Customer Reviews for

Intentional Parenting: Autopilot Is for Planes

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever felt that your relationship with your child is goi

    Have you ever felt that your relationship with your child is going nowhere but south? Intentional Parenting: Autopilot Is for Planes can restore your faith in communicating with your child or teen. Often times as your child ages, you feel lost and confused with that the best way is to get through to them. Intentional Parenting guides you with proven methods of ways to get responses from your child. 




    This is one of my favorite parenting books. It is written well and gives you great suggestions on how to improve your relationship. In each chapter there are bulleted points that ask you questions to assess what you want from a relationship with your child. The questions are the best way to gauge how your current mind frame is and what you are expecting from your child. There are often times that you can be surprised with the answers you come up with.




    Your attention is definitely held while reading this book because you are able to do a lot of self-reflection. Aside from having a strong message to convey, there are also references to the Bible that allow you to realize the strong connection that parenting has in relation to the Bible. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Definitely one of my favorite parenting books.  I finished the b

    Definitely one of my favorite parenting books.  I finished the book encouraged and empowered as a mom.  The authors words gave so much grace to my life.  As a parent it is easy to feel like you are bombing more than you like.  This encouraged me to receive God's grace and mercy.  And as I receive his grace to then pass it onto my kids.  One message that stuck with me was to just enjoy my kids.  I can be so busy correcting and instructing that I dont  take time to enjoy them.

    I received this book free from book sneeze to provide an honest review, negative or positive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Intentional Parenting is by far one of the best parenting books

    Intentional Parenting is by far one of the best parenting books that I have read.  And it's no wonder, since the authors have vast experience at a family counseling center.  So, not only have they been to the circus, they've been the lion tamers as well - so to speak.

    In all seriousness, though, this book really does have some amazing ideas on how to approach this journey we call parenting.  Each chapter discusses how to put real thought into parenting.  Subjects include consistency, playfulness, spirituality, and patience, and hope.  Key concepts that are necessary for parenting with purpose are examined in detail, with real-life anecdotes and ideas for how to improve on each area.  

    I loved that age-appropriate ideas are provided throughout the book.  Clearly, a teen requires a different style than a toddler does, and this book recognizes that.  I also loved the questions posed to the reader.  This book really encourages the reader to put thought into his or her parenting style - it's parenting with purpose!  And no matter how you feel you're doing as a parent, this book is going to provide you with tools that you will be able to use for the benefit of your whole family.  And for fans of Love and Logic, the ideas in this book can be used with that program.

    As a teacher and a mother, I highly recommend this book to any parent or soon-to-be-parent.  

    Disclaimer:  I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    As I move from one stage of parenting to the next, I often find

    As I move from one stage of parenting to the next, I often find myself wondering if I’m doing it right. Because, let’s be real here, parenting is hard. A lot of times you are just figuring it out as you go…and sometimes you don’t really feel like you’ve figured anything out.

    “Intentional Parenting: Autopilot Is For Planes” by Sissy Goff, David Thomas and Melissa Trevathan helps dispel some of the most common myths of parenting. By helping parents discover who they are, they are then empowered to help their children discover who they are through being more intentional, playful, consistent, merciful and connected in the parent/child relationship.

    With over 50 years of combined experience in counseling that focuses not only on the child but the parent as well, the authors are able to offer real insight on some of the challenges today’s families deal with.

    I loved the encouragement this book offered. The authors give valuable, Biblically-based insight into key areas of parenting like being consistent, encouraging, connected, patient, etc, all with the goal of being a more intentional parent. With a daughter approaching the teen years, I especially appreciated the emphasis this book placed on parenting teen children.

    But most of all I loved that they remind us that because of God’s great love for us, we can’t be perfect parents but we can be the parents our children need. By keeping our focus on Jesus, we can help our kids discover who they were created to be. And that is parenting freely.

    I am so glad to have this resource on my bookshelf. It is one I will no doubt return to repeatedly in the years ahead. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to be a more intentional parent.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great book for any type of parent. I am a foster paren

    This is a great book for any type of parent. I am a foster parent and going on autopilot is not an option. So when I saw the tag line autopilot is for planes I knew this was a book for me. All the chapters are great in this book. But two them stand out for me at this moment in my journey of parenthood. The patient parent and the merciful parent chapters are perfect right now in my parenthood adventure. But I know in my heart and head the other chapters we be used in the future so this book will always be close by when I need advice and help. Great book, written very well by all the authors. Do not miss out on some great wisdom that the book brings.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1