Customer Reviews for

Inside of a Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know

Average Rating 3.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

This is the best dog book ever!

The Inside of a Dog is very true to its title. I could not put it down at night, partially because my black labrador sleeps diagonally between my husband and I. If you are a dog lover, this book will forever change how you look at your dog. It gives you the inside scoop...
The Inside of a Dog is very true to its title. I could not put it down at night, partially because my black labrador sleeps diagonally between my husband and I. If you are a dog lover, this book will forever change how you look at your dog. It gives you the inside scoop about why your dog enjoys smelling everything. There are suggestions in the book about simple things that will make your dog happy, which really work.

The book shows how the dog has evolved into our common house dog, and what makes the dog the canine he is.

posted by KatrineHB on May 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Dull and pretentious

I too got sucked in by the "New York Times Bestseller" billing. I could not get through more than 35 pages. The prelude started ok enough, but then the author felt the need to spend 2 pages expaining why she uses the term "the dog" and what she means by it. You get t...
I too got sucked in by the "New York Times Bestseller" billing. I could not get through more than 35 pages. The prelude started ok enough, but then the author felt the need to spend 2 pages expaining why she uses the term "the dog" and what she means by it. You get the point after a paragraph, but it goes on. And on. The whole thing comes across to me as a pretentious mess. I have a PhD of my own, and when I pick up a book to read for leisure I expect to have an enjoyable read, not a book that is exponentially longer than it needs to be because of the use of extremely long-winded explanations of the author's opinions and unnecessary "$100 words" Case in point, and there are many: page 15- "Anthropomorphisms are not inherently odious." It reminds me of a gathering of stuffed-shirt university professors who feel the need to show their intelligence and superiority by out-wording each other. The author's dog must be glad he doesn't understand English.

posted by 4825654 on September 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    OK at Best

    I have been a dog lover all of my life and thus this book was of tremendous attraction to me. Honestly, I was disappointed. The author clearly knows her subject but the presentation was ok at best. Was really looking to grow in my understanding of dogs..can't say that I learned what I hoped I would. In addition, the book could have been 100 pages shorter...

    If you have dogs and really appreciate them, you already know most of what is in the book..if you don't, it will provide some insight to better understand "man's best friend".

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Disappointed

    She writes well and I've only gotten into the book a few chapters, but it's hard to stay with it. I feel like I'm reading a textbook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    The book is a scientific work and is written scientifically. Alt

    The book is a scientific work and is written scientifically. Although the author does a decent job of explaining the terms she uses and the research she cites, the book is at times difficult to read if you aren't fluent in scientific jargon. I loved the introduction paragraphs at the beginning of each chapter. I thought including personal experience with a dog the author knew and loved made the book less pretentious and more relateable. Overall, this book is filled with a lot of valuable information. The presentation is just a little off.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    it's interesting!

    Maybe my expectations were too high. I found this book good, but not as good as I thought it would be. I don't have a dog. But, I'm certainly curious about them! In this book, are lots of interesting things that I didn't know before. What was missing, you ask? Lift off. It didn't set me on fire, but it's interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Hope to get some new insights....

    I just bought this book in paperback. As others said, it is quite wordy and repetitive and I've only read up to the end of the first chapter!! However, I sort of expect this as it is scientifically based. I'll read what I want to get out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Not recommended

    I have slugged my way through 96 pages and have my doubts that I will be able to finish this book. Whatever subject is looked at there doesn't seem to be much information and is certainly verbose.

    Ms Horowitz does not seem to feel domesticated dogs are pack animals which is opposite to what I have observed in several of my dogs and Cesar Milan (The Dog Whisperer) seems to get remarkable results using following the idea that dogs are pack animals. Wild dogs certainly are pack animals and it seems reasonable that domestics would follow some of these traits.

    A small example of her over use of words is when she describes two people chatting walking in a park. We then get some description of the physical machinations of the throat, mouth expulsion of air and I will stop there. These people are chatting; I get it, if you want to compare it to your idea of animals communication make your point clearly and briefly. There is no way I am going near her verbiage on a dogs ability to smell things.

    I made a mistake selecting this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    I would have to agree with Anonymous reviewer from 9/30/2010 (&q

    I would have to agree with Anonymous reviewer from 9/30/2010 ("Dull and pretentious" headline). I'm an accountant with eligibility to sit for the Certified Public Accountant exam so I'd like to think my vocabulary is a little broader than the average person's. However, as mentious by the Anonymous review, I found the author's use of the word "anthropomorphism" a bit extreme - like beating a dead horse, as a they say. It does seem like she wrote this book for scientists rather than the average person. There are some parts of the book (and I'm on page 100 something) that I find pleasant to read where she's not showing off her vocabulary skills, but, as noted by Anonymous, and I agree, she seems to go on far too long with explaining one thing rather than leaving it to a paragraph in length. I find myself getting bored or having to re-read the same paragraph and/or sentence numerous times. The "New York Times Best Seller" stamped on the front of anything doesn't necessarily mean it's a great read for the average person. I'll finish the book but hope it gets less painful along the way. Happy reading! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    arf!

    This sample definitely piqued my curiosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    interesting point of view

    As with the story by the autistic author and cattle, it is long winded and could have been a shorter read. The points she makes are valid, as a dog owner I can relate. The science of canines is interesting to me. The emotional attachment is subjective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    interesting, erudite

    Lots of information and insights and things to think about. Some of which made me think about my own dog in a different light. That being said much of this book was smart for smart's sake. The vocabulary scattered through it made me have to use the dictionary feature on my nook, and it just seemed like the author made too heavy a use of her thesaurus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Good book but...

    So I really liekd this book but it could have come out a lot better and focused on the readers and not just a book that sounded good to the writer. Again, dont get me wrong but it was one of those books that when you read it you wonder if the author thought about the audience or just how smart it would sound when they read it back. I think there are so many good points in this book but would like it to be an "easy read" and not a read that I have to look i the dictionary every couple pages..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3