Customer Reviews for

Inside Delta Force: The Story of America's Elite Counterterrorist Unit

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Book

I found this book to be entertaining and insightful. I enjoyed getting Mr. Haney's perspective on the military and the inner workings that send our troops into combat.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Julio spicy weiner

I like dick!!!!!! c(;

posted by 2344171 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Very Good Book

    I found this book to be entertaining and insightful. I enjoyed getting Mr. Haney's perspective on the military and the inner workings that send our troops into combat.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Haney's candidness about his feelings regarding carrying out these missions was a surprising benefit Most career soldiers make it a point to mask their true feelings about a certain situation or mission, but Haney lays it all on the table It gives the book a certain authenticity that you won't find in other reads I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a realistic and grounded perspective on this elite fighting unit

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Compelling and Interesting Memoir. I enjoyed INSIDE DELTA FORCE

    Compelling and Interesting Memoir.

    I enjoyed INSIDE DELTA FORCE by Eric Haney. This narrative details Haney's experiences as an Army Ranger who enlisted in the Army right out of high school, through his experiences in selection for the very newly formed and (then) highly secretive Delta Force, and his experiences as an Operator. I enjoyed the day-to-day experiences he relates about the selection process, his training, the things he learned, the interactions with military officers and ultimately, his personal views about the war on terror.

    While the book relies heavily on the development of Delta Force, and Eric Haney's experiences through that process, it also contains explanations and circumstances surrounding both well-known and never-released-to-the-public world events that the government called upon Delta Force to execute. There's something fascinating about the makings of a Spec Ops warrior, and as I enjoy fiction about these elite warriors, I also found this nonfiction account to be highly engaging. Haney has a real gift for relaying a sensory-rich setting and the emotions connected with the memories. He pays fitting tribute to fine Operators who died, both in the line of duty and from causes incident to age. Because the memoir is written so cleanly from Haney's personal experiences, after reading it, I feel like I heard him recount his involvement and history as friends lingering over a beverage. I'm impressed with the clarity of the writing, the conciseness of the storytelling, and the pacing that carries the reader through years of military history.

    Highly recommended to fans of military nonfiction, as well as fans of military fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent book

    As a former soldier, I appreciate the fact that these men are at the absoslute top of their game. Mr. Haney tells an escellent tale and tells it well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Very inlighting

    Very good book and entertaining, we always hear about seal team six but delta force is the most shadowy counter terror unit of them all, well worth the money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Well written memoir

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the work that our special forces cadres perform. Eric Haney has a smooth flowing writing style that makes his memoir read like a novel. He makes a nostalgic recollection of selection and his early assignments, makes a detailed and blunt assessment of his activities in Lebanon, then makes a horrifying and chilling description of the invasion of Grenada. The climax of the memoir truly is novel-like, and made me put the book down to contemplate whether it was the truth or a falsehood. I lean towards thinking that it was false. Nevertheless, his description of guerrilla warfare in Honduras was the most disturbing part of the work. Overall, if you are remotely interested in the most understudied period in American history (from the fall of Saigon to 9/11) this book will give a unique glimpse into the era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    This is why people read nonfiction

    Best book ever, at least in my time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    Misleading Publishers Weekly Review

    I have not read my hardback (2002) copy of Inside Delta Force. My comments are directed toward the Publishers Weekly Review. Because of an unfortunate misunderstanding, I had all three formats (hard back-2002; mass market-2003 & trade paperback-2005) of this book in my hands at one time. PW noted "----Haney redirects for young adults the contents of his book published in 2002 for adults with the same title." There is nothing in the two paperback editions to indicate that there was any editing, rewriting or redirecting. The trade paperback version is exactly the same size & has exactly the same number of pages. If there was any "redirecting" going on, the author was exceedingly skilled at hiding his changes. I went to considerable trouble to buy a used hardcopy of the 2002 edition since my days of being a "young adult" are long gone. I wanted the uncut adult version of Haney's work. It would be very helpful if BKS web masters could correct this impression. Thanks.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    Inside DELTA Force

    OUTSTANDING!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Good read

    It was a fun read, no dull parts throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Ho hum

    A 3 star rating is being generous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Magnificent.

    Magnificent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Nook Version Doesn't Work

    I'm not sure if this is a problem with the e publisher or just me having terrible luck, but there is no text in the Nook version of the book. I've archived it, waited a few days and then un-archived it but that didn't fix the problem.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    great book

    very good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Great read

    If you liked the tv 'the unit' on cbs, you should this book! Great book! I like the side stories and jokes during the selection part!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Great!

    Good depth and an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great BOOK!!!

    What a great book. Great detail. Also, Eric Haney is a great guy and Soldier. Also... if you like the book, check out the show The Unit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent overall. Well written and fast paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    GOOD INSIGHT INTO THE ELITE FORCES

    I found it interesting that half of the book was spent talking about the testing required to get into the unit and the training that the members went through to be ready. The actual missions and details of how Delta Force saved the day were rather limited -- either because they can't be spoken of or the author didn't want to speak of them. Either way, I would have prefered to understand more of the heat of battle stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Inside Delta Force

    Inside Delta Force is a very insightful account of the beginnings of the counter-terrorist unit known as "Delta Force," which until recently was an unknown unit, and still remains formally unannounced. The book is very thought-provoking, showing Delta Force involvement in many incidences that the average American is familiar with, but then giving another story. It offers another look at how political actions are not always "best," for example, the POW camp that Delta Force was completely prepared to raid for the purpose of rescuing the US soldiers inside was seen by politicians as bad for their reelection, since the public was tired of hearing about that area of the world, and how the POW were left there instead of rescued (which, according to the book, they could easily have been).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11