Customer Reviews for

Inside My Heart: Choosing to Live with Passion and Purpose

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A positive role model

    Although other reviews on this site make the argument that Robin is only coming from a place of wealth and prestige, I must say that I got exactly the opposite point of view. She describes coming from a home where there was little money and that this was the case for her husband as well. She explains how they were not a wealthy young couple and that because of that background, there is a great deal of appreciation and humility. I felt like this was someone I could easily become friends with in that we are both southern ladies with strong women in our families. It was a very interesting read and I was sad that it ended. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, of course, but I think that a negative review of this book would be coming from someone with a bad attitude. As the title implies, this is from a woman's "heart" and it seems to me a very mature and wise one at that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Robin McGraw Inside my heart.

    I recommend this book for all women. It's a inspiring book! Robin shares little stories of her life as a mother, daughter, wife, and sister and friend. She emphasizes her choices and the fact that life is all about choices and you can help create the life you want. The life you were born to live, it helps to open your eyes to your responsibilities for yourself and your family. In my opinion she is a very inspiring woman, and I highly recommend this book for others to read. Uplifting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Great Book

    You don't have to be a great writer or even have special knowledge in a field to write a book. Robin writes about herself and her feelings. How can anyone critize that? I find her to be a strong-spirited woman. She encourages women, in a world that would rather see us unnoticed and unappricated. I loved her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    Masterpiece

    Awesome. I love this book. Good job Robin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Woman age 55 appreciates book

    This book was hard for me to put down. One because of Robin's deep belief in God and how He helped her. I also loved her as she stood up for herself. As I was growing up, I had a very domineering father and then married someone who was very dominating. I was not encouraged to think for myself and know that I had contributions to make to the world. Robin learned this lesson early. Good for her and I am glad she shared it. She is sharing what I have felt and learned to do later in life. I am buying this for other women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Loved this Book

    I was not certain how much of an impact this book would have on me considering that I am not married or have children. However, it was sooo extremely refreshing, engaging and empowering. The power of choices is something more women need to embrace and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Loved listening to Robin read this book

    I found this book to be inspiring. Never did I imagine Robin had experienced so many difficult times during her life. This book is one every woman (especially those with children) should read or listen to. I listened to the entire book on a road trip which made the trip go by so fast. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Life is about choices

    I absolutely loved this book. This isn't a book about a spoiled woman living in the lap of luxury. This is the story of a woman making choices in her own life. She helps us all remember that at our very core we are a Women! She reminds us we need to take time to appreciate that and value it. She helps us savor the every day moments of our lives. She helps us celebrate being wives, mothers, sisters, daughter-in-laws, and a child of God. This book is truly a celebration of being a woman. Some say this isn't profound, maybe not for them but for me it was truly an affirmation of who I am. This book was like reading a letter from a sister and I can't wait to share this book with my daughter when she is older because her life is a series of choices and I want her to see the power she will have. I loved this book Robin and can't wait for another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    saved my life

    I loved reADING the book I was hooked to it and it helped me to realize you have choices in life and how to wake up in the morning and thank Gode 4 it and being a women who loves God I am so glad 4 robin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    The book saved my life!!

    This book will forever be my favorite book. I was to the point in my life I didn't know what ways to turn and if I was really happy with my life and this book helped me see that if I just take some time out for myself then that would help alot! I started taking time out for myself and things are wonderful!! Thank you Robin your my hereo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Loved this book! A Must-Read for every woman.

    I have to admit I cried while listening to these cds in the van while on my road trip. They are truly an inspiration for any woman struggling with choices & striving for perfection in her life & marriage. I highly recommend for any woman between 15 and 60.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    I love it!

    I am almost finished with it. This is a great book for any woman. What an amazing woman Robin is. I really feel this is a life changing book. It gives insight into women as well as men(including Dr. Phil).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Wonderful

    I loved this book. We can all learn so much by reading this and seeing how the choices we make can shape our lives. Robin writes candidly and honestly. It could not have been easy to write some of this but she does so with so much emotion and truth. Thank you for sharing with the world what has obviously been a very successful journey leading to a life of purpose and passion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2006

    I am humbled

    Robin doesn't set out to do anything but be true to herself and in so doing this she shows the way that a gracious and beautiful woman can change the world one moment at a time. I found myself feeling like I have found the sister and friend that I have longed for and the the mother and grandmother that I have lost. She gives me focus, direction, and the sense that every little thing I do matters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Fantastic

    I love Robin- I am 21 and a newlywed and she is my idol! This book truly touched my life and yes I have $35 monogrammed towels and my husband would do the same thing, I dont think she was out of touch with the real world one bit. I wish she would write another book, I was anticipating this ones arrival and now that Ive read it I dont know what to do- read it again I guess. Anyone who really values their family and making their lives comfortable along with really knowing themselves will love this book. I recommend it 100%.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Great Words and Outlook

    I found this book to be a great inspiration! Yes, there are examples in the book that are not on my same wealth level, but Robin emphasizes her sarcasm to explain that she knows she lives a different life than most. I was glad to read real life examples of relationships with Robin and how she has handled them. I love how she explains that everyone has a choice in life, and it is up to you as to how you will react in your situation. This book was a breath of fresh air!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Wonderful and Inspirational Read!

    This book was outstanding. It appears too many readers focused on the financial aspect of the book! I feel these were used only as examples of situations in Robins life where she made a choice to respond and how these choices affected her (the theme of the book). Be an active participant in your life. Of course her situations are different than ours, she leads a different life than anyone else. We are faced with the same types of situations the details are just altered to fit our own unique lifestyle. Overall the message was loud and clear that if you are not happy with an aspect of your life you are the only one who can change it. Make choices that are right for you and choose to surround yourself with people who make you a better person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1