Customer Reviews for

Inside Scientology: The Story of America's Most Secretive Religion

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

uncovering the hidden world of scientology

"inside scientology" is a very hard to put down book. the writer has done an amazing job researching this questianable organization for over many years interviewing many former members of the church of scientology and how this group has a control over its members and ...
"inside scientology" is a very hard to put down book. the writer has done an amazing job researching this questianable organization for over many years interviewing many former members of the church of scientology and how this group has a control over its members and how they use certain abusive tactics to pursue individuels and media out lets who questian their motives and practices and money. great gift for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

how. dare. you.

Scientology is NOT some secretive religion. the fact that someone even wrote a book about it SHOWS that its NOT IN ANY WAY secretive. WHY CAN'T PEOPLE JUST LET OTHERS BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE??? this book is insulting to even look at.It actually insults me. I don't go...
Scientology is NOT some secretive religion. the fact that someone even wrote a book about it SHOWS that its NOT IN ANY WAY secretive. WHY CAN'T PEOPLE JUST LET OTHERS BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE??? this book is insulting to even look at.It actually insults me. I don't go around telling Christians that God isn't real, why should I (or YOU for that matter) go around telling Scientologists that what they believe isn't true?

posted by 5543203 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    uncovering the hidden world of scientology

    "inside scientology" is a very hard to put down book. the writer has done an amazing job researching this questianable organization for over many years interviewing many former members of the church of scientology and how this group has a control over its members and how they use certain abusive tactics to pursue individuels and media out lets who questian their motives and practices and money. great gift for a friend or family member.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Man - Half Possesed/Half Depressed - All B.S.

    It's amazing. One man, that anyone that took psychology 101 could describe as having extreme bipolar disorder with a predaliction of compulsive lying, could rise to such wealth and power. Hey, did you know the word "Gullable" is written on the ceiling?? Really!! Look up, it's there.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Valuable insight into a dangerous organization.

    This is a well researched, objective stidy of an organization that can only be compared to something like Stalin's Soviet Union, or Hitler's Nazi party. It is both a totalitarian organization and a criminal enterprise, with institutionalized purges, thought police, intimidation, and spying (and reporting on ) one's family, friends, and neighbors.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting, well-researched and disturbing

    We always hear so much about Scientology and the famous who are associated with it but Reitman goes much further and starts at the beginning with L. Ron Hubbard. How after his death this franchised faith became stronger. There is obvious controversy, cover-up and most of this organization thrives,succeeds on power and especially MONEY. The more you pay the higher your understanding of the "study of truth" becomes. With millions of members in 165 different countries, numerous real estate holdings and the statement that 50-60,000 people pay for some type of information on Scientology every year is jaw-dropping. Reitman provides notes, bibliography and index. She's a graduate of UCal-Santa Cruz and has a master's degree in journalism from Columbia.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Informative and interesting

    A very well-written and thoroughly researched book that pulls back the curtain on the snake oil salesman's wagon. What I found most interesting is that the largest threat to Scientology is not the naysayers and critics of the "religion" (as they woyld like you to believe), but those who are involved in (and promote it) most passionately. Always ready to strike with litigation and harassment and cry "bully" (or whatever choice buzz word they opt for), you'd think they would focus more on not shooting themselves in the foot. Which, of course, is the fault of the media. Until next time when they've come out with a new, updated Scientology 4.0, the biggest curiosity to me is that people continue to pay to be duped. Fascinating.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating & Fascinating

    Almost impossible to stop reading! The writing and facts are astounding! Very entertaining - but frightening at the same time!

    Unbelievable how facts were kept hidden from the people of this world - until now!

    MUST READ!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Why judge?

    Because it's not true. It is insane. It is a "religion" created be a sci fi writer. Isn't that enough to tip you off? It is also dangerous. THINK! If you still can.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Great

    There are plenty of books out there that discredit the existence of Christ. No one is "telling" you that your religion is or isnt right, freedom of speech people! This is a wonderfully researched and well written book that provides some insight as to how Scientology came to light. I enjoyed this book just as much as i enjoyed books explaining The Big Bang theory

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Brilliantly researched

    Captivating

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Disclaimer: This is all based on what I learned in this book. I

    Disclaimer: This is all based on what I learned in this book. I didn’t do any other readings or research, so it glosses over a lot of the details.
    I have to admit, I was intrigued when I saw this book pop up in my Goodreads notifications and decided to give it a try. I didn’t really know much about Scientology other than Tom Cruise, science fiction and that the media portrays them as brainwashed and cultish, so I was definitely interested. With that said, I actually learned a lot.




    Although the book claimed to be an unbiased look inside the world of Scientology, it left me wondering whether this was true. I’m not sure if Scientology is actually as bad as the author makes it sound or if she may have been a bit biased simply because she’s not part of the church. I’d be really curious to read a book by someone who was and still IS affiliated with the church, which doesn’t seem to exist. All of the people interviewed were ex-members, and although I am sure that there was some validity to what they said, I have to wonder about some of the things that were said to have happened.With all of that said, I am going to go out on a limb and say that Scientology isn’t as nuts as I thought it was. I mean, they basically believe in reincarnation, discovering and being freed from a traumatic experience in order to move forward and that we are over-medicating to deal with our problems.  None of those things are specific to Scientology and are actually pretty widespread beliefs.




    It’s not as difficult to see how and why people enter the vortex of Scientology. Their entire premise, that you are in control of your life and will succeed if you could only discover and handle past traumas, is a pretty generic idea. The way you get sucked in, according to the book, is in part due to the fact that you are told that the only way to discover and free yourself is to attend their auditing sessions, at their centers and pay for their services. Then, once they have your initial down payments, which can range in the thousands of dollars, they pretty much own you. And they will give you services on credit, which means that you continue to owe them, which you can either pay off with money or by working for them, which means that they own you even more.




    The reason for their reputation is because of their extreme views and practices. They aren’t just anti-over medicating, they are anti-medicating, period. And it’s only the extreme zealots that are against other people medicating themselves or their children. The average Scientologist doesn’t really give a hoot about what other people are doing because they are too wrapped up in their own “thetans” and Bridge to Total Freedom to really care. Like any religion, the average person doesn’t really care how other people are living their lives so long as it doesn’t impede on theirs, but like any religion, they have their media-loving zealots who make everyone else look bad.




    So, while I don’t see myself attending an auditing session anytime (ever), I was surprised at the quiet confidence that some of the current members demonstrated. It’s not so hard to see why so many people join the church. Their entire basis hinges on the fact that everyone has something wrong with them and that they can fix it, which is a pretty inviting statement when you’re down and out. I’m willing to bet that the people who actively hate them are the ones that are afraid of becoming hooked if they were to go through an auditing session (kind of like how the most homophobics show underlying homosexual tendencies).For a list of people who are Scientologists (some really surprised me), go to: list of Scientologists (I was really surprised to see that Catherine Bell, Elisabeth Moss, Leah Remini, a few actors from “That 70’s Show” and Jason Lee were on it).

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Well...

    Not that I'm a fan of Scientology, but don't you "pay to be duped" with very religion?

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    how. dare. you.

    Scientology is NOT some secretive religion. the fact that someone even wrote a book about it SHOWS that its NOT IN ANY WAY secretive. WHY CAN'T PEOPLE JUST LET OTHERS BELIEVE WHAT THEY BELIEVE??? this book is insulting to even look at.It actually insults me. I don't go around telling Christians that God isn't real, why should I (or YOU for that matter) go around telling Scientologists that what they believe isn't true?

    3 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Not worth it

    If "Inside Scientology" is characterized as a definitive study of this religion, it should really be characterized as study of Scientology's detractors. This of course is commercial journalism with the objective of selling books. Nothing wrong with making a buck but Ms. Reitman takes the posture of a journalistic white knight in the service of pure truth. Of course truth is not usually that simple and often it doesn't make for a compelling read. Daily life can be pretty bland. From my experience as a long-time Scientologist, I have to say that I'm more familiar with smart, well-intentioned people who work hard at both gaining a better understanding of their spiritual natural and helping improve conditions for others in many and varied ways. But that's a dull story in comparison to a secretive cult with some undisclosed agenda. These are the days of tabloid journalism and "news" often being the process of jumping from one celebrity scandal to another. All I can say is there is another Scientology story from the inside that isn't told in this book.

    2 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Long but informative

    Exhausting and long, but clear and well chronicled story of a terrifying organization.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    An excellent account of the rise of scientology, the life of Hub

    An excellent account of the rise of scientology, the life of Hubbard, the many controversies of the church, and as fun and interesting to read as a popular fiction novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Yall need sum jesus.

    Yep yep yep.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    It wasn't what I thought

    Got this thinking I'd get some good insight but didn't. Oh well it was free.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3