Customer Reviews for

Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This book is really good. The summary of the book on the back cover does not describe the book well. This book is about six girls who form a group called the Irregulars with Kiki Strike as the leader. They find an underground city and call it the Shadow City. All is wel...
This book is really good. The summary of the book on the back cover does not describe the book well. This book is about six girls who form a group called the Irregulars with Kiki Strike as the leader. They find an underground city and call it the Shadow City. All is well until disaster strikes. A bomb explodes near a gas pipe in the underground city, leaving a member of the group seriously injured. Kiki disappears and the Irregulars never see her again. Or do they?
Kiki Strike is suspensful, mysterious, hilarious, thrilling, and my favorite book ever. You have to read this book!

posted by 1465015 on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Some books can be described as noir films, others are color movies. This one is definitely a cartoon.

At first I was hard pressed to say that I enjoyed this book because it was a struggle to finish it. Looking back I can now say that I did like and look forward to reading the next Kiki Strike book because I think the series can only improve with time.

Kiki Strike: ...
At first I was hard pressed to say that I enjoyed this book because it was a struggle to finish it. Looking back I can now say that I did like and look forward to reading the next Kiki Strike book because I think the series can only improve with time.

Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City is Kirsten Miller's first novel. It follows Ananka Fishbein, a New York native, as she discovers a sink hole in her neighborhood when she is twelve. Not one to miss out on a good adventure, Ananka decides to investigate. In the hole she finds a hidden underground city and Kiki Strike, girl spy extraordinaire.

Spy that she is, Kiki disappears before Ananka can find out who she is. Luckily, Kiki stands out in a crowd thanks to her small size, pale skin, and blonde-white hair. Eventually the girls meet up again and Kiki begins to assemble a band of reject Girl Scouts to map the shadow city (note the title). The girls that Kiki finds are not what could be called realistic characters. In addition to a girl spy, Miller introduces girl master-forger, chemist, and master of disguise. In other words, this is one of those novels that really does require a willing suspension of disbelief. Probable or not, the girls definitely kick butt. Here's a set of girl-power-embodying characters without all the messy contradictions common to the girl power feminist movement.

The first hundred pages or so is set up for the actual plot. At this point the narrator (Ananka) is 12 but still sounds like an annoying grandmother talking down to the readers--a fact that I found particularly annoying even if Ananka does offer some useful advice at the end of each chapter (how to be a master of disguise, how to avoid being followed, etc.) The story gets interesting around 150 pages in, which would be too late if the last half of the book wasn't so good.

Some books can be described as noir films, others are color movies. This one is definitely a cartoon. But a really well-animated, thoughtful cartoon. It's silly, but in this case that isn't a bad thing.

Despite my misgivings, the story is interesting (especially after the set up phase) and Ananka becomes significantly less irritating when the narrative catches up to the present time of the story. It's a good book for girls who are trying to break away from the damsel in distress formula common to traditional fairy tales.

Some parts had me laughing out loud. Some parts were written down for future reference. In this book it seemed like Miller was still trying to define her writing voice, so hopefully things will only get better in the next installment.

posted by MissPrint on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Amazing!

    This book is really good. The summary of the book on the back cover does not describe the book well. This book is about six girls who form a group called the Irregulars with Kiki Strike as the leader. They find an underground city and call it the Shadow City. All is well until disaster strikes. A bomb explodes near a gas pipe in the underground city, leaving a member of the group seriously injured. Kiki disappears and the Irregulars never see her again. Or do they?
    Kiki Strike is suspensful, mysterious, hilarious, thrilling, and my favorite book ever. You have to read this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    DO NOT PASS THIS UP!!!

    This book is excellent, and I almost NEVER READ IT. This would have been, to put it lightly, a tragedy. Kiki Strike is a mystery and adventure with an archaeological twist and urban feel. It is smart, sleek and exciting, just like its main character. It has the potential to be an interesting read to just about anyone, regardless of age. If the book jacket leads you to believe that this is a juvenile or silly story, ignore it and just start reading, because the plot summary nearly led me to pass over this book. I cannot stress how much I wish there were more books like this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    Funny, Absorbing Read

    Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow city surprises me with how unrealistic, yet realistic it is. For example the things the deliquent girl scouts can do (which I won't give away), can be unlikely, but the way the author writes, which her convincing, and confident tone, makes it seem normal, yet extrodinary! At times this book made me laugh out loud, yet at other times I find it amazing the way everything has a connection in the end! It's wonderful. I highly recommend this book for all ages!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    Fantastic book!!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. The storyline had so many twists and turns that is was so exciting to read. I recommend this book to any girl who loves adventures or mysteries or... I cant even book this book in a genre cause it had so many elements. Just read the book and you wont be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    review

    I loved this book i have read it ten times. i have also read the second book ten times. If you want a good no awesome book to read, then read this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is definetly one of my favorites! It is action-packed, suspenseful, and full of details. Some days, I couldn't put the book down and was reading for hours! I loved the tips that ended each chapter. I thought the characters were very well developed, and I could perfectly visualize every scene. I liked how you didn't really know what to think of Kiki, if she was a dangerous assasin or just a brave, teen superspy. Even though an event like described in the book probably wouldn't happen, the author did a very good job of making it as realistic as possible. All the scenes in the story interweaved to create a complicated plot, and you never knew what would happen next!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kiki Strike ROCKS!!!

    Kiki Strike is the best book ever. I say the second book is awesome too........So read both Kiki Strike and The empress' tomb! and read them in order! i made that mistake...

    READ IT!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2008

    Kiki Strike awesom

    Ok so it was really boaring at first but it got soooooooo good i loved it! I would defantly recommend this book to anyone!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Awesome novel for a rainy day ^ ^

    Although im nearly an adult, and this book is targeted towards 13yrs, its possibly one of the most awesome books i've ever read. like, if you're bored, or want to preoccupy yourself on a rainy day, you might as well immerse yourself in this highly-adventurous, hilarious, action-packed story. Its emotional--hilarious--passionate-- it has everything from teenage rebellion to kick-butting solving crimes action. Simply ingenious ^ ^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    WOW

    omg this is the best book i have EVER read!!! anybody would like this book. pleeez buy it!!! its the only thing i did for like a week.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Alright, It's There

    I wanted to tell you the book is showing up now, all the pages. I had to power off my Nook first. Now, I think it's all there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    You should read

    It was very boring at first, so boring that I just couldn't take it so I put it down for two months and came back. The further you read, the more exciting it gets. After that I just couldn't put the book down. I definitely do not regret reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    To the person who thinks one direction is so great

    Sorry but they're not. Not being a hater, but they're just ...not.
    Yes. This book is amazing and people shoul totally read it. It was a litte slow in the beginning but picked up the pace later on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great book

    I love this book. It keeps you hooked andthe ending is amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    I love Kiki

    This book is an amazing entertaining read....it reminds you you should really never trust anyone, just the ones who are not to be trusted.....lol dont trust me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Great

    I read this book when i was 12 and loved it. Perfect balance of mystery and humor. Overal great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    A review that consists mostly of pauses and uncertanity

    Awesome characters...Captivating plot (in my opinion but not necessarily other people's)...Interesting setting--I think
    Honestly, I've no idea why I am writing this review when all I can remember are mere shreds of the actual plot (which I do recall being quite good). I reccomend reading this on a rainy day!
    NOTE:
    I don't currently inhabit a damp, rainy, place at the moment (something that i hope to change in the semi-distant future) and have absolutely no idea if reading this while it rains will make this book more interesting, however, I do know that reading this book under a tree or a metal pole in the middle of a lightning storm would be very unwise indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Some books can be described as noir films, others are color movies. This one is definitely a cartoon.

    At first I was hard pressed to say that I enjoyed this book because it was a struggle to finish it. Looking back I can now say that I did like and look forward to reading the next Kiki Strike book because I think the series can only improve with time.

    Kiki Strike: Inside the Shadow City is Kirsten Miller's first novel. It follows Ananka Fishbein, a New York native, as she discovers a sink hole in her neighborhood when she is twelve. Not one to miss out on a good adventure, Ananka decides to investigate. In the hole she finds a hidden underground city and Kiki Strike, girl spy extraordinaire.

    Spy that she is, Kiki disappears before Ananka can find out who she is. Luckily, Kiki stands out in a crowd thanks to her small size, pale skin, and blonde-white hair. Eventually the girls meet up again and Kiki begins to assemble a band of reject Girl Scouts to map the shadow city (note the title). The girls that Kiki finds are not what could be called realistic characters. In addition to a girl spy, Miller introduces girl master-forger, chemist, and master of disguise. In other words, this is one of those novels that really does require a willing suspension of disbelief. Probable or not, the girls definitely kick butt. Here's a set of girl-power-embodying characters without all the messy contradictions common to the girl power feminist movement.

    The first hundred pages or so is set up for the actual plot. At this point the narrator (Ananka) is 12 but still sounds like an annoying grandmother talking down to the readers--a fact that I found particularly annoying even if Ananka does offer some useful advice at the end of each chapter (how to be a master of disguise, how to avoid being followed, etc.) The story gets interesting around 150 pages in, which would be too late if the last half of the book wasn't so good.

    Some books can be described as noir films, others are color movies. This one is definitely a cartoon. But a really well-animated, thoughtful cartoon. It's silly, but in this case that isn't a bad thing.

    Despite my misgivings, the story is interesting (especially after the set up phase) and Ananka becomes significantly less irritating when the narrative catches up to the present time of the story. It's a good book for girls who are trying to break away from the damsel in distress formula common to traditional fairy tales.

    Some parts had me laughing out loud. Some parts were written down for future reference. In this book it seemed like Miller was still trying to define her writing voice, so hopefully things will only get better in the next installment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Anna Staggs

    Anna Staggs

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Amazing!

    This is actually one of my favorite books. Its full of secrets and suprises, i strongly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5