the story.

Insatiable brings back the Dracula appeal to vampires. They are dark and dangerous by nature. Insatiable felt a like Dracula meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But Cabot also adds her hilarious sense of humor to the mix to balance out the angst and action.

I have mixed feelings about the ending. On one hand I am upset, because it did NOT go the way I wanted it to. On the other hand, it looks like it sets it up for an exciting sequel. And boy do I want a sequel! Insatiable was another win that Cabot can add under her belt. She continues her ability to capture her readers. I recommend this one to paranormal romance lovers that are looking for a different spin on the vampire love story. Just wait it out for the first few chapters. You will be so happy that you did!

posted by YA-Addict on June 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Total Sell Out

Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only writ...
Meg Cabots latest book was a complete dissapointment. While she mocks the new vampire craze, she dimisses the fact that she has just written a vampire love story herself. The characters are empty in comparison to her other written books. This book was probably only written due to the fact that everyone is buying vampire books and Cabot just wanted to shine in the spotlight again. Lost total respect for her as an author. Now she's just another sell out.

posted by SkylaFan on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Loved it

    If you like twillight you will love this book. Cannot wait to read the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire sarcasm, yes please.

    This book is somehow filled with laughs while at the same time keeping you interested in the actual story. It kind of makes fun of itself along with all the other vampire books out there. Original and fun. An easy read that will have you smiling for weeks after. A perfect gift for anyone who might not be a heavy reader, (as it's interesting and easy while hilarious.) and it's a good gift for someone who might be sick of the traditional teen roman vampire drama books out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for Teens Read Too

    Meena hates vampires. They're ruining her life. First, they invade her work. Meena doesn't get the promotion to head writer she's been hoping to achieve. Then they announce the popular daytime drama will be adding a vampire storyline to compete with its major competition. Second, there's a serial killer on the loose, leaving dead female bodies drained of their blood in the various parks of New York City. Third, Meena goes out to walk her dog, Jack Bauer, in the middle of the night. She's attacked by numerous bats, but protected by a mysterious man. She almost thinks she dreamed this late night incident. Fourth, she starts dating this man after meeting him again at a party, only to discover he's a vampire prince - ruler of all vampires. She discovers the truth about her boyfriend after a member of Palatine, Alaric Wolf, comes to warn her and worm his whereabouts out of her. She refuses to give up his location, even when she realizes that he IS the prince of darkness. Lucien, despite his family history, seems to love Meena and wants to protect her. However, Alaric Wolf can't stand by and let that happen. He's determined to rescue Meena if it's the last thing he does. When she puts everything together, Meena's seriously annoyed, but with a vampire war looming, which side will she end up on? I LOVED this book. Meena is sweet with a wicked sense or humor, snarky, and feisty. Plus, she has a secret where she can see how people are going to die. Her vampire romance is sexy and sweet. Lucien's one part charming and one part dangerous. Wolf is amusing. Meena's vampire neighbors are hilarious - always causing a ruckus in the vampire world, all in the name of matchmaking. All in all, it's a charming, sexy read full of romance, danger, protective men, and one kick-butt heroine. While this is an adult novel, I think some older teens will naturally gravitate towards it because it's Meg Cabot - and also vampires!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    I have read almost every book by Meg Cabot, she is my favorite author. I really enjoyed Insatiable. The irony with Meena and Lucien, how Meena hates vampires and ends up loving one, that was a great twist. And her abilitie to tell how people are going to die! The vampire war was a bit predictible but it was still great. It kind of reminded me of Twilight with Meena being Bella, Lucien as Edward, and Alaric as Jacob, but it was still a really interesting book. It had me up late through the night reading becouse i would just not go to sleep until i found out what would happen. The ending was kind of disipointing, I had thought Meena would go away with Lucien but instead she decides to work for his enemy. But still I loved it. I hope she countinues this book becouse the ending had me left with many questions. Like does Meena get back with Lucien? Does she fall in love with Alaric? Who will she pick? It was a very wonderful book. I would recomed it to everyone who like books about vampires with a bit of romance in it. Outstanding book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Great book!!

    Love Meg Cabot books and this one is no diffrent. Very engrossing and hard to put down. I was kind of wondering why she went to the vampire storyline but this was better than most of the other vampire writers effort!! Hope there's a sequel!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing book that had me on the edge of my seat!

    I love Meg Cabot! This book has entertaining characters, memorable plot, and astonishing action. I love that she drops little modern references throughout the book. The action scenes were intriguing making me so nervous about how everything is going to end that I read the whole book within a day. Meena Harper is an intriguing character with quirks along with real life problems like being passed up for a promotion and the frustration of no one listening to her. When I finished this book, I thought about what I just read and then wanted to read it again. I really hope Meg Cabot writes more books about Meena Harper adventures. I would buy every single one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 147 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8