Customer Reviews for

Insomnia

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book was not really what I was expecting. Don't get me wro

This book was not really what I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, it was awesome. I really liked it, but it was definitely different. I liked the unique concept... it was very inventive to have someone who can' sleep but visits the dreams of the last person to make ...
This book was not really what I was expecting. Don't get me wrong, it was awesome. I really liked it, but it was definitely different. I liked the unique concept... it was very inventive to have someone who can' sleep but visits the dreams of the last person to make eye contact with him. So it captured my attention immediately.

My feelings about Parker were so mixed. On the one hand, I liked him as a character, and I felt so bad for what he has to go through in his sleep-deprived state. I can't imagine what it must feel like to have gone so long without true sleep. It justifies some of his strange behavior with Mia in my view, even as I felt so bad for him that others are starting to look at him as somewhat of a freak because of the way he treats her. Here's a guy desperate for the chance to sleep, and he finds a girl whose dreams are so calm, that he can finally get sleep. I'd probably do exactly what he did. It does make him look weird to Mia herself, as well as to his friends.

On the other hand, it was unusual place, to be inside Parker's head as he works through his strange abilities and the Darkness inside him. I thought I had the whole thing figured out. Parker had nothing to do with the strange danger, but then I began to think he did... and even he thought so too. There were quite a few twists and turns in here. It even had romance, but the author threw me for a loop on that one too. It wasn't what I expected.

This was definitely a book that kept my on my toes. I enjoyed the darkness and suspense of it. It had a Dean Koontz feel to it that I really liked.

posted by Readergirl_Revus on June 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

On the thriller side, I enjoyed this book considerably. Not so m

On the thriller side, I enjoyed this book considerably. Not so much for the mystery or the paranormal aspect. Considering the turn of events at the end of Insomnia, I expect to get more into these in book two.
Parker is a good kid at heart. However, he's desperate to li...
On the thriller side, I enjoyed this book considerably. Not so much for the mystery or the paranormal aspect. Considering the turn of events at the end of Insomnia, I expect to get more into these in book two.
Parker is a good kid at heart. However, he's desperate to live after finding the one person who could save his life, and despereate people do desperate things. He learns Mia's schedule and basically stalks her in order to ensure that her eyes are the last he sees every day. He's so obsessed with her that he loses control over other areas of life, including friends, soccer, and his reputation. I hated this side of Parker; at the same time, I understand that he's not ready to die yet, and I like how the book explores Parker's mentality as he falls into this downward spiral he's on.
I just wish that it spent more time on the outside world portraying the other characters and how Parker's life falls apart. I'd have especially appreciated seeing more of Mia and get to know her better since she plays such a pivotal role in the story. (Though, on the other hand, not showing more of her character highlights the fact that Parker doesn't care about her -- only the sweet relief her dreams bring him.) While I know that time passes, it still feels as though Parker loses everything in the span of a couple days.
The romance doesn't play a large role in the story, for which I'm grateful. I like a story that can stand on its own without the romance overtaking the plot, and I like how Parker's love interest isn't the new girl that has something to do with his abilities. He likes this sweet girl he's grown up with. I wish that she appeared more if only because she's known him for a long time and her reactions to him show us just how much Parker changes during his obsession phase with Mia. I also wish that Finn, Parker's best friend, showed up more. He's a funny guy and never fails to lighten the atmosphere.
The second half of the story is where things become more muddled. Part of it has to do with how muddled Parker becomes and the addition of Darkness into the equation. He doesn't know what he is anymore and begins to doubt his ability to control his life, and he doesn't trust himself to keep the people around him safe from him. Still, Parker's psychological state could have been better portrayed and the story better executed so that readers don't become confused along with Parker. I also feel as though there could have been a better resolution to the story, one that doesn't leave so many loose threads. A story shouldn't rely so much on the next installment to answer unresolved questions.
Still, I'm curious enough about Parker and his world that I'll probably give the next installment a shot. On the whole, I did enjoy this story, and the ending has me interested in finding out what happens next.

posted by ImaginaryReads on June 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    Lots of great dialogue and a great writing style!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2014

    This book will cause Insomnia because you won't be able to sleep

    This book will cause Insomnia because you won't be able to sleep, because you have to keep reading! The idea for this book is very unique and exciting. The whole book is full of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
    I'm not into super scary books so the cover almost scared me off, but this book was great. It was creepy in ways, but no so much that it was too much to read. (Also, the things I found "creepy" weren't "satanic" style stuff which I personally don't like.) Expect some blood and violence but the general content is clean.
    Basically: buy this book, get comfy, hold on and enjoy the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    I enjoyed Insomnia so much! I read about it on some author blogs

    I enjoyed Insomnia so much! I read about it on some author blogs and I knew from that moment on that I had to have it! And it didn't disappoint me at all, in fact it was even better and creepier than expected!
    The story is about Parker who hasn't had a good night sleep in about four years and he is slowly turning crazy because of his insomnia. What does he do at night? His body sleeps but his brain stays awake and he enters the dream (or nightmare) of the person he last looked in the eyes before sleeping. This doesn't give him any rest so each morning he wakes up feeling super tired and he knows that he is slowly turning crazy and that he will probably die sometime soon. Then he meets Mia and he can actually get some rest when he enters her dreams and so the game begins of Parker trying to look into Mia's eyes as the last pair he looks into before sleeping. Because of this he is turning into a little bit of a stalker and then it turns out that Mia is in fact also having a real stalker who might be Parker sleepwalking! Sounds exciting right? It really is!
    One of the things that I really enjoyed about this book is that Parker is slowly getting really crazy and not even he or the reader can say for sure if he is the villain or not. You don't want Parker to be the bad guy, but the blackouts and everything that is happening with and because of him makes you doubt him all the time. And because of this there is a certain type of mystery going on. One page I was so sure that Parker was in fact the stalker, the next page I was sure it was someone else but then something happened and I was sure it was another character and then another thing happened and I could almost say without a doubt that Parker was the villain! I was slowly turning crazy myself I think and at the end I was biting my nails off because of the excitement. The twists in this story sometimes almost killed me but I couldn't stop reading because J. R. Johansson has written this book in such a way that you almost (or actually can't) put it down.
    But, there is more to Insomnia than just a book with a great plot and writing style and lot of creepy stuff and doubting the sanity of the protagonist (or is he the antagonist?!). There is romance in this book that is so good because Parker isn't going for the obvious young-adult-book choice and there are side characters in this book that are so good, I cared about them so much! My favorite character in this book is probably Finn. He reminds a lot of Stiles from Teen Wolf. I love the funny best friend that helps his friend even though odd things are going on. And there is a lot of odd stuff going on in Insomnia...
    So if you are looking for a creepy read that will make you doubt the sanity of the main character(and maybe even the author...) you should pick this book up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Insomnia by J.R

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Insomnia by J.R. Johansson
    Book One of The Night Watchers series
    Publisher: Flux
    Publication Date: June 8, 2013
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    It’s been four years since I slept, and I suspect it is killing me.

    Instead of sleeping, Parker Chipp enters the dream of the last person he’s had eye contact with. He spends his nights crushed by other people’s fear and pain, by their disturbing secrets—and Parker can never have dreams of his own. The severe exhaustion is crippling him. If nothing changes, Parker could soon be facing psychosis and even death.

    Then he meets Mia. Her dreams, calm and beautifully uncomplicated, allow him blissful rest that is utterly addictive. Parker starts going to bizarre lengths to catch Mia’s eye every day. Everyone at school thinks he’s gone over the edge, even his best friend. And when Mia is threatened by a true stalker, everyone thinks it’s Parker.

    Suffering blackouts, Parker begins to wonder if he is turning into someone dangerous. What if the monster stalking Mia is him after all?


    What I Liked:

    I knew I would like this book, but oh my gosh! I loved it so much! I do not usually read these types of books, that are horror-like and creepy. But this book was not overly creepy. If I could handle it, anyone will be able to!

    I loved that this book is written completely in a male's first-person point-of-view. We only read Parker's thoughts, which is very different and very fresh, considering the amount of novels in a female'a first-person point-of-view. Parker was fun to follow, and he wasn't crazy and arrogant and cocky like most YA males seem to be. Parker is a calm, rational young adult (most of the time), and he is not ridiculously impulsive. I really like him!

    The plot of this novel is quite fun to follow. And creepy. And fun. I was never bored while I was reading, and I didn't see some of the plot twists and turns. I usually have a good radar for crazy twists, but Ms. Johansson had me guessing throughout the novel/

    The supernatural/paranormal aspect of the book is fantastic. I don't think I've read many books with dream-watching powers, except sort of Pretty Dark Nothing, so this concept was pretty new and pretty original to me.  I like the dark twist that Ms. Johansson took with Parker's powers.

    I really like the romance in this book. It seems like it's going to be straightforward, based on the synopsis, right? Well... not really. I would not say there is a love triangle, because we know who Parker cares about definitively throughout the book and by the end of the book. But at the same time, there COULD be a love triangle. And if that were to happen, I honestly wouldn't know which way to go with it. On the one hand, I like the girl that I originally would be the primary love interest, and I do NOT like the girl that is the actual love interest. But Parker really likes the girl that IS the primary love interest.

    The ending says that the romance is settled between the pair, but that the pair isn't really together, and the secondary love interest could really be a secondary love interest. See my hesitance? I don't really know what to think of the romance. And that's not a bad thing.


    What I Did Not Like:

    As I stated before, I don't really like the primary love interest. I know that Parker really does, but she rubbed me the wrong way. She's younger than Parker, and that is obvious. She is one of those girls that act like they are better than you, but we all know that she isn't.

    By the end of the story, I could tolerate her more, but I still didn't like her.

    Otherwise, I was fine with this book!


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES! Don't let the "creepy" cover deter you (is it really that creepy? I didn't think so when I first saw it, or even now). I promise you that this is a debut you do NOT want to miss!


    Rating:

    5 stars. It's amazing how many 5-star-rated books I've read recently - usually it's not so many in even a year! But all of them, especially this one, deserve 5 stars from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1