Customer Reviews for

Instant Self-Hypnosis: How to Hypnotize Yourself with Your Eyes Open

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Makes hypnosis available to everyone

This book is a very quick, easy and enjoyable read, allowing you to begin using self-hypnosis techniques almost immediately. Keeping detail to a minimum, the author explains how we have programmed ourselves to believe certain things or to act certain ways, that hypnosis...
This book is a very quick, easy and enjoyable read, allowing you to begin using self-hypnosis techniques almost immediately. Keeping detail to a minimum, the author explains how we have programmed ourselves to believe certain things or to act certain ways, that hypnosis is safe - you are always in control and how you can reprogram yourself. You can hypnotize yourself, in fact all hypnosis, whether or not a hypnotist is present, is self-hypnosis This book clearly explains how to do self-hypnosis, provides several master inductions (the script to lead you into a relaxed hypnotic state), the wake-up script and 35 specific scripts to address issues such as: weight loss, self-confidence, taking exams, creative problem solving, procrastination, public speaking, flying without fear, visiting the dentist, etc. You are also shown how to write your own scripts or modify existing scripts if your issue is not fully covered by one of the existing scripts. In a couple of situations, you may wish to modify the scripts provided by the author. For example, the script for public speaking has the following sentence: 'I will focus on what I am saying without feeling nervous or embarrassed.' It is better to say, 'I will focus on what I am saying while feeling fully relaxed and confident.' That is focus on what you want rather than what you don't want.

posted by Anonymous on September 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

not recommended

this book is written like an eighth grader's term paper. seem the author is just filling space, for the first 50 pages

posted by 4621933 on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Makes hypnosis available to everyone

    This book is a very quick, easy and enjoyable read, allowing you to begin using self-hypnosis techniques almost immediately. Keeping detail to a minimum, the author explains how we have programmed ourselves to believe certain things or to act certain ways, that hypnosis is safe - you are always in control and how you can reprogram yourself. You can hypnotize yourself, in fact all hypnosis, whether or not a hypnotist is present, is self-hypnosis This book clearly explains how to do self-hypnosis, provides several master inductions (the script to lead you into a relaxed hypnotic state), the wake-up script and 35 specific scripts to address issues such as: weight loss, self-confidence, taking exams, creative problem solving, procrastination, public speaking, flying without fear, visiting the dentist, etc. You are also shown how to write your own scripts or modify existing scripts if your issue is not fully covered by one of the existing scripts. In a couple of situations, you may wish to modify the scripts provided by the author. For example, the script for public speaking has the following sentence: 'I will focus on what I am saying without feeling nervous or embarrassed.' It is better to say, 'I will focus on what I am saying while feeling fully relaxed and confident.' That is focus on what you want rather than what you don't want.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    EXCELLENT BOOK, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    This book is excellent. I read some of the other reviews and thought I should write one also, as I had some of the same experiences as the other reviewers.
    I was able to use the book on myself within, as the author says in his introduction, 30 minutes. It has helped tremendously with my lifelong fear of height (95% gone, needs tweaking perhaps); also, with my fear of public speaking (I used it before a presentation and was amazed when I opened my mouth that I felt FINE and enjoyed speaking, with no notes, to a small group . . twice in one hour). When I used this book to help a friend deal with the trauma of his divorce, I used three of the scripts and changed a few sentences. Four years ago when a daughter was taking a course and was very upset about taking the exams (tough course and she had been ill for a couple of years with Lyme) she "humored me" and let me read the induction and the "Acing the Exam" script. A week later she told me (after I asked) that she had made a 94 on that exam, and at the end of the semester she proudly mentioned that she had "set the curve" in the class. A few months later she was flying to see her father, and was speaking of being terrified, as usual, about flying again. I had left the book with my sister (who thinks hypnosis is bunk or worse), on the off-chance that she might find it interesting, and I asked my sister to read the induction and then the "Fear of Flying" script over the phone to my daughter. A few weeks later I mentioned the flight and she said it was "fine."
    About three years ago I used the book in a session with a client (I'm a massage therapist who "dabbles" in hypnosis if someone is interested). My client is a primarily spanish-speaking grad student, and was having to re-take her oral doctoral exam; she was very anxious that she would have difficulty with her English and was especially scared of one professor's questions; I relaxed her with a Brian Weiss CD I have (a generic relaxation induction), then paused the CD, and read a script from Instant Self-Hypnosis that I tweaked for her concerns about understanding and answering in English. About a month later she called and invited me to lunch, telling me that it happened exactly as the script had suggested. For her it was a miracle.
    So, I have had MANY successes with this little book, using it in various ways. I was amazed that it was so effortless, and that one obviously does not have to even AGREE with the process (my daughter) for it to work. Having these invaluable experiences/successes gives me the freedom to think "go for it" anytime I find it would be helpful. Anyone can use this book and it will work as well as it has for me. There will always be those folks who think you are crazy or "going to hell" (yes, I really was told that) or nonsense like that for being interested in hypnosis . . it was suggested by one of my mentors to NOT use the "H" word and I would say that might be a good idea sometimes : ) To summarize, THIS BOOK is very, very useful and highly recommended. I'm using it again for a client tomorrow who asked me to help her.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Hypnosis books didn't work for me -- until Instant Self Hypnosis!

    I can't say enough about how Instant Self Hypnosis - How to Hypnotize Yoursself With Your Eyes Open has changed my life.

    There was a time when I left it all to my weak "willpower" to lose weight, to quit smoking and to relax more. And I always seemed to fail. Oh well, I thought, maybe it's just me.

    Until I got this book at b&n.

    I'm a new man today. I lost 30 excess pounds, stopped my bad cigar habit and now I don't let the common everyday stresses get to me. No wonder my doctor finally stopped nagging me. It's nice to get more looks from the ladies too. :)

    The book gives you all you need to be successful with self hypnosis too. And without the jargon and complexities of the typical hypnosis book. Mr. Blair even gives you a complete template to create suggestion scripts for yourself.

    I've bought other self hypnosis books before, and they just didn't seem to work for me. His Instant Self Hypnosis book did, for sure.

    Just heard the author came out with an ebook called More Instant Self Hypnosis (Kindle-version) and that he'll soon submit it to be published with barnesandnoble.com. Can't wait.

    Obviously I'm now a fan.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life Changing

    This book has the ability to change your life, if you are open to it. Reading about what hypnosis is, what you can expect, etc. allows you to get comfortable and open yourself up to the possibilities hypnosis brings. I bought the book to work on self esteem, and the benefits have been immeasurable. After just one session, I noticed the changes- things that have plagued my mind for years are no longer an issue, I'm more comfortable with myself and I trust myself more. After doing the exercise, I was put to the test four times by interacting with people from my past, who at one point controlled my self esteem. It was easy! I felt great, confident, and even after replaying the conversations in my mind, there isn't a thing I would change. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a tool to help them reach the next level in their life, no matter what that means for you.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Better than audio tapes... for me.

    I was a bit skeptical, however my skepticism soon passed.

    I did have to tweak the induction a bit to suite 'me' I replaced the guard with a dog, the building with a house, etc, something more plausible for me. But that is the good thing about this book it allows you, teaches you how to write your own scripts.

    The thing I like about this method over the traditional audio tape/CD/MP3s is that it is done in your own voice, your own self-guidance. With other methods it always felt like all-or-nothing where the slightest itch or external distraction would pull me out of hypnosis. With this method I don't feel as though I have to be absolute; the pressure to be hypnotized just isn't there as it was before. If that makes sense.

    I know it's working too as I am unconsciously making better food choices (weight loss being my goal) after three sessions. And that is awesome. I do like this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    This Book Is Good!

    The techniques in this book really do work.I was quite skeptical at first,but just by reading the general induction and keeping an open mind.I found myself entering a light state of hypnosis.And not just once but several times.Well worth the price of the book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Felt Good

    I tried the hypnosis script out at the bookstore. It really did induce a very mellow state in me. Not sure hypnosis works in terms of changing habits, but the script works in terms of feeling good and being relaxed ! I want more...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    Easy and Effective

    Great book that features a form of self-hypnosis that works...even though I thought it wouldn't! You just sit down and start reading hypnosis scripts out loud and 'presto!' you feel yourself easing into a hypnotic state. I used it to help me get more organized...it's worked fast! This may be the best book on self-hypnosis ever written...and I've read many!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Loved it

    This really works, i used the quit smoking one and i feel great without those! Im about to start on weightloss so im so ready! Everyone should try this book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Blowing my MIND!!!(in a good way)

    I purchased this book for my Nook color. I am serious if you have an open mind and are ready for positive change this is the book for you!! I have both this book and the More Instant Self Hypnosis as well. I have used scripts from both and they are all good. I have reduced my stress and anxiety, lost a few pounds, curbed cravings, and become a better keeper of my home. No kidding! If your an open minded individual looking for good change in your life this is the STUFF!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    More

    I bought thid book on my nook and it only gave me the first 31 pages! :(

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Bought as a Nook Book and couldn't be happier with the purchase.

    Bought as a Nook Book and couldn't be happier with the purchase. I've struggled on and off over the years trying to quit smoking. This has been a great help both with non smoking and just helping me to relax overall. I would definitely recommend and hope that it helps others as much as it's helped me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Andrew's review Part II: Chapter 6 “Instant Self-Hypnosis

    Andrew's review Part II:

    Chapter 6 “Instant Self-Hypnosis While You Write”
    This chapter explains how to use the combination of reading an induction and the power of writing.

    Chapter 7 “The Suggestion template”
    If you had a particular goal that wasn’t included in the 35 scripts you can write your own. Forbes provides a template that you can use as a guide to write your own customized scripts. This is the section that makes this book so powerful you can use this section to make any script for any goal that you can think of.

    Chapter 8 “Customized Instant Self-Hypnosis Sessions”
    This chapter basically lays down the instructions for using the writing/reading combination and how to perform this process in a specific sequence. This section includes a specialized writing induction that you read followed by writing your own script (using the suggestion template) as a guide.

    Chapter 9” More about Instant Self-Hypnosis”
    This chapter goes more in depth about the Eyes Open Self-Hypnosis method. It also answers FAQ’s about the method.

    Next there are a few Bonus Sections including:
    1. “How to Supercharge Your Affirmations”
    2. “How to Instantly Hypnotize Others”
    3. “The Instant Self Hypnosis Stress-Buster Challenge”
    4. “How to Deepen Your Hypnotic State” (which includes a deepening script”

    Second to Last there are several Appendixes that include:
    A. Alternative Induction
    B. Customized Suggestion Templates (Blank so you can write your scripts).
    Lastly there is an about the author section.

    I want to personally say that I have contacted Forbes Robbins Blair before, and he is the same caring person that he comes across through this book. He goes the extra mile for his customers. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to be the person they never thought they could be.

    I have never wrote a review for any product or book in my life, so this review is a strong testament to the results I have had.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Blehhr

    I love cats

    1 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    not recommended

    this book is written like an eighth grader's term paper. seem the author is just filling space, for the first 50 pages

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Booo

    Cant get more than the 31 sample pages when i bought the book. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Forget the sample

    The 31 page sample of this book is nothing you don't already know. It's really just an infomercial. You got to buy it, but I don't think I want to go there. Too wordy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    To anyone

    Can someone please post the scripts having to do with procrastination and dieting?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Shiningstares bio changes

    Sister is Steelwing- separated at birth. Kit is Sorrelpaw- adopted but loved nonetheless.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Maybe it works....

    I've tried it. Does it work? I'm not sure. I didn't spend too much on the book so it's cheaper than going to a hypnotherapist. If your interested in the subject, go ahead and buy the book. It's better to be out 10 bucks on a book than hundreds on a hypnotherapist.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4