Customer Reviews for

Intern: A Doctor's Initiation

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    An honest perspective on one of the most challenging experiences in a physician's career

    I am currently an intern who has the luck of being on a rotation which affords me enough time to read. I suspect that the author and I differ substantially in our attitudes to things, and yet this book clearly communicates the frustrations and dilemmas which inhabit the medical professional's training today.
    I thought Dr. Jauhar's book was painfully honest, and this itself makes it a valuable read for any intern; there is strength in knowing one is not alone in one's self-doubt and in one's struggle with the difficult ethical questions we are forced to face on a daily basis. My only criticism was that, in a few places I found the narrator a touch self absorbed. Otherwise, I recommend this book to upper level medical students and interns who have the time to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    The grueling first year of an intern's life

    This often plodding tale of an intern's rollercoaster mood and his initial experiences as a fledging doctor will leave you alternately yawning and saying "oh, for pete's sake, grow up!" His uncertainty over his chosen profession is sometimes palpable. Does everyone question their chosen profession so often? One doesn't know whether to pity him or his patients. Eventually he hits his stride, but by then this reader was too tired to care.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    I loved this book. As a student going through medical school in

    I loved this book. As a student going through medical school in the near future, I found this book very insightful and I loved the honesty in Dr. Jauhar. His book would be interesting and funny to anyone, no matter their professional choice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Insightful

    This book gives an insightful look into the struggles of the road to being a doctor, that perhaps not many people realized were present. Good read for anyone interested or curious about the field of medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    a simple read.

    This book was an easy read. Informative, polite, and 'to the point'. I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    GREAT READ!!

    "If not all Americans; 99.9% of U.S. available citizens will visit a practicing physician of some generalization or speciality at least once in their lifetime. Either, by keeping our hearts pumping, or our brains thinking, and even our body working...these doctors do it all! The true question is- how did they learn to magnificently carry out all these procedures and abilities? In this memoir, the readers are exposed to the success and failures Doctor Jauhar experienced in his internship in New York City years ago. Intern is simply a bridge and a highway into Dr. Sandeep Jauhar's past memories. The author, Doctor Jauhar, communicates to the readers as if he was in a one on one private interview with each individual reader. He has the ability to answer every solitary question on a reader's mind all while getting his audience captivated in the novel. All in all, Doctor Sandeep Jauhar's amazing ability to keep his readers in tact directly for all 291 pages is awe-inspiring! A+ Read!!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    outstanding

    I felt the same way as an attending with some of my MD, PHD
    friends discussing patient care plans. My hope was to expediete discharge planning as a Hospitalist. Now I'm moolighting and during research in Cardiopulmonary arrest, ATLS.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Truly Inspiring

    Sandeep Jauhar's story his trials and tribulation in the medical field is moving and inspirational. Throughout his internship he is able to move from self-doubt and uncertainty of the whole medical field to finding faith in the system which is inspiring for those looking to go into the medical field, but have their own doubts about it. The pressure he feels from his family pushes him into medicine against his doubt that the field leaves little room for creativity and he would find passion in it. Through his first year of internship Jauhar comes to find that the field of medicine leaves little room for doubt and the doctors seem to have little concern for their patients. As his internship comes to an end, he begins to comprehend that while being a doctor comes with a certain sort of callus attitude toward those they help, that in the end doctors are doing their best to save lives that otherwise would have been loss. Jauhar is constantly bringing up the ideas of self-doubt, conflicts with the profession he chose, uncaring behaviors of those around him, hope, love, family, and the true meaning of being a doctor. The insights he gives into the lives of an intern, the attitudes of doctors, and the doubt that comes from even the best of doctors is helpful to those deciding on whether or not to go into the medical field. His constant self-doubt makes him more relatable and human to the audience as well. His writing style is creative; however, it follows that of a Grey's Anatomy episode which may have been why I enjoyed it so much. Also, his descriptions of his patients suffering, his failure to help some due to sleep deprivation, and his failed attempts at learning, which in turn caused the patients more pain are not for those with weak stomachs. The in depth details of certain events are a bit too much, and while the majority of his story cause inspiration these events create unwavering doubt on whether doctors are doing good. It is also disturbing to know that sleep deprived interns are allowed to make critical decisions with the little experience they have from medical school. I would recommend this book to anyone who has doubts in the medical field or is looking into going into the medical field, but has personal doubts about it. I found it enjoyable to read and it helped me personally in ridding myself of any doubt I had of pursuing a career in medicine. This is Sandeep Jauhar's only book, but he has had several pieces printed in the New York Times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1