Customer Reviews for

Inside Out and Back Again

Average Rating 4.5
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Historically correct

I fell in love with this book. It was breathtakingly written by Thannha Lai. I read the poems many times each, and I can almost feel the tree that Ha plants. Buy this book!

posted by 10111257 on April 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I WISH I COULD RATE THIS WITH A MILLION STARS

This book is so amazing. The authors words touch your heart and then send your soul out wanting to help kids like ha( the main charachter of this book.as a early middle schooler i have learned that even when i feel like i have the worst luck of anyone in the world, its ...
This book is so amazing. The authors words touch your heart and then send your soul out wanting to help kids like ha( the main charachter of this book.as a early middle schooler i have learned that even when i feel like i have the worst luck of anyone in the world, its not true. Now i know that instead of spending my time asking for stuff i should be working on helping the world.
this is the most amazing book to me. Not only did reading this change my heart but i know it can change the hearts of people across the world.

posted by 6211908 on August 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Historically correct

    I fell in love with this book. It was breathtakingly written by Thannha Lai. I read the poems many times each, and I can almost feel the tree that Ha plants. Buy this book!

    37 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    An excellent teaching story

    This book tells how it was in Vietnam immediately before the fall of Saigon and the turbulent aftermath when everyone was forced to flee. Thing is, it's from the point of view of a little girl, Ha, 10 years old. She paints beautiful verbal pictures of her life and traditions in Vietnam, and also gives little glimpses into what she's thinking and struggling with. When her family moves to the United States, she continues writing about her experiences and her feelings about her new life. She experiences hardship and heartbreak, and the thought that she doesn't fit in. In case you think this is a depressing book, let me assure you it isn't. Obviously, there are some sad spots, but there is beauty and humor and a lot of insight into the world this child sees. I HIGHLY recommend this book. I read it with my 9 yr old granddaughter, a few poems each night, taking turns reading. She would beg for 'one more, one more', until we read 30 minutes or more. We discussed certain poems and re-read others. I looked forward to reading it as much as she did!

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Kim

    I can not stop reading this book about Kim and her new life in America for she can go through life.

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Great Book. Im encouraging you to gey lt it. Some parts are harder to understand. But still a good book!

    18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    really good book!!!!

    I would say this is a really good book if you like poems that tell a story.

    16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    So good

    Love this book sooooooooooooo much Get It

    13 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    I love it!

    I
    love
    this
    book !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Love it

    My dad and I were just at the bookstore and he told me that it is a classic favorite and yes it did win a newberry.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Most awsome book dut sad at the same time

    Kim and her family with out the home because of war must be realy hard

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    best book ever!!! :)

    i just started reading this book and so far its a very good book! i cant wait till the climax is here! cant stop reading it! highly recommend everyone to read it :)

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Click yes

    This book is awesome because it is inspiring and it also shows how some exchange students feel or act. I definently recomend getting this book. Click "yes" if you agree.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    IMPORTANT

    Just to let you know,the author of this book made it all about her own life in many ways.This book is almost an autobiography,so the author went through most of the stuff Ha went through,if not all of it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    SHOULD I GET THIS?!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!??!?!?!?!?!!?!?!

    I want to know if I should get this! I read the plot and it looks good and when I looked at the reveiws 2 people didnt write anything! Dont do that guys, Im serois!

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    I personaly think this book wslas not boreing at all! It was touching, I am still reading it and past the middle. It is a story about a girl named Kim or Ha' and her journey to America, it may seem boreing how I put it, but read it. This book is easy to get through, and read it again if you misunderstoodd parts. I am 12 and love the book, I had some background nolge, but some of you may need to ask some one old to fully understand. If you think you have a lot of problems, see how many she has, and now she deals with them i this book. Not only you have problems...
    ..hint hint

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I read this not on a nook

    This book is awesome its so good not just bescuse its aDCF book it also made me under stan so of the past

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Best

    I cant stop stop reading very good book

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Review

    Best book ever

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    People peeps

    I heard about this in class

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Anonoums

    I havent even read it yet. I s it a new bery honor book?

    3 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Good book!!!

    I LOVE THAT BOOK!!!:)

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9