Customer Reviews for

Inside Threat (Riley Covington Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Recommended

    Great series - terrible ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Very suspenseful!!

    Inside Threat is the last of four books in the Riley Covington Thriller series. Although I was sent this review copy without having read the previous novels in the series, I immensely enjoyed this book. The story centers around an all american football (and military hero) who is trying to navigate his way in the NFL after his high profile military career. The novel also centers on a few other main characters who have previously surrounded Riley and held a place in his life and especially one who still holds his heart. The book is an action packed suspense novel based around radical Islamists who are attempting to hold a national uprising "jihad" and end up doing it on Riley's turf and involve those he holds dear. This is an interesting read with details on Islam that were fascinating, taking place primarily in D.C. along with an ending that I did not expect. Without having read the previous novels to have an in depth understanding of the characters, I was still drawn into this story and really enjoyed it, and would recommend it.I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Suspenseful, patriotic, and one you won't want to put down!

    The fourth book in a series of thrillers by Elam and Yohn, Inside Threat opens with American hero, Riley Covington back on the football field, but wondering if he is where he belongs and trying to forget the woman he loves but can't have, Khadi Faroughi. Khadi too is questioning the direction of her own life and trying to forget Riley. Before either one of them can fully answer these questions, their lives are violently interrupted by a heinous attack that will put them both in jeopardy. Set against the backdrop of terrorism and our war against those who would do us harm, this is a story of faith and sacrifice, heroism and love, of God and His people that will leave you hoping that we really do have people like Riley Covington and his friends looking out for us in these dangerous times.

    I had read the first book in the series (Monday Night Jihad), but not the other two (Blown Coverage and Black-Out). I found that while the books are definitely a series, I was able to enjoy Inside Threat even without reading the two books in between. As a football fan, I could really appreciate how much inside-the-huddle perspective Jason Elam (former placekicker for the Denver Broncos) brought to Riley Covington's character. The story moves from scene to scene, from watching Riley, to the efforts of his friends at the counterterrorism unit he was once a part of, to Khadi working security for a powerful U.S. senator, to the terrorists plotting the attack. The suspense builds rapidly and draws you in to the life and death decisions and split second timing of the team trying to stop the terrorists. One of my favorite things about this book is that the Christian faith of the believers in the story is portrayed with honesty and realism. They ask real questions and struggle with real issues, sometimes they even blow it and do the wrong thing. No cookie cutter, paper-doll caricatures of faith here, but real, earnest, fallible followers of Christ who live to serve Him as best they know how. Tyndale House Publishers has graciously provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for the purpose of giving an honest review which is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Thriller!

    Inside Threat is not the style of book that I would normally read, but I thought it sounded interesting and decided to give it a try. It has a great story, great plot, and suprising ending. I am so glad that I chose this book! Riley Covington is a Christian, professional football player and former counterterrorism agent. He was in love with Khadi Faroughi, a Muslim woman, that he worked with on the counterterrorism team. Khadi becomes a hostage of a homegrown terrorist organization, and Riley comes to her rescue. Riley faces his feelings for her, and Khadi faces the truth about her faith and the one True God. This is a fast paced, action packed thriller that you will have a hard time putting down. I received this book free from the publisher in order to write an unbiased, honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This was a really great book! It is the 4rth book in the Riley Covington series. I actually haven't read any of the books before it, but honestly, I didn't feel like I was missing pieces. So even if this is the only book in the series that you have read, you'll be able to get everything that happens. The book starts out with Riley Covington and the problems that he is having in his football career and also clues you in on Riley's past romance with Khadi Faroughi, a Muslim woman who used to be his co-worker in the counter terrorism division of the government. Terrorists take over a cathedral in Washington DC and then it ultimately comes down to one person sacrificing them self for another.
    This is a christian thriller, but its not preachy. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys fast paced Jason Bourne-esque books.


    Tyndale provided me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This review was not influenced by them and is my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good- Cried hard at the end though!

    In this final book, of the Riley Covington Thriller Series, America is under attack. After the suspicious death of the United State Senate Chaplain, a funeral is to be held, in the national Cathedral. Nothing out of the ordinary. Khadi Faroughi, Riley's Muslim crush, is simply doing her job protecting the photo-op hungry Senator Andrews. Until she gets a call. And 24 men rush into the National Cathedral with guns. And explosive vests. And knives. No pressure. as Congressman and civilian alike are slaughtered mercilessly, Riley has to do what it takes to save the hostages, even if it means risking his life.

    ~

    I have come to love this series. Starting with Monday Night Jihad, this has been one well researched and beautifully woven-together story. I never had realized before how fragile life is, and the true cost of loving our enemies. I love how they put the place, date, and time above every chapter. It definitely helped to understand the book. I would recommend this series and this book specifically to ages 15+, though it really depends on the unique person. A thirteen year old may be able to cope with the gore a lot more easily than a sensitive 19 year old. The one thing I disliked was the ending. Though I cannot tell you all the details without spoiling it, I must say, I cried very very hard. Even with that said, I would still rate this book about a nine on a scale of one to ten.


    Libbi H.


    P.S. The opinions expressed in this are my own, because I agreed to receive a book from Tyndale publishing in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Really get this book you will be glad you did. Really get this book you will be glad you did. Really get this book you will be glad you did

    Inside Threat by Jason Elam and Steve Yohn is a good book. It is about a guy named Riley Covington. He is in love and trying to live the American dream of football. He is returning to the game as a linebacker for the Washington Warriors. He leaves the game because of love and because of his boss. I liked this book very much. Its plot is based around an attack on America by US born Islamic terrorist, I also must add that it scares me to because this story seems very possible. I like that there is romance in this book to go with the action. This book is really fast paced. I also liked that the writers of this story give you the time and date of each chapter. I was not aware of this series when I chose the book but it is the fourth book in a series. I was glad to find that while reading it I did not have to read the three preceding books to be able to enjoy this book. I do look forward to reading the three stories I have not read. I also hope there will be more Riley Covington stories to come in the future I really liked him. I give this book 4 stars. It was good. I also need to let you know that Tyndale House Publishers gave this book to me in exchange for my review. The opinions are my own. Really get this book you will be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inside Threat!

    Riley Covington has always played by the rules. Now he's about to break every one. Riley Covington's comeback to football as the linebacker for Washington Warriors is cut short. First he gets in trouble with his boss and then he hears about a hostage situation involving Khadi Faroughi - the woman he loves. Scott Ross, Director of the Counter Terrorism Division's Special Operation Group Bravo and Riley's former boss, doesn't want Riley anywhere near the scene. But because it involves Khadi - and so many others - he goes anyway, with a dangerous plan to rescue them. Considering I've read the first 3 books in the 'Riley Covington Thriller' series (Monday Night Jihad, Blown Coverage, and Blackout), when I heard there was going to be a new addition, I eagerly anticipated reading 'Inside Threat'. One thing I really like about this thriller is how the beginning of every chapter tells the reader what time, date, and location that chapter takes place. When books don't provide that information, I sometimes will think 'How many days later is it since the last chapter', 'Where are the characters now' and so on. I recommend reading the first three books in this series, but I feel that even if you haven't read the rest of the series, you could still enjoy 'Inside Threat' because Jason Elam and Steve Yohn did a great job of filling in a lot of the background story. 'Inside Threat' starts out with just a hint of the suspense that's to come and when you get about half way through, that's when the main plot begins! I loved the story of redemption that was throughout the book. The reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I found many moments in 'Inside Threat' very sad. I ended up getting teary-eyed a couple of times. There were also some gruesome scenes that I found a little disturbing. I would recommend 'Inside Threat' if you love reading thrillers, but be forewarned - this is not a typical thriller. *Much thanks to Tyndale for providing me a complimentary copy of 'Inside Threat' for my honest review!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1