Customer Reviews for

Inside the Kingdom: My Life in Saudi Arabia

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    An Excellent Narrative on a Woman's Life in Saudi Arabia

    During the course of taking a class on the modern Middle East, I came across this book in my search to get a more personalized perspective on the region. Initially, I didn't think the book would be all that informative or interesting because I was under the impression that the author was just capitalizing on her tie to bin Ladin family. However, that was not the case at all. The book was a compelling vista into lives of women in Saudi Arabia and how repressive that existance can be. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the Middle East, Women's Studies or just enjoys well written autobiographies.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Alerting Readers to the threat from Hard Line Islamic Doctrine

    Carmen Bin Laden's struggle may seem distant to many western women, but she tells her story honestly and from inside a world that we could not otherwise know about. She repeatedly highlights how what we take for granted as western women can never be achieved by many middle eastern women who remain slaves to the hard line fundamental chains of Islamic Law/Sharia. What is more important to realize is that these terrorists and hypocritical Islamic followers of the male persuasion are not going away and with their money and power are endangering our world daily. Already, we westerners 'especially Americans' have lost many freedoms and our economic future is less bright because we have devoted trillions of dollars fighting them. Most of us have less expendable income because of the price of gas and the trends toward recession that are here because we have spent so much on the Iraq war. You cannot look at this book as just about a woman who fought to free herself from oppression and give her daughters freedom, although, I admire her strength and courage. This book should make you think about how each of us can fight to maintain the right to be educated women who can pursue whatever goals we have for ourselves and our children. I have spent 3 years in the middle east and I have seen with my own eyes the dangers and horrors facing us should we allow our world to be permanently changed by oppressive and hateful jihadists. Women shape the world and influence future generations in many ways more deeply than men do. I appreciated her story. She has paid a tremendous price for love, as many of us have. But, we must not give up and we must support our sisters who stand for what is the most basic right of human beings and that is freedom. I highly recommend this book because it is an interesting story and because we must never take for granted the freedoms we enjoy in the west, less, through our complacency, we may lose what we have.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    An Independent Woman of Two Worlds

    Having heard only the name Osama Bin Ladin in the news, I never really thought of the women in that family. This book not only gives a new look 'behind the name', but through the eyes and experiences of a woman who also had to learn the culture. Whether through the book or through the CD, the reader's attention is kept and swept along by the author. Reading and re-reading is like learning more of the history of an ancient culture in modern times. This is a book that should be added to the 'must read' list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    It sure opened my eyes...

    I was a little hesitant to pick up this book and boy am I glad I did. It's a quick, easy read and really opens the eyes of any woman to see what it would be like in the country of Saudi Arabia. I'm blessed to be able to have my freedom and make my own choices and raise my children the way I'd like. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Unfair reviews

    I just finished this book, and it definitely opened my eyes to a world that is completely foreign to me. Carmen writes with honesty, and she doesn't attempt to explain things she doesn't understand. This is truly an autobiography---it is her story, from HER perspective. To that end, I'm surprised at how critical the reviews have been, people claiming she only saw her side of it, that maybe the Bin Laden women were happy and she just couldn't see it---I wonder if any of these people can claim they've grown up in a western society, then moved to Saudi Arabia after marrying into one of the wealthiest and most notorious families of the middle east? Probably not! So how can they know? There are few surprises here, but its still a fascinating read and I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great Book

    I recommend this book to anyone interested in a true life account of life in Saudi Arabia for women. Very interesting first hand account and a very quick read. I really enjoyed the little bit of history lessons thrown in with her account. Written very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A Fascinating And Irresistible Book To Read!!!!

    "This book had me spellbound from beginning to the end. I loved this book because it sparked my curiosities and gave me the in-depth look inside the daily routines and extremely sheltered lives of women in Saudi Arabia. What drew my attention to this book was that it entailed the personal life experiences of Carmen Bin Ladin, while being married at the time to her now ex-husband, Yeslam Bin Ladin and brother of Osama Bin Ladin. What a tangled web poor Carmen fell into and was trapped for many years while married to Yeslam. In her book, Carmen describes the many layers of the required codes of conduct, both inside her home in the kingdom and outside in public, and describes the beliefs and interactions she had with the other women of the Bin Ladin clan. The Saudi Arabian lifestyle became difficult for Carmen to conform to and accept, in every aspect of her life as a wife, mother, and daughter-in-law in Saudi Arabia. Carmen, the author, describes in her book how her freedom to make her own decisions and to voice her own opinions became a privilege she desperately needed to recover, which she lost in Saudi Arabia. Her human rights of freedom became a valuable necessity for the happiness of herself and her daughters. I admire Carmen for having the strength to stay true to herself, not change her beliefs to please her husband and his family. She didn't allow her young daughters to accept the Saudi lifestyle and the nightmares she had endured. Therefore, she followed her heart and instincts by divorcing her husband Yeslam and attained full custody of her daughters. It was heartbreaking that Yeslam turned his back on his own children and cut them off financially and denied he was the father. To make matters worst, Yeslam's side of the family also turned their backs to Carmen and her daughters. This book served as an educational tool for me, because it taught me that not everything that sparkles is gold, and to be cautious of who you open your heart to because you can end up with a wolf in sheeps clothing".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Brave

    Carmen sincerely reviews her life in Saudi Arabia, how she got stuck there and what compelled her to break free from oppression there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Good read

    A quick read. Entertaining and an interesting snap shot into how quickly things can change and the unfortunate fall out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorbing, factual presentation of true life terror in Middle East-Wake up- AMERICA!

    From Page 1, the reader is literally captured, and transported to Middle East, with 1st hand accounts from an extremely knowledgeable, reputable source.

    Every mother- every father, and every youmg female should read this book- and learn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Amazing!

    I will recomend this book to anyone! I loved it! She explains everything in such great detail. At times in this book, I did want to cry. Part of it is very sad. I am part persian, and I can see where she is coming from.

    P.S. I am trying to read 20 books by 2010, If you would like a list of the books I am reading. email me at dorkysissy[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    Fascinating perspective on life in Saudi Arabia

    As a former teacher of world cultures, I was delighted to read this memoir. In the light of her Irani background (although admittedly it was before the Shah's deposition), Carmen's dismay at the life of women in the Bin Ladin household was an eye opener. Her insights into the way the Bin Ladin family worked, and the disparities she records between the behavior of the Bin Ladin males in Saudi Arabia vs. in Switzerland and the USA were fascinating. This book is easy to read and comprehend, even though the message is an unpleasant one. In light of our increasing dependence on Saudi Arabia and its oil, this should be required reading in our schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Her subjective opinion

    She didn't know how 'to work' Saudi society. Either that or she was so subjective she couldn't see the many variations in Saudi Arabia.The same could be said of American society,depending on what you believe oppression of women is.Every country in the world is far from perfect,to bash all of KSA whilst upholding everything American seems fruitless at best.There's good and bad everywhere.She made it sound as though every Saudi family is the same.Is every western family the same?,no.Any woman who marries into a wealthy family will have issues about controll because a wealthy family can be very closed.Before you read this book,read about the many gracious things about Islam and Saudis.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Yet another one!

    While reading the book the reader is reminded from time to time about the fact that the story in the book is being reiterated just that the title is different. Though I completely appreciate her courage of taking a bold step in order to live a life she desired for but her subjectivity can be seen clearly throughout the book. What in her view is oppression and submission on the part of Saudi females might not be in their eyes as throughout the book we don't see even one Saudi married female who is rebellious and who isn¿t happy with her way of life. While pointing out all the unacceptable aspects of Saudi Society, not even once does she appreciate the determination, exhibited by the Saudi people while practicing their religion which she can undertake as a good lesson and present it to the readers. Perhaps we can just say that among so many people telling her ways of Islam unfortunately Carmen didn't come across anyone who could tell her the logic behind different principles and rules of Saudi Society and Islam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Harsh Land

    The best part of Carmen Bin Ladin's story is her openness and honesty about herself and others, for good or bad. She lifts the veil on the ultra rich Saudi women she socializes with and strongly infers that their male dominated lives, shut-in and deprived of all intellectual stimulation, has dwarfed and broken their spirit and potential. One sisters-in-law prays five times a day, but has no remorse when her young husband dies and she actually appears quite relieved that he will no longer be able to arbitrarily divorce her. The imposition of layers and layers of dominance and submission, male over female and brother over brother, distorts and stresses relationships. Love and kindness become confused with material goods. But, Carmen Binladin is not easy on herself either, as she also reveals her deepest feelings and private moments that many of us would prefer to keep secret. What Carmen Bin Ladin says is not politically correct, and just as her Saudi sisters-in-law believe in their superiority, she makes no bones about her own love of her western values, freedoms and way of life. A life she was so very fearful her daughters would be deprived of forever if they remained in a land that denied them even the right to walk across the street without being fully veiled and chaperoned by a male guardian. But, even worse, she feared, that if her daughters continued to grow up there and were educated and influenced by that culture, their spirits would be broken forever and they would never wish for anything else. Ms. Binladin also makes a point of explaining the huge financial support that the Saudis give to spread their Wahhabi Islamic sect throughout both the mid east and the western world, and that the Saudis have never accepted that Osama Bin Laden was responsible for 9/11 and that in Saudia Arabia he is considered a heroic and pious man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Same story, different author

    Carmen writes from the same script all the other 'secret Saudi women' write from. I read a library copy instead of spending American dollars on the Bin Ladin name. She gives nothing up on the Bin Ladins or the Saudi women, except the same story and frankly it's getting boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2004

    Interesting to hear an insiders perspective...

    The book is very well written, engulfing the reader within no time in her world. The amount of limitations that these Arabs place on their female population is utterly outrageous, but doesn't seem easy to change as so many females themselves appear very devoted and proud to be good Arabian women. The only annoyance I had with her book was her need to point out all the great things she did (like encouraging her husband to finish his college studies). Even though a dose of self-admiration can often be found in autobiographies, the need to put oneself in the best light makes the story less reliable. Yet, it is very courageous of Carmen to speak out against the Bin Laden family in that they would still be protecting Osama. Hopefully, her speaking out will influence the public opinion of Saudi-Arabia and the ties to Al qaeda so action for change will be undertaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    an unbelievable memoir yet it's true

    The first Iranian and Eastern actress to be nominated for an Oscar, Shohreh Aghdashloo received the nod for Best Supporting Actress in the memorable The House of Sand and Fog. Who more suited to read this amazing true story? She performs with delicacy, understanding, and a natural ease. All of this plus Carmen bin Laden's intimate memoir, her firsthand knowledge of a woman's lot in Saudi Arabia make this a can't stop listening-to audio book. In 1974 when half-Swiss, half-Persian Carmen married Yeslam bin Laden, Osama's brother, she was a cultured woman with an international background, and she was in love. She didn't realize that with those wedding vows she was becoming part and parcel of a culture she did not know nor would she ever understand. 'Parcel' may be an appropriate choice of words as under Saudi law a husband may divorce his wife and take her children. Carmen would find that to be true. But, suddenly, she was thrust into a place where she was confined to her home, forbidden to read anything but the Koran or to go outside without wearing a long black garment that covered her face and body. How could she raise her three daughters as she knew they should be brought up in a society such as this? What of the other women who had married into this family; what was in their hearts and minds? The marriage lasted 14 years, many of them painful. Then, in 1988, Yeslam divorced Carmen and her struggle to gain custody of her daughters began. Listen as she relates her thoughts upon hearing of the Twin Towers tragedy, and hear her warnings for the future. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Another poorly written attempt to cash in on anti-Islam sentiment...

    More proof that even the most mediocre of books can be published, promoted, and sold so long as they write about the 'opression' of women in Islam and/or the Middle East. If you're looking for anything that requires intellect or a consideration of more than one point of view, you would be better to spend your money elsewhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    Disappointing

    I bought this book expecting more and unfortunately it was not delivered. I'm glad Carmen was able to find it in herself to write a story as this, however, we all pretty much know the story of the Saudi women and what they go through. I am not trying to diminish their hard times and struggles, I just thought that being a Bin Laden she would have brought more to the story. The story itself was not very well written and was annoying at times. I also feel there wasn't enough explanation to certain things in the story. It's almost as though she kept losing her train of thought throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2