Customer Reviews for

Intensity

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(223)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A great book

(Originally written November 21, 2005)

As I mentioned when I reviewed "By the Light of the Moon," I have long been a fan of Dean R. Koontz. I often like his work even better than Stephen King's. The only drawback is that once you've read a few of his books, you soon ...
(Originally written November 21, 2005)

As I mentioned when I reviewed "By the Light of the Moon," I have long been a fan of Dean R. Koontz. I often like his work even better than Stephen King's. The only drawback is that once you've read a few of his books, you soon realize that the majority of his male and female main characters are the same: A man with a sad background; a woman with a terrible background; they find one another in this crazy world; etc.

But in "Intensity," although we still get the same woman with a terrible background (and MAN, does Koontz know how to come up with HORRIBLE afflictions for these poor young women!), we are spared her male counterpart. And so I was able to REALLY get into the story this time.

And what a story! It's the ultimate being in the wrong place at the wrong time tale, with a young lady named Chyna staying with a friend on the very same night a psychotic killer arrives to murder the entire family!

What follows is one tense situation after another; the book is aptly named. I don't want to give too much away, but if you enjoy being on the edge of your seat, this book is perfect! Koontz also does some interesting tricks with the past and present tense telling of the story. The only books I have read with anything like it would be King's "The Cycle of the Werewolf," though the tense only changed once in that book, and Christopher Andrews' "Pandora's Game," which played similar tricks with the POV. Koontz's technique was effective and creepy.

The ONLY thing that prevents me from giving this book a 5 star rating (and believe me, it was close) was that there is an "element" (again, I don't want to give too much away) to the psychotic killer that I think was hinted at a little too early. It is revealed near the end, and I'm pretty sure that it was SUPPOSED to be a huge surprise. But I became suspicious of it about 1/3 through the book, and convinced I was right about ½ through the book. I kept hoping I would either be wrong, or that the "secret" would be revealed earlier and not be so much of the climax. But ... not to be.

But again, "Intensity" IS a great novel. And I recommend it strongly to anyone who enjoys thrillers! 4-1/2 stars!

posted by Book_Reader_222 on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

I am definitely a Koontz fan but I felt that this book fell short of some of his other books that I've read. It was far too wordy. Too much time was spent on Chyna's past and way too many pages were dedicated to her freeing herself from the chains. I would've given t...
I am definitely a Koontz fan but I felt that this book fell short of some of his other books that I've read. It was far too wordy. Too much time was spent on Chyna's past and way too many pages were dedicated to her freeing herself from the chains. I would've given this book 5 stars if the majority of the above mentioned were to be cut out of the story. Mr. Vess was definitely a good 'villian.'

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book

    (Originally written November 21, 2005)

    As I mentioned when I reviewed "By the Light of the Moon," I have long been a fan of Dean R. Koontz. I often like his work even better than Stephen King's. The only drawback is that once you've read a few of his books, you soon realize that the majority of his male and female main characters are the same: A man with a sad background; a woman with a terrible background; they find one another in this crazy world; etc.

    But in "Intensity," although we still get the same woman with a terrible background (and MAN, does Koontz know how to come up with HORRIBLE afflictions for these poor young women!), we are spared her male counterpart. And so I was able to REALLY get into the story this time.

    And what a story! It's the ultimate being in the wrong place at the wrong time tale, with a young lady named Chyna staying with a friend on the very same night a psychotic killer arrives to murder the entire family!

    What follows is one tense situation after another; the book is aptly named. I don't want to give too much away, but if you enjoy being on the edge of your seat, this book is perfect! Koontz also does some interesting tricks with the past and present tense telling of the story. The only books I have read with anything like it would be King's "The Cycle of the Werewolf," though the tense only changed once in that book, and Christopher Andrews' "Pandora's Game," which played similar tricks with the POV. Koontz's technique was effective and creepy.

    The ONLY thing that prevents me from giving this book a 5 star rating (and believe me, it was close) was that there is an "element" (again, I don't want to give too much away) to the psychotic killer that I think was hinted at a little too early. It is revealed near the end, and I'm pretty sure that it was SUPPOSED to be a huge surprise. But I became suspicious of it about 1/3 through the book, and convinced I was right about ½ through the book. I kept hoping I would either be wrong, or that the "secret" would be revealed earlier and not be so much of the climax. But ... not to be.

    But again, "Intensity" IS a great novel. And I recommend it strongly to anyone who enjoys thrillers! 4-1/2 stars!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Koontz' Best Yet!!!

    I was on the edge of my seat almost the entire time! Mr. Koontz had me guessing what would happen until the very end. Whether you're a Koontz fan or not, this is a must read! Bravo!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Probably my favorite book ever

    This book is absolutely amazing. I liked that this Koontz book wasn't all supernatural and not real. This one goes into the mind of the heroine, Chyna, and the mind of a brutal serial killer who puts on a sane and charming face to the rest of the world. Intensity is right! I saw this as a made for tv movie in 1997 (as a 7th grader) and thought it amazing and I went out and got the book. I Just stumbled across it now looking for other books by Koontz and wanted to add my 2 cents. I LOVE this book and I highly highly highly recommend it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Awesome - Scared me to death.

    I was immediately drawn into this book and the intensity of the drama that ghas written. Reading this right before bed wasn't my best decision.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Heartstopping.

    Every woman's worst nightmare. Slept with the lights on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    First time reading Dean Koontz and it was great!

    What an "intense" book....I had a hard time putting this book down...suspenseful, thrilling, frustrating, great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is AMAZING!!!

    I am a junior at Holt High School and I have chosen to read the book Intensity by Dean Koontz. This book was recommended to me by a friend. Action and suspense are the only words needed to describe this book. This book is amazing. Koontz does a good job of building up suspense and making the reader visualize exactly what's going on.
    Chyna Shepherd and the Templeton family are in for a huge experience. The "homicidal adventurer" Edgler Vess is on the lose, and the next target is the Templetons. Chyna finds herself trying to save a girl, who might not even exist. But first she needs to save herself. The book raises the questions: Do I save my self before others? Do I give up on another life? Chyna has to make up her mind quickly or she might fall the next victim to Edgler Vess and his sociopathic life style.
    If you like murder, suspense, and a book full of twists then Intensity is the book for you. If this book happens to get your attention, then Demon Seed by Dean Koontz would also be another good book for you.
    I personally give this book 4½ out of 5 easily. This book keeps you interested and builds the suspense for anything that happens next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    A reviewer

    Out of the hundreds of books Ive read, this is by far the best one yet. This book turned me in to an avid Dean Koontz fan. Any book i read now, no matter who the author is, seems to lack that certain somthing that DK has in this book. Ive lost count of how many times ive read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Not bad.

    This was an alright book. There were times when I skipped pages because I quite frankly did not care about Chyna's back story. The 50 pages of dealing with the dogs were painful. Good story but it certainly didn't scare me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Excellent!

    I read this book and it was truly spectacular! Really great suspense and detail. I am looking for any more good koontz books. Any advice?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Superb! Excellent from page 1 to the end.

    I totally enjoyed Dean Koontz' Intensity. It was a very exciting book that kept a strong pace from beginning to end. It kept me turning pages long into the night. It took me two sittings to finish. I truly had fun reading this book and was enthralled with the characters and the inner secrets that were revealed about them. I sure hope you'll give it a read, you won't be sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intensity is an apt title for this book!

    Koontz is a master at keeping you turning the page. This intense read will keep you glued to the story until you reach the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    WOW!

    I am a fan of Koontz and I have to say that this is one of my favorites. It hooked me in the first couple of chapters. I felt as if I was involved in the story the entire time I was reading it. I think anyone that picks this books up will enjoy the thrill ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    one of the best dean

    this is one of the best dean koontz books i have read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    Intense Definitely!

    I'm not into scary books, but this particular one had me by the end of chapter one. I feel like Dean Koontz puts you in the mind of the victim and the serial killer. You catch yourself yelling aloud at the victim "What are you doing, stupid!" she's got some balls. Then the weirdo psycho! you wonder how he is able to live in society without people knowing how he is. Could this really be your neighbor who you know and trust?! I could not put this book down for anything, 2..3..4 o'clock in the morning! It was so intense, and I got so scared I would leave my hotel lights on. (That's how good it is) not scary enough for nightmares. I recommend this book to every and anyone who asks me what my favorite book is! I'll never get that story out of my head. Dean Koontz is fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A Great Ride!

    I loved this book! It kept my attention and kept me guessing.
    The ending was a little far fetched, but still a great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My first DK book and loved it!!!

    This book was recommended by a friend of mine and altho I loved it bc the suspense was awesome, the writing technique was way too much details bothered me. So I only gave him 4 stars. I like the twist and turn of the book and awesome ending as I would never have expected it. But the details of an event took forever. It didn't need to be a 480 page book. Some scenes was really dragging. Too much details like I said. But overall a really good book. I will read his other book Velocity also. Looking forward to it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    LOVED ITT!

    This book really took a toll on me, though im only 11, i really got into it from the beginning! The ending was by far the best, i never thought that Ariel and Chyna would end up like that, and Edgler, that was very unexpected! But i loved every minute of it. It really kept me on my toes and i just couldnt put it down. It was very intense, though in the middle of the book, i think that it may have told just a little more about Chyna's older past life than we really needed to know, but thats one thing that made it more interesting, but sometimes it was stretched too far. but i really liked the book and i just finished!!!!<BR/> THANX! anymore questions about the book email me at<BR/> www.myspace.com/huntermx992 and i would be happy to answer any questions about the book! <BR/> ~HD~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Not his best

    I am definitely a Koontz fan but I felt that this book fell short of some of his other books that I've read. It was far too wordy. Too much time was spent on Chyna's past and way too many pages were dedicated to her freeing herself from the chains. I would've given this book 5 stars if the majority of the above mentioned were to be cut out of the story. Mr. Vess was definitely a good 'villian.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Intense...pretty much anyway..

    I've been starting to read Koontz lately and I must say I've been able to read nothing of his that is not amazing. Intensity is definantly a good read and worth the time, but i read it right after Velocity, and I must say that in my mind it fell far short of its greatness. While still moderately keeping attention, it almost drags at points, but is still a very satisfying adventure worthy only of Koontz.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17