Customer Reviews for

Insurgent (Divergent Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3747 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2785)

4 Star

(602)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

216 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

i absolutely love this book!!!!! its honestly the best book i have ever read!

i love the mix of genres. theres action and romance and its constantly leaving me hooked. it was hard for me to put it down in class! in all its an EXCELLENT book. i absolutely love this book! i highly recomend it!

posted by love_divergent on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

142 out of 208 people found this review helpful.

Loved Divergent, disapointed in Insurgent

I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make i...
I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make it clear to the reader what was happening. Also, there was one instance ehen Tobias says he and Zeke were doing something but Zeke was with the traitor dauntless at the time. I can only assume he meant Uriah, Zeke's brother. That should have been caught during editing. Another time, Tris sets something down and then two paragraphs later it says she sets it down again.
I also felt like I wasn't getting a sense of the character's personalities in this book. In the first they were so well-developed, so I was surprised that at the beginning of this one not much of their personalities was present. It really felt like I was reading about two different people until about halfway through. I also found myself annoyed at how much Tris and Tobias were fighting because there was no real sense of what was going on. I think the first one had equal amounts of character developement and action but this one focused mainly on action which left it lacking.
Overall, it was good and i will read the third, but I was still disappointed.

posted by kmary0622 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3753 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 188
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    i absolutely love this book!!!!! its honestly the best book i have ever read!

    i love the mix of genres. theres action and romance and its constantly leaving me hooked. it was hard for me to put it down in class! in all its an EXCELLENT book. i absolutely love this book! i highly recomend it!

    216 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a teen and I really enjoyed this book. It had such an inter

    I am a teen and I really enjoyed this book. It had such an interesting story outline. Finished it very quickly.

    160 out of 199 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    the best thing after the hunger games

    if you loved the hunger games feeling then this is the kind of saga (i hope) that wont disappoint you. Im soooooo excited to read this one!

    152 out of 203 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Loved Divergent, disapointed in Insurgent

    I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make it clear to the reader what was happening. Also, there was one instance ehen Tobias says he and Zeke were doing something but Zeke was with the traitor dauntless at the time. I can only assume he meant Uriah, Zeke's brother. That should have been caught during editing. Another time, Tris sets something down and then two paragraphs later it says she sets it down again.
    I also felt like I wasn't getting a sense of the character's personalities in this book. In the first they were so well-developed, so I was surprised that at the beginning of this one not much of their personalities was present. It really felt like I was reading about two different people until about halfway through. I also found myself annoyed at how much Tris and Tobias were fighting because there was no real sense of what was going on. I think the first one had equal amounts of character developement and action but this one focused mainly on action which left it lacking.
    Overall, it was good and i will read the third, but I was still disappointed.

    142 out of 208 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Wow!!!!!!"""""" Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The first book was amazing!! Cant wait till the second one comes out. I know some dont like the series as much because they think it relates to the hungergames a lot. They are soooo wrong! This book is totally different then the hungergames. First off, tris is not poor and she knows what kind of guy she wants. She is also not stuck in the hunger games.

    77 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Insurgent

    I did it!!! I read the book that I was anticipating the most! And boy did it live up to its standards and more!! I knew this book was going to be so much better then the first, but I did not know that it was going to be that much better!

    Last weekend while I was at RT Teen Day in Chicago, I saw some of my great blogging friends. It was so nice to finally catch up with them. But then I spotted it a mile away!!! My friend DJ had INSURGENT!!! I couldn't believe it... Then after some talking, :), he let me borrow it in exchange of me getting it signed when I meet Veronica in May! Boy was I so happy! I couldn't put it down! I couldn't believe that I was going to be able to read the ONE book that I could not wait to read. And was it worth it!!!

    Tris is back and ready for action! But a lot as happened since the first time we met her. Her are Four are still together and waiting to see where their life is going to take them. But little do they know, that what lies is going to bring them closer then ever!!! Now I don't want to give too much away but I do want to tell you this...THIS BOOK IS SO WORTH IT! And I just want you to know that this book is defiantly so far book of the year!!! I know it!

    Please, when this book comes out go and buy it! You will not be disappointed. This book has everything a book in this genre needs. It as some of the greatest actions scenes so far, and just the right amount of romance in it. Oh and please if you have read this book, go to page 301 and read it...this is the turning point for the book. This part made a good book, one hell of a book.

    75 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I'm a bit shocked

    Hmmm.... I guess I'm a bit shocked. I am beyond astonished I didn't like it nearly as much as Divergent. I'm really not sure what happened to this book. It's like the manuscript came back from beta readers with LOTS of suggested changes. Then the changes were made, but no one read through it to make sure everything made sense in the end. For example, [View Spoiler] Anyway, the entire book is filled with plot holes and inconsistencies. The Erudite are supposed to be geniuses, or at least logical, but they spend more time asking questions everyone knows the answer to than applying their logic to important tasks... like not letting people with questionable loyalties guard Tris. Character analysis. I was so not fond of Tris this time around. She was so intent on killing herself, I'm not sure why she didn't run back to the Dauntless compound and throw herself into the pit. It certainly would have been more effective than risking her life, so others felt obligated to save her and risk getting killed themselves. Even my beloved Caleb fell through. There was a point I was so proud of him. I thought, now here's a hero. Resourceful, dedicated, and level headed. Then I found that Caleb was just a simulation in Tris's head. Talk about your major bummers. He turned out to be the biggest liar of all. And Tris continued to fawn over him until the end. I would have kicked his butt to the curb and never looked back. "To the left, to the left. Everything in the box to the left." The ending. I hit it and found it terribly anticlimactic. I think it was meant to be a cliffhanger... end in a way to make me eagerly anticipate the next in the series. But when I hit the big reveal, it was more with a shrug and an "oh." This book had so much potential to be good. Unfortunately, it dragged and most of the real story didn't start until the last 100 pages. So how did I come up with this rating. Despite my many complaints while reading Insurgent, I clung to a three star rating. I kept telling myself, this had to be at least three stars. After all, Divergent was pretty decent. Every time I hit one of those plot inconsistencies, which were many, many, my rating plunged to 2 stars. Then I'd read on and convince myself Insurgent would pull out of the slump... we had to make it to three stars. Then another plot hole would hit a page later. I truly wanted to give this 3 stars, but this book was so poorly executed, it seemed dishonest to give it anything more than 2 stars. When I looked through other books which have earned 2 stars from me, this one didn't even rank that high. I'm totally bummed and feel awful this book wasn't better. I wish there was a way to take this book off the market and put it through a developmental editor before rereleasing it. Cut the filler, fix the plot screw ups, and make Tris more like the survival Tris in Divergent. This might inch its way to a 1.5-star read, but I hesitate to even go that far. As it is, I don't see myself purchasing the next book in this series. I feel like something went horribly wrong, and the people the author should have been able to trust to tell her the truth fell through. I read Divergent and know the author can do better. I'm just not willing to bet my money (or time) on more of the same I got from Insurgent. I am Candor, hear my truth!

    61 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Such an amazing read

    I couldn't put it down. It reminded me of the hunger games except it had a bit of a twist. It was astonishing and i can't wait until this book comes out. :)

    51 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Who Knows

    I read Divergent. If she matches it this book will be the best book ever!

    45 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Yay

    Cant wait for the book to come out. Way better than the hunger games!!!!"" Cant imagine a more indepth book. Tris is an amazing cgaracter, and so is Four....

    35 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    I just finished... it was good.

    Ok i just finished it. I waited so long for this book because the first was AMAZING. And i am sorry to say this book is not amazing. It is good though. I felt like the characters personalities had changed too much, to the point that they didnt even seem the same. I know characters change, but i felt like i could not relate to the characters at all. Tris seems suicidal for almost half the book, ahd Tobias has just gotten to soft for my taste. Also, this book seemed a little bit repetitive, the same thing kept happening, Tris is in trouble because she made a stupid decision, someone saves her, brief moment where she seems to have learned her lesson, but then the whole thing repeats OVER AND OVER AND OVER. Now, dont get me wrong, this is a good book and i will definetly get the next one when it comes out (when???), but i was disappointed. I know with book like divergent, its hard to come up with a sequel worthy of the first, but i expected better. This is following the hunger games cycle: amazing 1st book, good 2nd book, god awful 3rd book. I hope the 3rd is better. Im still a fan, and anxiously await the final book. And i still have a book crush on tobias (love him) even though he has changed. Ok, to sum up: decent book, not as good as the first. But if youre a dedicated fan like me, you'll get it, and hope for the best in the next one. Happy reading! -Z

    26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING Followup to Divergent!! And HUGE CLIFFHANGER! I want the 3rd one NOW! It was such a page turner!

    This 2nd book of the trilogy is AMAZING!! I absolutely, positively love that Veronica Roth picks up Insurgent right where Divergent left off. There's been no lapse in time (they're still on the train), so we literally do not miss a second. I love that, don’t have to read through a long summary of what happened before, it just continues as if it was just another chapter. Love that. **Will have spoilers for the FIRST book, Divergent.** Tris is heading back to the Amity headquarters, not to mention being devastated from having to watch a good majority of her family murdered and from murdering one of her best friends, while he was under a simulation. All these things that have happened to Tris, really start to take a toll on her mind. She is having trouble living with the consequences of the events that happened in Divergent. She has so many feelings and emotions to work through. Four (aka Tobias), Caleb, and Marcus are also accompanying Tris as they travel to not only to Amity, but Candor as well. They need to inform everyone about the war against Abnegation. As Dauntless and Erudite have teamed up together (Dauntless traitors that is) unfortunately, they gain no support from either Candor or Amity. Many things happen in Insurgent, and it’s easy to get confused. Jeanine Matthews is still on the loose and is collecting Divergent people for a purpose that is not fully known Tobias’s (aka Four) mom also makes a comeback, she is not dead, but the leader of the Factionless. Some major hell breaks loose. It’s really hard to decide which sides are the real villains, compared to factions that had just made bad choices. Veronica Roth does an amazing job of putting this incredibly complex story together, that just somehow works out, and I am not sure any other author would have been able to put it together so many different ideas, and make them flow so well together. One thing I really like, is that Roth decided to not include a love triangle when to comes to Tobias (aka Four) and Tris’s relationship. I was really worried she would, as it seems that’s what so many authors do in YA novels. It’s nice to not have that complication on top of so many other things going on. But there is other issues going on to complicate their relationship that has changed from Divergent, they have many of their own struggles to deal with because of varying feelings and emotions they are experiencing. Tris feels very helpless and is depressed for the majority of the story, and it shows in her recklessness. Tobias is a little more edgy in Insurgent, and really is trying to do well for Tris, but he has his own struggles, and you can’t help but to feel bad for him. Tris doesn’t always make his job as the good boyfriend easy. My final thoughts on this book: There is a huge revelation that takes place in the final half of Insurgent and the book ends with a major cliffhanger that is going to keep me crazy waiting a year and a half before the final book is out. (fall of 2013) Insurgent surpassed my expectations and I foresee it ending up on every single “Best of 2012” list later this year. I highly recommend picking up Insurgent, you will not be disappointed. Be sure to read Divergent first if you haven’t yet. Make sure to search for Veronica's FREE FOUR: Tobias Tells The Story. Its at Facebook, I have it at my blog, but i can't post any links. Its great to read a scene from Tobias's point of view.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    I can't wait!!!! =o)

    Divirgent was such a great book!! One of my faves!! I can't wait for this one to come out. I hope it will be available in ebooks. If you hav't read divergent, please read it, you won't be disappointed!!

    20 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Omg omg omg oooooommmmmgggggg!

    I cant wait for the second booknto come out!.i will mark my cupcake calendar for may 1! I love u tobias! Please b real! I totally agree with the crying into my pillow if they break up!!! Omg i hate peter face soooo much she should havve shot him when she had the chance! Anywayy! This book is gonna b awesome i can feel it in my bones! Ttyl! Tobias, four, tobias, four, hot, tobias, tobias.

    18 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Omg

    If tris and tobias break up im not going anywhere i will just sit in my room snd cry all day

    17 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    nook!

    I really hope it'll be on nook edition. If it won't I'll be heartbroken. They better have the book in e-book form!

    17 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Disapointed

    It had none of the charm of the first book. Plot points were repeated and scattered. The scenes and personalities of characters changed so often that I never felt connected to any of them this time around. Have a feeling the final book will be even worse as she adds more landscapes to the story but less emotional depth. So disappointed because i loved divergent.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Getting ready

    100% Divergent has earned a spot in my heart and on my bookshelf. Insurgent is going to be just as good, if not better.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    SOOOOOO EXCITED!!!

    Oh. My. Gosh. I cant wait till may!!! Come faster may. I love u may. And u too veronica roth<3

    14 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Cant wait

    I cant wait for this book Divergent was totally amazing and i cant believe it doesnt come out till May

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3753 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 188