Customer Reviews for

Insomnia

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Anthony

This book may be one of stephen kings best. Me being 16 years old, i started reading king's books about a year ago and i figured that i would read one of his bigger books. When seeing that the book was 600 pages, i thought i would be reading it for a month. I was way wr...
This book may be one of stephen kings best. Me being 16 years old, i started reading king's books about a year ago and i figured that i would read one of his bigger books. When seeing that the book was 600 pages, i thought i would be reading it for a month. I was way wrong about that. Yea, the story does start out slow but after the first 100 pages you cant put the book down. Its one of the best books i ever read! I got the book done in a week where every day it kept me up at night thinking about what will happen next! This book will forever make you think twice about life and death, and old people too haha. This is a great read that i would recommend

posted by 8451989 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love stephin king but i dont know what the book is about

Why is the exerpt in spanish?????? Some one please tell me what this book is about

posted by BellaGansen on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Anthony

    This book may be one of stephen kings best. Me being 16 years old, i started reading king's books about a year ago and i figured that i would read one of his bigger books. When seeing that the book was 600 pages, i thought i would be reading it for a month. I was way wrong about that. Yea, the story does start out slow but after the first 100 pages you cant put the book down. Its one of the best books i ever read! I got the book done in a week where every day it kept me up at night thinking about what will happen next! This book will forever make you think twice about life and death, and old people too haha. This is a great read that i would recommend

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    AGAIN

    STEPHEN JUST KEEPS THE HITS COMING- AGAIN HE HAS DUG INTO HIS WEIRD BRAIN AND COME UP WITH ANOTHER "CAN'T PUT IT DOWN" STORY. GREAT - GREAT - KEEP IT UP - I'LL KEEP READING. ANNIE

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MUST BE DEDICATED TO ENJOY

    This book like most of Kings books is better understood if you read ALL of his work. Insomnia is loosley linked to the Dark Tower series which I have not read but was lucky enough to know someone who did. You dont have to read this series to understand this book but from what I have heard it helps. Its still a wonderful story if you can follow it. I have actually read it twice now and enjoyed it equally well both times.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    Great!

    Don't let the bad reviews fool you this is a great book. it was tedious for the first few chapters but after the beginning is over it starts to get really really good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Love stephin king but i dont know what the book is about

    Why is the exerpt in spanish??????

    Some one please tell me what this book is about

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Almost a Great Read

    I would rate this novel 3.5 stars. Going by the title and description I was thinking this book was going to be more of a psychological thriller than the strange scifi category I would put it in. It started off great and the character development is outstanding (like all of King's novels) but there were points in this story where the plot just got flat out ridiculous. I mean fighting a dwarf underground with an elderly woman's pair of panties in order to get a magical ring? cmon... it seemed like King ran out of ideas towards the end of this one. Putting the strange parts aside, the rest of this was a great read. But It is not one I will be reading again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Convoluted mess

    What starts off as a creepy, intriguing story, quickly snowballs out of proportion and into a total mess. A convoluted mythology that makes little sense and a very questionable philosophical underpinning are the biggest failures, followed by the sheer amount of words King wastes on such a primitive story. He is at his best when at his most minimal and when the dangers stem from within (The Shining), not from something this abstract and baseless.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED

    Being a huge Stephen King fan, I gobble up pretty much everything he writes. King steers in a little different direction in INSOMNIA than many of his other novels by adding in some sci-fi bits. The character developments are, as always, riviting. The story starts off a little slow but still interesting. Setting the supernatural stuff aside, this book is about second chances. You won't be disappointed if you give it a chance!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    cookie_16monsta@yahoo.com

    I've only made it through about 1/4 of the book. It's so long and it's hard to focus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Impossible to get through. It just dragged on and on without eve

    Impossible to get through. It just dragged on and on without ever getting suspenseful or interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Amazing

    Everyone should read this book it was amazing and one of those books you just couldnt stop reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Like Roland says in the dark tower series this book seems tricks

    Like Roland says in the dark tower series this book seems tricksie.
    I've read almost everything that Stephen King has written and I find
    myself returning to this novel to provide insights into other novels
    that he ha written. I love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Surprised

    This book surprised me. It was much better than expected and any true Stephen King fan will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Brian

    What the... what are ou talking about?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Hmm...

    I liked the book but have read better from king. Overall it held my interest but lagged at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Very good book.

    I loved this book. One of the big things that i enjoyed was the old age of the main characters. Its not everyday you read a story about an old man and woman saving the day. This book kept me hooked from page one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    Great Read

    I am not really a fan of Stephen King; I tried to get through several of his other books but could not.

    SK is a magnificent, well-crafted writer, and I will have to reconsider reading his books after reading “Insomnia”.

    It is great.

    Anyone who writes as I do, would also like to read his short book On Writing ...

    “Insomnia” was well worth the time spent in his world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    One of my favorite King novels

    This is one of King's more inventive projects. In this novel, the main characters' perceptions are elevated by sleep deprivation, revealing a world just beyond normal human senses, in which the personifications of order are opposed by the agents of chaos. It ties well into the whole Tower mythology that perhaps began with The Stand and was central in the disappointing Gunslinger series (with apologies to the first three books, which were terrific).

    King's formula of pitting ordinary people against extraordinary events works as well in this novel as ever.

    If you are like me, you read King for the brisk development of the plot, the simple characters (they are), the foreshadowing, and the need to read just a little bit more late at night, even if just to confirm what you already know is going to happen. King is just simply a great master of telling a story. Most of the time. In this case, that holds true.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Paige Turner. You won't sleep until finished.

    A loyal and sweet older man in his late 70's that he for some reason has been chosen to save the town. Stephen King has done it again. Romantic, full of suspense, nail biting frightful and full of hope. How does he do it? I must admit the first one hundred pages were a slow start for me (which is unusual wig S King) however, once I got thru that I just had to keep reading to find out what this man was going to do next. When the last page was read, I kept looking for another, very disappointed there wasn't anymore to read. This is always the case with any of Stephen King's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Years later...still stands out

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel when it was first published. I often find myself thinking back to it. . . fondly. I'm a King fan, but even so, this novel remains more vivid to me than most of the novels I have read (King's included).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15