Customer Reviews for

Inside Out (Brown Siblings Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific contemporary romance

Ella Tipton still struggles with mental healing after her last relationship with an abuser almost left her dead. Tattooed Andrew "Cope" Copeland and Ella have been friends for years, but though she has had dreams starring him he never showed any romantic interest in he...
Ella Tipton still struggles with mental healing after her last relationship with an abuser almost left her dead. Tattooed Andrew "Cope" Copeland and Ella have been friends for years, but though she has had dreams starring him he never showed any romantic interest in her. Cope offers her self-defense training so she can have a chance to defend herself if ever caught in the same ugly scenario that almost killed her. She accepts.

However, their touching as part of the lessons has both struggling with desire. Yet when Cope asks her to go out on a date, she is stunned, but accepts. While they fall in love, Ella fears her reactions are one sided as she distrusts herself to know otherwise having picked a psychopath previously. As for Cope, he struggles to cope with his feelings as he is used to playing the field.

This is a terrific contemporary romance with two strong protagonists whose relationship changes from friend to friend and lover. Ella and Cope know they must Laid Bare their hearts as well as they do their body parts, but each fears an intimate loving relationship. Lauren Dane provides her audience with a deep heartfelt relationship drama as the heroine remains somewhat traumatized and the hero is the deer in the headlights.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

There was no story

I enjoyed Laid Bare and a lot of Lauren Dane's books, but this one was kind of pointless. They were in love from the beginning, he was willing to do anything for her and he did. They just kept thanking each other for being so wonderful to each other.

posted by BookishLisa1975 on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific contemporary romance

    Ella Tipton still struggles with mental healing after her last relationship with an abuser almost left her dead. Tattooed Andrew "Cope" Copeland and Ella have been friends for years, but though she has had dreams starring him he never showed any romantic interest in her. Cope offers her self-defense training so she can have a chance to defend herself if ever caught in the same ugly scenario that almost killed her. She accepts.

    However, their touching as part of the lessons has both struggling with desire. Yet when Cope asks her to go out on a date, she is stunned, but accepts. While they fall in love, Ella fears her reactions are one sided as she distrusts herself to know otherwise having picked a psychopath previously. As for Cope, he struggles to cope with his feelings as he is used to playing the field.

    This is a terrific contemporary romance with two strong protagonists whose relationship changes from friend to friend and lover. Ella and Cope know they must Laid Bare their hearts as well as they do their body parts, but each fears an intimate loving relationship. Lauren Dane provides her audience with a deep heartfelt relationship drama as the heroine remains somewhat traumatized and the hero is the deer in the headlights.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    The Romance Reviews Top Pick

    A beautiful masterpiece. Every word was a gift.

    The chills are still on my arms from loving this book so much. Inside Out is the third book in the Brown Sibling series. I do believe it can stand alone with ease. That being said, I am glad that I could experience this book as the treasure it is to those following this extended family.

    Ella Tipton was introduced in book one as Erin Brown's friend and employee at Erin's café. Ella was nearly beaten to death by her abusive ex-boy friend and over the last two books, Ella has faced demons large and small to regain her independence and self confidence.

    Andrew Copeland, Erin's brother in-law, has been waiting. Waiting for the time when he and Ella could have their try at love. He is a gorgeous man with no lack for female companionship, but none of them has been the one he really wants. Ella is the one with his heart.

    Now, it is finally time. Time for these two to dive in and either sink or swim.

    Although Ella and Cope are the focal point of this story, all of the previous major characters' stories are advanced. Erin is at the end of her pregnancy and her health is at risk. One of her husbands, Ben, still has significant issues with his father over his lifestyle choice. Erin's brother Brody is getting married to Elise. And her rock star brother, Adrian, dreams of being with his family rather than the road. So, it's not just the story of Andy and Ella. It's the story of a family.

    The first half of this story I wept. It was such a romantic story, it read like a love letter. I just cried and cried for Ella as she was swept off her feet by Cope. I blushed and grinned during all the lusty sex-filled scenes. And then the tension came. More than once I wanted to chuck my kindle at the wall because of frustrating choices. The tension got so thick I am sure the fingernail imprints in my leather cover are now permanent.

    Ms. Dane wrote such a multi-dimensional world that I fell right into the story and felt each joy, each stomach clench, each shiver, each sigh. I love when an author can do that. I love to be unable to put my kindle down.

    Inside Out is a fast-paced story of love, family and friends who are all survivors in one way or another. Their love shines off the page and permeates every moment. Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inside Out by Lauren Dane

    I'm a lover of all things romance. I'm also a lover of all things Lauren Dane. Why do I love Lauren Dane? Because she's wicked smart and her intelligence shines through in every book. Dane's latest book, INSIDE OUT released yesterday. I read it. Ok. DEVOURED it. Wow. SO EVERYTHING! You MUST buy this book. You'll be glad you did! From the Back Cover: WORTH THE WAIT Ella Tipton is a survivor. In the wake of an attack that left her nearly dead, she's spent each day putting her life back together. Once vibrant and outgoing, she's needed to reclaim the best parts of who she was while retaining the hard won lessons. There hasn't been room for any romantic entanglements, even if she were ready. Still, it didn't mean she had to stop sneaking looks at Mister Tall, Dark and Tattooed himself. Security professional Andrew Copeland isn't quite sure when his jones for the lovely and decidedly skittish Ella developed. He's known her for years, has watched her triumph over the pain she'd been dealt. Cope is no stranger to women, but he knows the nervous flush he gets every time he talks to her is different than any attraction he's had in the past. Determined to get Ella to let him in, Andy does the one thing he can think of to get close: he offers her hands-on training in self-defense. While Ella's sure he's just being nice, the prospect of being able to touch him and gain the tools to push away the last vestiges of her fear is more than she can resist. Soon enough, Cope shows Ella his feelings are far more than friendly and re-ignites something deep inside her. Before long desire and love turn them both inside out. I loved this book. I love Ella's strength. I love Cope's vulnerability. I love the way Dane built their relationship. This isn't a case of love at first sight but a love built over time. I have adored every book in this series. While you can read INSIDE OUT as a stand alone, you'd be crazy to not buy the other books in this series. C.R.A.Z.Y. I tell ya! The characters from COMING UNDONE and LAID BARE feature prominently in INSIDE OUT. I love that. I love seeing my favorite characters living THEIR happily ever afters! Join me in the mad love for Lauren Dane. Click the 'recommended' links to buy YOUR copies. TODAY!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Beautiful Love Story

    This is the 3rd book of the Brown Siblings Series. I read the first and second books which I absolutely loved, and this book about the relationship between "HOT" Andrew "Cope" Copeland and Ella Tipton did not disappoint. Cope and Ella had known each other for years, but Ella was recovering both physically and emotionally from a very abusive relationship. They had so many trials and tribulations to get through before they were ready for the other and he gave her the time and space she needed to find her way back to the person she once was. Once their relationship began, it slowly built to a beautiful erotic love story. You just can't help but fall in love with these two and the sex is amazing. There were times I laughed and times I found to be very emotional. I like the way Lauren Dane brings characters from the first two books into this one which updates you on the other relationships. I will definitely read Adrians story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    I absolutely loved Cope and Ella's story. How wonderful was it

    I absolutely loved Cope and Ella's story. How wonderful was it for two people who have loved each other for so long to finally come together,but who had so many trials and tribulations to get through before they were each ready for the other? Although, there was a little too much focus on Erin and her pregnancy, the story was still primarily about Cope and Ella being able to finally love each other openly and freely, with no bounds. My gosh..how HOT IS COPE??!! WHOA!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    My favorite of the series.

    I loved the character Andrew.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tattoos, coffee, and romance

    I love this series. It did feel more the a true romantic read compared to the previous books in the series. But this book was beautiful written and love story told is an amazing addition to the series. Cant wait for the next...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Great installment to sexy series.

    I'm a huge fan of this series. Laid Bare is probably my all-time favorite erotic novel. I went into Inside Out thinking it was going to be an erotic read, but for me, it wasn't. It was a love story. It was a story about family and making choices. I loved it!

    Ella Tipton is the manager of the coffee shop/cafe owned by Erin Brown in Laid Bare. She was in an abusive relationship and was almost killed by her ex. She's slowly recovering and learning how to live a full life on her own terms again, but she has lifelong scars - both mental and physical. In addition to managing the cafe, she's also finishing up her Master's degree in Social Work and working a job related to that.

    Andrew "Cope" Copeland is a "bad boy" who's got a playboy reputation when it comes to the ladies. He's had a crush on Ella for a long time, but first she was in a relationship, then she was attacked and needed to recover, so the time never seemed right for him to make a move. Until now.

    Ella and Cope's story sizzled. The heat was there, just below the surface, slowly boiling toward a super hot eruption. I loved that they were already friends and turned it into something so much more - more special, more sexy, more emotionally raw. They both had issues - besides Ella's issues related to her attack by her ex-boyfriend, Cope brought some baggage into the relationship as well - as the second son, he spent most of his life trying to live up to his father's image of his older brother Ben. Cope and Ben's father is having a hard time coming to terms with Ben's relationship (a threesome), and Cope has been trying to patch things up between his father and Ben, but it's not working.

    I have only two small complaints: I got tired about reading about Erin's pregnancy. I understand everyone was worried about her and it was a huge part of the storyline, but it was frustrating as a reader to read what felt like the same thing over and over. Also, the heroines of the three books in this series to date all have names that start with E - Erin, Elise, and Ella. I've mentioned before that I get confused when the names are similar. All three heroines have intertwining storylines in the book; I was able to keep everyone straight but sometimes had to re-read a line or paragraph and double-check to make sure I had was picturing the right people in my head.

    Inside Out is emotionally exhausting - but in a good way. I was so vested in the characters lives that I took their triumphs and tragedies to heart myself. It was a wonderful read and I'm so glad that in addition to Ella and Cope we also got to see how all the other siblings and friends are doing.

    I'm now anxiously awaiting Adrian's book - Never Enough - coming in September 2011. (I'm so glad his love interest isn't Raven!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    Lauren Dane is awesome! The romance was great, and it was steamy. Love it! I can't wait to read Lauren's other books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Great Book! you much check it out!!

    I love the series of books by Lauren Dane. This is my favorite so far. I love the characters of this book, Ella Tipton, and Andrew "cope" Copeland. They are so enduring. Ella overcoming an abusive relationship and Andrew also overcoming misjudgements of other people. These characters make you want to root for them from start to finish. I really love this book. I think I will remember Inside Out, Ella, and Andrew for a long time to come. I can't wait to read Andrian's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There was no story

    I enjoyed Laid Bare and a lot of Lauren Dane's books, but this one was kind of pointless. They were in love from the beginning, he was willing to do anything for her and he did. They just kept thanking each other for being so wonderful to each other.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    This was everything I was waiting for. I read it in one sitting! Can't wait for the last book in this series. 10/2011 is so far right now!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Not worth $13

    This is the third Brown series book I've read and it is the worst by far. 206 pages for $13 is so wrong. I felt the main characters lacked depth and it seemed to be just a "catch up" book with the rest of the family instead of a stand alone story. I doubt that I'll read any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    I was so disappointed with this story. The first two books in the series are definitely good reads. This one is only worth reading to follow the characters from the first two books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't decide...

    I went back and forth on this one. At times I thought I'd give it four stars, but at other parts I was tempted to do two. Parts of it I really liked--Ella is a strong character, working her way back from an experience that nearly killed her. Cope is a fun, strong male lead. However, at times their dialogue--both internal and external--seemed to be a bit much. The climax at the end practically wasn't. I guess I just expected a bit more than was actually there. I am going to give the first two in the series a try, though--the characters from those books featured prominently in this one and I would like to see how they got to where they are, and I definitely want to read Adrian's story, which is due out next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9