Customer Reviews for

Insurgent (Divergent Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2716)

4 Star

(576)

3 Star

(186)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(92)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

210 out of 236 people found this review helpful.

i absolutely love this book!!!!! its honestly the best book i have ever read!

i love the mix of genres. theres action and romance and its constantly leaving me hooked. it was hard for me to put it down in class! in all its an EXCELLENT book. i absolutely love this book! i highly recomend it!

posted by love_divergent on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

141 out of 200 people found this review helpful.

Loved Divergent, disapointed in Insurgent

I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make i...
I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make it clear to the reader what was happening. Also, there was one instance ehen Tobias says he and Zeke were doing something but Zeke was with the traitor dauntless at the time. I can only assume he meant Uriah, Zeke's brother. That should have been caught during editing. Another time, Tris sets something down and then two paragraphs later it says she sets it down again.
I also felt like I wasn't getting a sense of the character's personalities in this book. In the first they were so well-developed, so I was surprised that at the beginning of this one not much of their personalities was present. It really felt like I was reading about two different people until about halfway through. I also found myself annoyed at how much Tris and Tobias were fighting because there was no real sense of what was going on. I think the first one had equal amounts of character developement and action but this one focused mainly on action which left it lacking.
Overall, it was good and i will read the third, but I was still disappointed.

posted by kmary0622 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3641 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 183
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG!!!!!!!

    The review gives too much away but still cant wait to see which faction saves the day,

    10 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Amazing

    I was so indugled in the first book divergence that when i got home from school i read it immediatly. Simply breath taking. After i found out there was going to be another book. I was so happy! Can't wait flor what's going to happen next

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Poorly written.

    It was as if the author wanted to create one character, but accidentally created a different one. The descriptions feel too repetitive and dont do enough to spark the readers interest. Definitely not a professional feeling book, but the idea she was trying ro convey was fairly original. Unless you regularly read science fiction, that is.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Insurgent

    A CHOICE becomes a SACRIFICE
    A SACRIFICE becomes a BURDEN
    A BURDEN becomes a battle
    One CHOICE can destroy you

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    Ok people Insurgent is just as good as Divergent!!!!!!! STOP COM

    Ok people Insurgent is just as good as Divergent!!!!!!! STOP COMPLAINING!!!

    I love love love, how it described Amity's HQ!!! After all, i would choose Amity because I believe it is the best faction out of the five there are. I love the romance between Tobias (Four) and Tris! It doesn't overwhelm the book though, like it does The Hunger Games Trilogy. THG is really stupid. I'm sorry, but I don't give a crap about Peeta or Seneca Crane or Avoxes or whatever. Mockingjay is torture to read and it sucks!!

    INSURGENT IS WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY BETTER THAN THG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Boring!

    Definetly not as good as the first book i was bord

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Drawing Out The Story Line

    Divergent was a fantastic first novel. Insurgent tried to be as good but fell short, often times feeling more like a detour on the way to the grand finale.

    Fans of the first in the series should and will read Insurgent. Here's hoping Roth goes with her gut for book three. Not every story needs to be told in trilogy.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Great read

    If you liked the first book, you'll appreciate the fact that you get to be with all those great characters and crazy factions again! Tris! Four! The book is a good read, although it seems like at times it's trying to accomplish a lot (maybe too much?). I won't reveal any spoilers here, but, I was a little surprised where the author decided to take the book, it makes me more apprehensive than excited about book three (although I will CLEARLY be reading it when it comes out). I am reading it again for a second time, so we'll see if I am more impressed this time around.
    All that to say, if you liked the first one you'll enjoy this one, but may walk away wishing you had gotten a little more from your favorite characters (again, no spoilers!). Enjoy!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book. It's one of my favourites. So amazing!!

    Love this book. It's one of my favourites. So amazing!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I loved it. Divergent and Insurgent were both amazing, and I hig

    I loved it. Divergent and Insurgent were both amazing, and I highly recommend reading this trilogy if you like anything close to this genre. However, READ DIVERGENT FIRST. It's just too good of a book to skip, and I think you'd regret not reading it first.

    A lot of people say that this trilogy is similar to the Hunger Games. Personally, I don't see how they're that similar, besides that civilization is divided into different factions/districts. Even if it's not like the Hunger Games, it's still an amazing trilogy so far, and I'd suggest it to anyone looking for something to read.

    Anyways, I didn't think that Insurgent was quite as good as Divergent, but I suppose the first book is better in a lot of series. I read Divergent, and I was excited to get Insurgent as well. I ended up sitting down and reading the whole thing that day, and it was amazing. However, I felt like everything was rushed a little too much, and there were a few spots where there probably should have been a little more detail. I didn't think there was as much connection to the characters as in the first book, but I guess that's supposed to be expected when there's more action. While I think that it's an amazing book, there were still a few places that must not have been looked at very carefully when the editing took place. There's one spot where Zeke and Tobias are doing something together, but Zeke is supposedly with the other half of the Dauntless, and he hasn't even arrived yet. There were a few other spots where something minor didn't get caught in the editing, but it doesn't really take away from the book, and I'm sure many people wouldn't even notice.

    So far, I'm really happy with this series, and I can't wait to read the third book when it comes out. They're probably some of the better books that I've ever read. Most of the time, I just give my books to someone else after I've read them, but I think I'll keep these instead. They're just took good to give to anyone else. Read this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    TRIS AND TOBIAS CANT BREAK UP!!!!!!!!!!

    y do they tormemt me with the possible knowledge of tris and tobias breaking up? i mean. it could mean her relationship with her brother.... or other people.. right?

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Must read !!!

    I finished this book in one day. I could not put it down.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Veronica Roth amazed me with Insurgent! In my mind, it blew Dive

    Veronica Roth amazed me with Insurgent! In my mind, it blew Divergent out of the water! I loved this book. It is paced extremely well and has an amazing ENDING!!! OH MY GOSH! I can't wait a year for the final installment! If she stays at this pace though, it will be well worth the wait! I love how this series explores morals and ethics. It points out that just because you practice one noble quality, it doesn't mean you are necessarily a good/genuine human being. This book encourages me to be brave, honest, selfless, peaceful, and wise. I only have good things to say!!! Pick this one up, you won't regret it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    ...Wow...

    Well I guess Veronica has done it again! This book was easily as amazing as the first and ended on an EPIC clif hanger. I actually got chills. I recomend this to anyone who likes action suspence and mystery. Even romance, though there's just enough which is fantastic. Can't wait for the next book to come out! One of my favorite books ever written. READ IT NOWWW! :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Just as addicting as Divergent

    There is a lot of action in this book but not the same kind of action as in the first one. Its hard to explain. A lot of things happen but at the same time i feel like the story is at a standstill. Tris has to really look deep inside of herself in this book and her relationship with Tobias becomes a little strained. All in all i am satisfied with this book but i cant escape a nagging feeling that it is missing something that the first book had. So i recommend you read this book even though Divergent is still my favorite. I thought the ending was great. Tris sort of crumbles and changes but after both of her parents died i would think it unrealistic if she didnt. As im sure your realizing as you read this im having lot of mixed feelings. It was good enough that i read it in a day but i still feel a little unsatisfied... or maybe im just crazy :) either way though, read it :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    IM IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    "I love Tris the Divergent, who makes decisions apart from faction loyalty, who isn't some faction archetype. But the Tris who's trying as hard as she can to destroy herself...I can't love her."
    I want to scream. But not because I'm angry, because I'm afraid he's right. My hands shake and I grab the hem of my shirt to steady them.
    He touches his forehead to mine and closes his eyes. "I believe you're still in there," he says against my mouth. "Come back." - Insurgent <3

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Weak 2nd

    This one has lost the charm and allure of the first book. I couldn’t connect with the characters, they changed radically. It felt fleeting and rushed. I’m hoping for a stronger finish.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Hhmmmm

    I pre ordered it but its not bin my library

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    Yeah...so it's obviously the sequel to Divergent..it was AMAZING!!!!!!!! A MUST READ!!!, but one obviously has to read Divergent first to get the story line...and i found this book a tidly bit confusing...but i still LOVED it!!!! I can't wait for Allegiant!!!!! I loved the ups and downs Tris and Tobias...along with everyone else...it kept me much on edge...i finished it in like 3 days and kept reading till like 1 in the morning...
    CLICK YES IF U TOO R PART OF THE DIVERGENT FANDOM!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!! PLEASE READ THIS POST!!!!!

    PLEASE READ THIS POST!!!!!
    When one of my friends told me of Divergent, i must say i thought it would be a terrible knock-off on Hunger Games. And when she told me it was better then Hunger Games, i thought she was the worst traitor, EVER! But i stumbled upon it and its sequel in a book store and thought: "Why not just read it? I'll prove HG is better!" So at first i read it like it was a kinder-gardener book, like it was super lame. But as soon as Tris (the main character) reached the aptitude test i could'nt put it down. I was on the edge of my seat for the rest of the story. I connected well with all the characters, and the relationship between the reader and main character was amazing. Several times i felt like i WAS her. The entire book just clicked for me and before i knew it i was DYING for the sequel. I finished Insurgent within a day, and now i'm re-reading both books, heavily anticipating the series finally. I must say all the twists and turns took me off gaurd every time, but through out it all my love just grew for these books. Now i'm silently hating myself for saying Hunger Games was better, because get this, IT'S NOT!!!! DIVERGENT AND INSURGENT ARE THE BEST BOOKS EVER!!!!!! And if you at least dont give these books a chance, just like i almost did'nt, THAN YOU ARE MISSING OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO WHAT ARE YOU DOING SITTING AROUND HERE!!!!!! GO READ THOSE BOOKS!!!!!!
    AND THANK VERONICA ROTH FOR THE BEST BOOKS OF ALL TIME!!!!!!!! And make Four your favorite character. That's important too. :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 3641 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 183