BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Inside Out

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    The ride continues...

    I was so fraught with trepidation about the "end of John Rain".
    BUT!!!! Eisler has maintained the SAME writing style and dialogue and twists and turns. I have a suspicion we gonna see more of John Rain - In fact Eisler probably is devising a way to create a super secret team.

    Please don't keep me waiting too long for the next book...

    Can someone direct me to 'similar' authors such as Eisler?
    Nooksan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT READ

    There's no need to recap the story, other reviewers have done that. I like Barry Eisler and his writing style is top notch. This is the second book with Ben Treven, a deep character with strong emotions and motivations. If you want an engaging read that both entertains and informs, then this is the thriller for you. Why not learn something in the process!

    Bottom line: INSIDE OUT is a hair-raising journey into dark, unexplored territory.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fast-paced espionage thriller

    In 2005 at Arlington, CIA Deputy Director Clemens, National Clandestine Service Director Killman, and Counterterrorism Center Director Alkire inform the Vice president's Chief of Staff Ulrich that approximately ninety-two tapes are missing. Clemens nervously explains the tapes are vivid showings of torture without the in their pocket main stream media sanitizing the picture for the public. Ulrich informs the frightened trio to find the tapes at any cost.

    At a bar in Manila, three Australians and Ben Treven get into an altercation. Ben breaks the finger of the middle guy; hammers another in the head with a bar stool and batters the third Aussie. Two are in spasms while the other is dead. The Filipino police arrest Ben.

    His enemy and former boss Hort arrives with a deal to free him if he takes on a mission or to let him keep puking up the prison food. Treven has five days to retrieved ninety-two damaging torture tapes from another paid killer he personally knows, Daniel Larson, who demands millions in diamonds or be prepared to watch the show on You Tube. Treven and FBI Agent Paula Lanier seek Larson as does other Feds and their contracted cronies.

    This is an action-packed fast-paced espionage thriller with stratospheric levels of testosterone that even the beautiful women seem to have an overly abundance of the hormone. Based on the reported destroyed torture tapes, Inside Out is an exciting tale as blood flows wherever either Treven (see Fault Line) or Larson happens to be; ironically as each kills without blinking both loathes torture. Although pre Abu Ghraib would have put this over the top of Everest, the audience will wonder how much is possible and how much is truly implausible.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Great Hi Tech Thriller

    What I think is so neat about Eisler is that he has actually been there and done that. All the details make logical sense and his knowledge of technology and procedure is unsurpassed. You don't read about putting silencers on revolvers in an Eisler book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Entertaining, yet scary concept!

    Inside Out is the second book in Barry Eisler's Ben Treven series. Ben Treven is a black ops soldier who recent had everything he believes in turned upside down in the previous novel Fault Line. This time Ben has been asked to track down a rogue operator who is threatening the US government with revealing tapes of American soldiers torturing prisoners all in the name of war. Ben, with the help of FBI agent Paula Lanier, must stop Larison before these tapes are revealed to the American people.

    While Inside Out had many of the things I enjoyed about Fault Line, the first Ben Treven novel, it also didn't quite live up to my expectations. I think Inside Out was much more focused on the external conflict Ben was facing in hunting down Larison and was much less focused on Ben's relationships with those around him. Inside Out also seemed transitional in the fact that Ben is being groomed to take on more a leadership role and active participant in his division than just being a mindless drone that just takes orders and executes them.

    There is no doubt that Barry Eisler writes a compelling, well researched and believable story. He is extremely knowledgeable in the nuances of the United States government and how it would manage a crisis it didn't want the American public getting wind of. It actually makes a person wonder at just what kinds of things are being kept hidden from us. Barry also can write compelling characters and gives the reader insight into how a soldier, especially a fierce, loyal and aggressive soldier views the world. I found it very interesting how Paula would psychoanalyze Ben and hit the nail right on the head. I do wish that there would have been more romance between these two, although the one sex scene in the book was smoking hot! Also, I felt like certain issues were wrapped up rather quickly at the end. But, I am definitely going to be reading the next Ben Treven novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced thriller

    Ninety-two classified CIA torture tapes are missing, stolen by Daniel Larison, a former black ops operator who is blackmailing the government. Meanwhile, black ops soldier Ben Treven is in a Manila jail after a deadly bar fight. He's visited by his former commander, Col. Scott Horton, who can get him released if he's willing to find and kill Daniel Larison and recover the tapes. The biggest concern is keeping even the knowledge of the tapes from the media and the public.

    Ben's not the only one on a quest for the missing tapes, pitting him against the CIA, mercenaries and even the White House. He's matched step by step in his search by Paula Lanier, an FBI agent. Who will get to them first and who in the government is trying to keep this all quiet for their own reasons?

    A former member of the CIA, Eisler has written a fast paced, and believable scenario reminiscent of the Watergate break-in and subsequent cover-up. You'll enjoy this one!

    Lynn Kimmerle, Monarch Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inside Out

    I enjoy Barry Eisler's books and his experience within the CIA shows in his writing. Inside Out is no exception. This story deals with the CIA's torture tapes, which they have told the US were destroyed, but in reality were stolen. And the thief wants one hundred million dollars.

    Ben Treven's mission is to find and dispose of the blackmailer. Treven was introduced in Eislers' Fault Line which I thought was an okay book. This one also, was just okay. I really like his John Rain stories and look forward to the one which combines both characters as hinted at the end of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A BRILLIANT ACCOUNT - CALLED FICTION, OR IS IT?

    He's never failed me yet - Barry Eisler's books have been consistently exciting, gripping, can't-put-down thrillers, especially the John Rain titles. However, with INSIDE OUT he exceeds his own high standards with a revealing look at the netherworld of official torture, killings, and ghosting of detaineees. While it is a brilliant fictional account, don't think for a minute that it's fiction...simply think.

    After a deadly barroom brawl black ops soldier Ben Treven (remembered from FAULT LINE) is tossed into a nightmarish Manilla prison where he fears he'll never be given a hearing but left to rot in the cell he shares with a dozen other prisoners. Enter Colonel Scott Horton (Hort), Ben's commander. Why is Hort there? In his words, "When I heard they had visiting hours in hell, I just couldn't stay away."

    Hort offers him release....at a cost. Ninety-two torture tapes have been stolen from the CIA by a rogue member of Ben's unit, Daniel Larison, who is blackmailing the U.S. government for a million in uncut diamonds. These tapes are incendiary showing torture approved by the office of the U.S. Vice President. Ben is to find and get rid of Larison. At some level Ben seems to realize that he is being manipulated and threatened, but could not resist Hort's approval nor deny his desperate need to get out of prison. Little did he know or even dare imagine the twists and turns, machinations and betrayals that he would face.

    Of course, Larison and the missing tapes are of great interest not only to the CIA, but also the FBI, and other political figures. The FBI is represented by Paula Lanier, a beauteous agent, which gives Eisler the opportunity to pen one hot sex scene. Nonetheless pleasure aside,, Ben finds himself unable to distinguish between friend and enemy, always guarding his back, and realizing that there is even more to the tapes than their explosive content.

    At heart INSIDE OUT reveals the education of Ben in the ways of political conspiracies, and the lengths to which others will go to gain or retain power. After his three years in the CIA it is a story only Eisler could have and should have written. Forged with tension, terror, and truth it should be required reading. Exhaustively researched the book includes a Bibliography and an impressive list of Sources. INSIDE OUT is listed as fiction - read it and then ask why.

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting book

    This book is more a spook procedural than a thriller. The main characters criss-cross the globe in search of information and motive, ending up in a stunning shoot-out in Costa Rica and followed by cross, double-cross, triple-cross machinations that Machiavelli would approve of. The novel purports, as well, to be an inside-the-beltway who-dun-it on the missing CIA interrogation tapes widely reported in the media. Eisler's cynical and all too often over-the-top political views are on full display. We can look forward to sequels as the cadre of professional killers left standing pursue ever more blood-letting to consolidate the power attained in this novel. Entertaining, a bit scary and at the same time a bit on the looney side politically. Worth the money and the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Will It Rain Again?

    As a big fan of Barry Eisler's "Rain" novels, I was disappointed with his first non-Rain story. But Inside Out has me happy again as Ben Treven proves worthy of the Rain mantel. Yet Eisler may have paved the way for Rain to return in partnership of some kind with Treven, and that would make me a very happy camper.
    Whether it is a realistic view anymore or not, I want to believe that there are still people in power who believe in the Constitution and haven't sold out to the oligarchy. Eisler does a great job here of making the lines clear. No matter your politics, it's hard to argue with what he is saying in this, his most political novel yet. And I like that he chose to make the female FBI agent a black woman, and the (perhaps) villain a gay man with a lover, and true feelings. Gays in the military wouldn't be an issue in an Eisler novel. And, with tongue in cheek, I suggest that
    once some male readers see how a certain female in this novel behaves, they might prefer to be gay as well!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4