Customer Reviews for

Insurgent (Divergent Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3655 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2726)

4 Star

(579)

3 Star

(191)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

211 out of 238 people found this review helpful.

i absolutely love this book!!!!! its honestly the best book i have ever read!

i love the mix of genres. theres action and romance and its constantly leaving me hooked. it was hard for me to put it down in class! in all its an EXCELLENT book. i absolutely love this book! i highly recomend it!

posted by love_divergent on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

141 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

Loved Divergent, disapointed in Insurgent

I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make i...
I loved Divergent and was so excited to read this one. It was good-not great. There were some editing issues, I really feel like someone dropped the ball on the editing. There were parts that seemed rushed and confusing-more description should have been added to make it clear to the reader what was happening. Also, there was one instance ehen Tobias says he and Zeke were doing something but Zeke was with the traitor dauntless at the time. I can only assume he meant Uriah, Zeke's brother. That should have been caught during editing. Another time, Tris sets something down and then two paragraphs later it says she sets it down again.
I also felt like I wasn't getting a sense of the character's personalities in this book. In the first they were so well-developed, so I was surprised that at the beginning of this one not much of their personalities was present. It really felt like I was reading about two different people until about halfway through. I also found myself annoyed at how much Tris and Tobias were fighting because there was no real sense of what was going on. I think the first one had equal amounts of character developement and action but this one focused mainly on action which left it lacking.
Overall, it was good and i will read the third, but I was still disappointed.

posted by kmary0622 on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Disapointed

    It had none of the charm of the first book. Plot points were repeated and scattered. The scenes and personalities of characters changed so often that I never felt connected to any of them this time around. Have a feeling the final book will be even worse as she adds more landscapes to the story but less emotional depth. So disappointed because i loved divergent.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Poorly written.

    It was as if the author wanted to create one character, but accidentally created a different one. The descriptions feel too repetitive and dont do enough to spark the readers interest. Definitely not a professional feeling book, but the idea she was trying ro convey was fairly original. Unless you regularly read science fiction, that is.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Boring!

    Definetly not as good as the first book i was bord

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I just cant

    My biggest issue with this story isn't the grammatical errors, the lack of logic or the god awful flow (seriously, who edited this story because they need to be fired). Its the fact that she treats murder and self defense as the same thing. Honestly, why not tell young girls to just lay down and allow themselves to be killed. This trend going through the story makes me want to punch Roth.

    The characters don't act in any humanly way. Maybe that's her point, that they're all sheeple but when the main character, the supposed HERO of the story is just as illogical and spineless as the rest then all you have is nonesense. There is literally zero character development and riddled with inconsistenies. She tries so hard to be clever but obviously didn't do her research.

    Honestly it truly saddens me. This was yet another great idea ruined by a lazy author.

    I most definantly won't be reading the third one. If even the cult followers hated it I can only imagine it is written on lined paper in purple crayon with god awful spelling errors.

    Two stars only because I think the idea is good and she's been able to get away with things thanks to the set up through the first half of the first book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Meh.   I liked Divergent.  This one just lost something.   It ra

    Meh.   I liked Divergent.  This one just lost something.   It rambles on and on all over the place.  Tris becomes downright irritating.  The end
    is just a swirling chaos of nonsense.  Spies, traitors, everyone choosing and changing sides.  It's a mess.  Hopefully
    Roth can save the third one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Pales in comparison to Divergent

    Divergent was good. It just seems like Roth was writing filler.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    this book was ok, the first one much better. i just think that r

    this book was ok, the first one much better. i just think that roth makes tris spend waaaaaaay too much time raving about will and how she will never put her hands on a gun. it just gets repetitive and boring. i don't recommend this book to many people, it seems that roth was just trying to make another book for the heak of making another book in the series. not a great book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Highly recommend!

    Just as good as the first in series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Great

    This book is pretty good. There are some editing issues and itsomehow left me confused after reading it. It needed just a little more explaining and detail, still a good book though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Weak at best

    Predictable and simple except for one character who surprised me at the end. Divergent was good, dont think i can bear the third one though. Started getting bored in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Great Plot Idea Ruined by Teen Romance

    Part of the reason the Hunger Games was so successful was because it did not come off as a book that was trying to appeal to teenager romance readers. This book was way too heavy on the romance story of the main characters. Great idea ruined by selling out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Good not great

    This book was quite a dissapoimtmemt compared to divergent. Even though it was pretty good, the editing was lacking and the book was boring. Charector was also lacking extremely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    I really wanted to like this novel, I really did, but sometimes

    I really wanted to like this novel, I really did, but sometimes sequels just don’t do anything for me, and that is the case with Insurgent. This entire idea of factions is really intriguing, but I lost interest fairly quickly in this second novel, and I’m thinking I probably won’t read the third (I already know what happens thanks to my students). It’s just a too long for me, with too many characters, and the plot itself gives me a bit of whiplash. It’s extremely well written, and the story and characters definitely carry a presence, but whereas in Divergent,I was highly interested in the Divergent faction and their “dangerous antics,” I was not interested in Erudite, Candor, or any of the other factions that Roth focuses on in this novel. I also didn’t enjoy the lovers quarrel that seemed to be never ending in this second novel—I really like Four and Tris, but the whole “I don’t trust you” fight was just too… long. Truthfully, the novel was just too long in a number of ways, and I’m really just not that interested, even after the shocking conclusion and truth about the factions come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Dont bother

    BORING!!! Many lame attempts at suspense. The whole time you're reading it you will be thinking to yourself "just get on with it already!" The characters are poorly developed! VERY DISAPPOINTED?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Why

    I dont understand why this book is so much more money than the first and third

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    recommend

    not a disappointment, good continuous reading from book one. looking forward to third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    If you have read the first book, stop there and be happy. The s

    If you have read the first book, stop there and be happy. The second book is dull and non-sensical. The third book is AWFUL, destroying whatever good feeling from the first book. I will NEVER read anything else by this author.
    I just hope that Ms. Roth's life is as 'happy' as the ending in the third book of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    What it is true

    Veronica roth that is not an indipendent name ewwwwwww

    Annette 6th grade

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    A Disappointment

    Absolutly love Divergent, the first book in the series. I read it quickly and enjoyed every word of it. It was clear, quick to read and I couldn't wait to read Insurgent and the last book in the series when that one came out (ordered that one at the same time as Insurgent). I started this one which picks up where Divergent ends and continues the story. Well, so far I am checking constantly to see which page I am on and the pages are going SLOWLY! I find myself saying, "That's all?" At times I am confused as to what is going on and I find my mind wandering as I read, something that definitely did not happen with the first. I have to make myself go back to read it to get it finished. I adore being into a book I can't put down. With this one, I'm sorry I didn't leave well enough alone and stop after Divergent. I guess it's ok if there is nothing else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Mark

    I hate this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4